Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Marfy: 1079 (Gathered-collar blouse) - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 846 times 1 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 12 people   
Reviewed by:lmg
photo
Friend of PR
About lmgstarstar
NA CANADA
Member since: 1/5/05
Reviews written: 72
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 28 people
patterns reviewed: 72
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/8/07 6:45 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
17 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Kay Y said...
The colours and print are very beautiful, and the combination of charmeuse and chiffon is perfect. You nailed this! Hmmm - Marfy + silk charmeuse + silk chiffon ... Perhaps a promotion to advanced is in order?
4/8/07 7:25 PM
Puddin Pop said...
How beautiful this blouse. Gorgeous colors, also. Definitely, looks great for Easter.
4/8/07 7:40 PM
Nancywin said...
Absolutely beautiful - I love your fabric
4/8/07 7:41 PM
Lorna C. Newman said...
I love the fabric ... where did you find such a spring like print? Your fit is wonderful as well. I can't remember where, but I think it was recommended to use a stabiliser under the seamline to counter the machine's appetite for finer fabrics. Maybe you can try that with a scrap?
4/8/07 7:48 PM
CarolynGM said...
The colors and sheen of the fabric are just gorgeous -- what a perfect pattern to showcase it.
4/8/07 7:53 PM
Re Becca said...
The combination of chiffon and charmeuse spells headache to me! You did it beautifully! Don't you love the way these Marfy pattern pieces just go together as if they were just made to fit!
4/8/07 10:25 PM
hongkongshopper said...
Lovely!
4/9/07 2:04 AM
LauraM62 said...
Very pretty! I agree with Lorna - I have used those silky fabrics that my machine too wants to suck in - I find using something for a tear away stabilizer works wonders. It really doesn't have to be allot either - I've even used plain old tissue paper because it was there, quick & easy. You could also try some starch to stiffen it up more too.
4/9/07 7:03 AM
SouthernStitch said...
Oh this is just too pretty. I so admire your sewing skills. The pattern with no instructions part I could fudge through, but not that and silk charmeuse. ETA: you need to move to advanced!!
4/9/07 12:41 PM
Marji said...
Beautiful blouse. Pretty print, and the silk charmeuse is so lovely to wear.
4/9/07 12:47 PM
carolynw said...
Reallyt beautiful - love the fabric choices you made. Agreeit would look tres elegant in black and white!!
4/9/07 12:51 PM
OP Gal said...
Beautiful blouse in a beautiful fabric. Kudos for mastering a Marfy pattern! You did a wonderful job with a difficult fabric.
4/9/07 1:25 PM
Nancy K said...
Lovely blouse. The collar is very elegant and the whole blouse is very flattering. As for the pins, use new when sewing a fabric like this and for these fabrics there is nothing like handbasting to make to sew better. It seems like a lot of work, but it is much easier to sew and in the long run becomes quicker. I use a bit of tear away stabilizer or tissue paper to start off these difficult fabrics and I agree spray start can make just the difference.
4/9/07 1:55 PM
SewTwin said...
Ditto the Elegante description! I have several prints similar feel to this fabric, will try your suggestions on them. What if you just left the sleeve open, would it bell?
4/10/07 2:26 AM
Sew4Fun said...
Beautiful blouse.
4/10/07 3:10 AM
lmg said...
Thanks everyone for the kind comments. Great suggestions regarding pins and spray starch and basting. I did do some basting aroung the neck which did help.
4/10/07 6:30 PM
Annette1 said...
VERY nice indeed! I bet with a little soak time, you'll decide that charmeuse was worth the extra effort. :o) The end result is perfect!
4/13/07 2:18 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Online Sewing Classes
Bust Adjustments
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Bust Adjustments

Butterick 5646 Misses Tunic
photo
Review by Doobee64 on 1/9/12
Read Review

Petite Plus 204 Pattern
Petite Plus 204 Pattern

Details
Price: $21.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Favorite Things A Billfold Pattern
Favorite Things A Billfold Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Jamie Christina Hi Lo Raglan Digital Pattern (JC315RE)
Jamie Christina Hi Lo Raglan Digital Pattern (JC315RE)

Details
Price: $10.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Liesl + Co. Everyday skirt Digital Pattern
Liesl + Co. Everyday skirt Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $12.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 7189
photo
Review by Pyrose on 8/14/06
Read Review

Kwik Sew 4057 Pattern
Kwik Sew 4057 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Burda 6913 Pattern
Burda 6913 Pattern

Details
Price: $10.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us