Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Jalie: 2111 (Men and Boys Dress Shirts) thumbsup - Type:Mens - Shirts    printable version
Viewed 2490 times 7 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 5 people    Very Helpful by 11 people   
Reviewed by:Lisa Laree
photo
Friend of PR
About Lisa Lareestarstarstarstar
AL USA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 242
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 86 people
patterns reviewed: 223
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/21/05 7:07 AM
Last Updated:8/14/06 9:06 AM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
19 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Diane E said...
Lisa, this is a very nice shirt! Your DH is one lucky guy! I'm glad to read your detailed review. If I ever make a shirt for DH or DS, I might try Kwik Sew first. The fact that the instructions are on the sleeve sheet could put me off this one! They sure have nice styles, though! And you're right: all those sizes in one envelope. Wow!
1/14/03 1:05 AM
Sue Anfang said...
This is lovely, I have ordered some shirting fabric to make my DH a shirt as well. If you would like to make more, you should invest in the book "Shirtmaking" by David Page Coffin, it's a wonderful book with lots of great techniques including how to flat-fell seams. Sue
1/14/03 1:14 AM
Rhonda Noah said...
That looks great! I think the fit looks really good, including sleeve length. Was this your first Jalie pattern?
1/14/03 7:00 AM
Lisa Laree said...
Yep, Rhonda, this was the first time I'd tried Jalie. DH stretched out his arms and twisted around a bit, then declared the sleeves could be just a little longer. Don't think he ever put RTW to that test! Diane, I may grab the KS shirt sometime to try it; I was thinking that I could make one pattern do for DH and for both DS's, who are 5 years apart in age. I will probably make them all matching shirts someday (and The Teenager will not like it...;) ). Sue, I've checked 'Shirtmaking' out of the library a couple of times (several years ago), but I haven't managed to get a copy for my Very Own yet. Thanks for your comments, Ladies!
1/14/03 9:52 AM
Deepika said...
Oh my god Lisa! you made that!!! This is even bettern than RTW. One of my projects this year is to learn to sew for DH! You've inspired me... great job and wonderful review. Thanks!
1/14/03 10:26 AM
Mbarkle said...
Lisa, very nice. My dh has been trying to convince me to try something like this, but I just keep shoving the Land's End catalog back in his face. I've really been curious about the Jalie patterns. Someone told me the leotard one is nice. Would love to hear from someone who made something in a tiny size and a big size just to hear whether the grading is true.
1/14/03 11:40 AM
Lisa Laree said...
Deepika, making a man's shirt strikes me as being fiddly but not really difficult. I basically did it one step at a time; it seemed like it took a long time; I'll probably do two at once next time and it shouldn't take as long per shirt. I'm sure you'll do a super job!
1/14/03 11:41 AM
Marita Kinnula said...
Lisa, this shirt would make any man happy, looks very professional, great fit, very good work, and a great review, thank you very much.
1/14/03 2:19 PM
Teri said...
What a nice shirt Lisa. I agree with the Kwik Sew comment. I have sewn shirts for my husband for years. He won't let me make any thing other than "his" KS pattern!
1/14/03 5:13 PM
Dale C said...
I've been interested in these Jalie patterns since I've seen Julie's review. I'm hoping they are all as nice fitting... I like that shirt you made. And what a bargain to have EVERY size from child-adult in one package!
1/14/03 6:13 PM
Rustybobn said...
Nice shirt, Lisa! (Don't know how I missed seeing this earlier.) I know your DH will enjoy wearing it.
1/21/03 7:33 PM
Gigi Louis said...
Great shirt, Lisa! Pretty soon you'll be cranking these out in no time flat. :-)
1/21/03 7:41 PM
Tessa said...
Lisa, I recommend making two at a time. I find it much faster. I haven't tried this Jalie pattern, but have had mixed luck with others. I have an OOP one for turtlenecks which I've used lots for two teenage sons, DH, MIL and myself, and I made DH lined winter overalls years ago, but I tried a swimsuit pattern for myself that was designed for someone with no hips! I notice it's OOP now, just as well. Haven't tried any of their recent patterns, I'd like to see more reviews. The shirt patterns I've been using for DH are all OOP, so no use my recommending them!
1/23/03 5:35 PM
Lisa Laree said...
I did pick up the KS shirt pattern; I'll get that made up one of these days and then I can make some comparisons...
1/23/03 10:57 PM
sewnew said...
Lisa, did you have a chance to compare the KwikSew vs the Jalie pattern. I would like to start making some men's shirts and have the KS pattern, but there's always more space for a new pattern. :)
3/20/04 6:17 PM
Lisa Laree said...
Well....I got the cotton shirting from Michael late last winter (yeah, a year ago) but I'm embarrassed to admit that for some reason it hasn't migrated to the top of the pile yet. Maybe now that the weather is warming up again I'll get at it... :rolleyes:
3/20/04 7:05 PM
Irene Q said...
The original shirt photo isn't showing, but your new version looks great! Thanks for another men's shirt review.
8/14/06 10:06 AM
Lisa Laree said...
Thanks, Irene! I forgot 'update the old review photo links' is on my to-do list...I fixed this link. On to the other 33 reviews from 2003...
8/14/06 10:42 AM
Elemenopeo said...
Looks great!
8/14/06 12:40 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Online Sewing Classes
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

McCall's M5813 Easy Pants
photo
Review by moonchild6... on 4/25/09
Read Review

Sewing Workshop Urban T-Shirt & Pants Pattern
Sewing Workshop Urban T-Shirt & Pants Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

SewBaby The Sleeve Saver Bib Pattern
SewBaby The Sleeve Saver Bib Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Blank Slate Basic Blazer Digital Pattern
Blank Slate Basic Blazer Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Pattern Runway Scalloped Hem Shorts Digital Pattern
Pattern Runway Scalloped Hem Shorts Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $9.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

No Pattern Used Self Drafted
photo
Review by CharityAK on 11/16/07
Read Review

Simplicity 4070 Pattern ( Size 12-14-16-18-20 )
Simplicity 4070 Pattern ( Size 12-14-16-18-20 )

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 1183 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20 )
Vogue 1183 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20 )

Details
Price: $30.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us