Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Simplicity: 5204 (Shirt, skirt, pants and bag) thumbsup - Type:Coordinates    printable version
Viewed 1181 times 7 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 15 people   
Reviewed by:Karen6790
photo
Friend of PR
About Karen6790starstarstarstar
PA USA
Member since: 3/2/06
Reviews written: 212
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 83 people
patterns reviewed: 211
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/9/07 9:56 PM
Last Updated:8/6/07 9:38 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
25 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Suesews said...
Absolutely beautiful, wonderful review, and a priceless story! Thanks!
4/9/07 11:12 PM
Leora said...
I really like this pattern too! You are so clever to pretty up the collar and sleeves with the ruffles. Love it! I laughed out loud at your story and snorted a few times! Good one.
4/9/07 11:15 PM
chick3y said...
I love the extra ruffles you put on the collar and sleeve. The shirt is great!
4/9/07 11:16 PM
Bruna said...
Just beautiful, Karen. I love everything you've done with this shirt! I also enjoyed your story. Regards, Bruna
4/10/07 4:54 AM
ryan's mom said...
Great top! And what a story :) !!
4/10/07 6:58 AM
Jane S said...
Lovely blouse and such a true story similar to our experiences in Paris.
4/10/07 8:30 AM
cathy45 said...
Love the fabric--love the shirt--love the retro details--love the story. This was a great way to start the morning. Thank you.
4/10/07 9:24 AM
Levone said...
Pretty shirt. I enjoyed the story behind the fabric as well.
4/10/07 9:28 AM
Elemenopeo said...
Great story - beautiful blouse!
4/10/07 9:47 AM
Puddin Pop said...
I love your story. Your girly blouse is beautiful and I think, also, you will get lots of wear out of it.
4/10/07 9:48 AM
Seamingly Simple said...
The ruffled collar trim is darling (and the ruffled American hilarious!).
4/10/07 10:54 AM
hildy said...
I love your story in purchasing the fabric. I lived in Paris for two years,and time and time again I saw the "Ugly American" Why can't Americans understand that they speak French in France not English! The French are like us,one language is spoken in there country. They also have lots of rules in shops and if you don't follow them,you will get a cold shoulder! I wish I had my sewing machine when I was living there. Anyway, I love your shirt. It caught my eye as I was looking at the gallery. Fresh and adorable :)
4/10/07 12:26 PM
SewTwin said...
Vintage is true! Looks like the magazines that carry the toile prints. If she could only see your blouse, m-a-y-b-e she wouldn't be so rude, but I doubt it..
4/11/07 1:25 AM
carolynw said...
This is really beatifl - I love Liberty cotton.- I can get blouses here already made up by a very well known Company - I don't want to tellyou the prices but it's really, really high. Love your story re French/English and the bad behaviour of another customer - her loss!
4/11/07 7:02 PM
nicegirl said...
Adore! The ruffle on the collar is so cute. And love the story. That woman must have been *hoping* for a "the French are rude" story to act in such a horrible manner herself.
4/12/07 5:49 PM
Annette1 said...
Definitely a keeper! Great review, and great result. :o)
4/13/07 1:51 AM
AnneM said...
They should put your version on the cover and they would sell a lot more of them! Beautiful top and a great souvenir. (Hard to believe that other tourist; some people just don't think.)
4/20/07 8:56 PM
joann said...
I am just getting to the April reviews ---Love the look and the ruffles. I have this pattern and now I will have to actually use it. Your story was priceless. I've seen a few of these "types" here in the USA too!
6/7/07 8:38 PM
bunz said...
This new blouse is a terrific color w your skin tone!
8/6/07 10:17 PM
Membear said...
I have this pattern and yes it is rather bland but yours is lovely I will have to get busy.
8/6/07 11:33 PM
gatorgirl4325 said...
Love the red version! Your collar points turned out perfectly!
8/7/07 12:33 PM
Hilary said...
Beautiful blouse (I have made this as well!) and I *loved* your story! I hope they get more nice Americans than rude!!
8/7/07 12:36 PM
Mufffet said...
So cute! Good job.
8/7/07 3:51 PM
2BSewing said...
Beautiful tops! Enjoyed your review. :)
8/7/07 7:35 PM
nicegirl said...
Love the new one and old both! The collar without collar stand is making me lust after such a pattern. I think it's such a feminine look.
8/7/07 11:24 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Online Sewing Classes
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Simplicity 2264
photo
Review by Crys0904 on 4/11/12
Read Review

Kwik Sew 3389 Pattern
Kwik Sew 3389 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1376 Pattern ( Size 20W-28W )
Simplicity 1376 Pattern ( Size 20W-28W )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCall's 5979
photo
Review by maedchen on 12/31/09
Read Review

Sis Boom Ethan Shirt Digital Pattern
Sis Boom Ethan Shirt Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $10.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Birthday Girl Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Birthday Girl Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

SewBaby Patchwork Purse Pattern
SewBaby Patchwork Purse Pattern

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

SewBaby Quick Kitchen Gifts Pattern
SewBaby Quick Kitchen Gifts Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us