SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Marfy> 1079 (Gathered-collar blouse)

1 more reviews
Viewed 852 times 
Reviewed by:lmg
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About lmgstarstar
NA CANADA
Member since: 1/5/05
Reviews written: 72
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 28 people
patterns reviewed: 72
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/8/07 6:45 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 12 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
17 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Annette1 said...
VERY nice indeed! I bet with a little soak time, you'll decide that charmeuse was worth the extra effort. :o) The end result is perfect!
4/13/07 2:18 AM
lmg said...
Thanks everyone for the kind comments. Great suggestions regarding pins and spray starch and basting. I did do some basting aroung the neck which did help.
4/10/07 6:30 PM
Sew4Fun said...
Beautiful blouse.
4/10/07 3:10 AM
SewTwin said...
Ditto the Elegante description! I have several prints similar feel to this fabric, will try your suggestions on them. What if you just left the sleeve open, would it bell?
4/10/07 2:26 AM
Nancy K said...
Lovely blouse. The collar is very elegant and the whole blouse is very flattering. As for the pins, use new when sewing a fabric like this and for these fabrics there is nothing like handbasting to make to sew better. It seems like a lot of work, but it is much easier to sew and in the long run becomes quicker. I use a bit of tear away stabilizer or tissue paper to start off these difficult fabrics and I agree spray start can make just the difference.
4/9/07 1:55 PM
OP Gal said...
Beautiful blouse in a beautiful fabric. Kudos for mastering a Marfy pattern! You did a wonderful job with a difficult fabric.
4/9/07 1:25 PM
carolynw said...
Reallyt beautiful - love the fabric choices you made. Agreeit would look tres elegant in black and white!!
4/9/07 12:51 PM
Marji said...
Beautiful blouse. Pretty print, and the silk charmeuse is so lovely to wear.
4/9/07 12:47 PM
SouthernStitch said...
Oh this is just too pretty. I so admire your sewing skills. The pattern with no instructions part I could fudge through, but not that and silk charmeuse. ETA: you need to move to advanced!!
4/9/07 12:41 PM
LauraM62 said...
Very pretty! I agree with Lorna - I have used those silky fabrics that my machine too wants to suck in - I find using something for a tear away stabilizer works wonders. It really doesn't have to be allot either - I've even used plain old tissue paper because it was there, quick & easy. You could also try some starch to stiffen it up more too.
4/9/07 7:03 AM
hongkongshopper said...
Lovely!
4/9/07 2:04 AM
Re Becca said...
The combination of chiffon and charmeuse spells headache to me! You did it beautifully! Don't you love the way these Marfy pattern pieces just go together as if they were just made to fit!
4/8/07 10:25 PM
CarolynGM said...
The colors and sheen of the fabric are just gorgeous -- what a perfect pattern to showcase it.
4/8/07 7:53 PM
Lorna C. Newman said...
I love the fabric ... where did you find such a spring like print? Your fit is wonderful as well. I can't remember where, but I think it was recommended to use a stabiliser under the seamline to counter the machine's appetite for finer fabrics. Maybe you can try that with a scrap?
4/8/07 7:48 PM
Nancywin said...
Absolutely beautiful - I love your fabric
4/8/07 7:41 PM
Puddin Pop said...
How beautiful this blouse. Gorgeous colors, also. Definitely, looks great for Easter.
4/8/07 7:40 PM
Kay Y said...
The colours and print are very beautiful, and the combination of charmeuse and chiffon is perfect. You nailed this! Hmmm - Marfy + silk charmeuse + silk chiffon ... Perhaps a promotion to advanced is in order?
4/8/07 7:25 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Fit the Tee to a T
Fit the Tee to a T

Class Details

Online Class
More Knits
More Knits

Class Details

Sewing Workshop Hudson Top & Pants Pattern

Sewing Workshop Hudson Top & Pants Pattern

More Info
SewBaby Prairie Bonnet Pattern

SewBaby Prairie Bonnet Pattern

More Info
BurdaStyle Magazine 02-2013-116

photo
by: starryfish

Review