SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Jalie> 2111 (Men and Boys Dress Shirts)

7 more reviews
Viewed 2490 times 
Reviewed by:Lisa Laree
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Lisa Lareestarstarstarstar
AL USA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 244
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 87 people
patterns reviewed: 225
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/21/05 7:07 AM
Last Updated:8/14/06 9:06 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 5 people    Very Helpful by 11 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
19 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Elemenopeo said...
Looks great!
8/14/06 12:40 PM
Lisa Laree said...
Thanks, Irene! I forgot 'update the old review photo links' is on my to-do list...I fixed this link. On to the other 33 reviews from 2003...
8/14/06 10:42 AM
Irene Q said...
The original shirt photo isn't showing, but your new version looks great! Thanks for another men's shirt review.
8/14/06 10:06 AM
Lisa Laree said...
Well....I got the cotton shirting from Michael late last winter (yeah, a year ago) but I'm embarrassed to admit that for some reason it hasn't migrated to the top of the pile yet. Maybe now that the weather is warming up again I'll get at it... :rolleyes:
3/20/04 7:05 PM
sewnew said...
Lisa, did you have a chance to compare the KwikSew vs the Jalie pattern. I would like to start making some men's shirts and have the KS pattern, but there's always more space for a new pattern. :)
3/20/04 6:17 PM
Lisa Laree said...
I did pick up the KS shirt pattern; I'll get that made up one of these days and then I can make some comparisons...
1/23/03 10:57 PM
Tessa said...
Lisa, I recommend making two at a time. I find it much faster. I haven't tried this Jalie pattern, but have had mixed luck with others. I have an OOP one for turtlenecks which I've used lots for two teenage sons, DH, MIL and myself, and I made DH lined winter overalls years ago, but I tried a swimsuit pattern for myself that was designed for someone with no hips! I notice it's OOP now, just as well. Haven't tried any of their recent patterns, I'd like to see more reviews. The shirt patterns I've been using for DH are all OOP, so no use my recommending them!
1/23/03 5:35 PM
Gigi Louis said...
Great shirt, Lisa! Pretty soon you'll be cranking these out in no time flat. :-)
1/21/03 7:41 PM
Rustybobn said...
Nice shirt, Lisa! (Don't know how I missed seeing this earlier.) I know your DH will enjoy wearing it.
1/21/03 7:33 PM
Dale C said...
I've been interested in these Jalie patterns since I've seen Julie's review. I'm hoping they are all as nice fitting... I like that shirt you made. And what a bargain to have EVERY size from child-adult in one package!
1/14/03 6:13 PM
Teri said...
What a nice shirt Lisa. I agree with the Kwik Sew comment. I have sewn shirts for my husband for years. He won't let me make any thing other than "his" KS pattern!
1/14/03 5:13 PM
Marita Kinnula said...
Lisa, this shirt would make any man happy, looks very professional, great fit, very good work, and a great review, thank you very much.
1/14/03 2:19 PM
Lisa Laree said...
Deepika, making a man's shirt strikes me as being fiddly but not really difficult. I basically did it one step at a time; it seemed like it took a long time; I'll probably do two at once next time and it shouldn't take as long per shirt. I'm sure you'll do a super job!
1/14/03 11:41 AM
Mbarkle said...
Lisa, very nice. My dh has been trying to convince me to try something like this, but I just keep shoving the Land's End catalog back in his face. I've really been curious about the Jalie patterns. Someone told me the leotard one is nice. Would love to hear from someone who made something in a tiny size and a big size just to hear whether the grading is true.
1/14/03 11:40 AM
Deepika said...
Oh my god Lisa! you made that!!! This is even bettern than RTW. One of my projects this year is to learn to sew for DH! You've inspired me... great job and wonderful review. Thanks!
1/14/03 10:26 AM
Lisa Laree said...
Yep, Rhonda, this was the first time I'd tried Jalie. DH stretched out his arms and twisted around a bit, then declared the sleeves could be just a little longer. Don't think he ever put RTW to that test! Diane, I may grab the KS shirt sometime to try it; I was thinking that I could make one pattern do for DH and for both DS's, who are 5 years apart in age. I will probably make them all matching shirts someday (and The Teenager will not like it...;) ). Sue, I've checked 'Shirtmaking' out of the library a couple of times (several years ago), but I haven't managed to get a copy for my Very Own yet. Thanks for your comments, Ladies!
1/14/03 9:52 AM
Rhonda Noah said...
That looks great! I think the fit looks really good, including sleeve length. Was this your first Jalie pattern?
1/14/03 7:00 AM
Sue Anfang said...
This is lovely, I have ordered some shirting fabric to make my DH a shirt as well. If you would like to make more, you should invest in the book "Shirtmaking" by David Page Coffin, it's a wonderful book with lots of great techniques including how to flat-fell seams. Sue
1/14/03 1:14 AM
Diane E said...
Lisa, this is a very nice shirt! Your DH is one lucky guy! I'm glad to read your detailed review. If I ever make a shirt for DH or DS, I might try Kwik Sew first. The fact that the instructions are on the sleeve sheet could put me off this one! They sure have nice styles, though! And you're right: all those sizes in one envelope. Wow!
1/14/03 1:05 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Class Details

Online Class
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Class Details

Sewing Workshop Salsa Blouse Pattern

Sewing Workshop Salsa Blouse Pattern

More Info
You Sew Girl Best Dress Pattern

You Sew Girl Best Dress Pattern

More Info