SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 5204 (Shirt, skirt, pants and bag)

7 more reviews
Viewed 1182 times 
Reviewed by:Karen6790
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Karen6790starstarstarstar
PA USA
Member since: 3/2/06
Reviews written: 212
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 83 people
patterns reviewed: 211
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/9/07 9:56 PM
Last Updated:8/6/07 9:38 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 15 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
25 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Suesews said...
Absolutely beautiful, wonderful review, and a priceless story! Thanks!
4/9/07 11:12 PM
Leora said...
I really like this pattern too! You are so clever to pretty up the collar and sleeves with the ruffles. Love it! I laughed out loud at your story and snorted a few times! Good one.
4/9/07 11:15 PM
chick3y said...
I love the extra ruffles you put on the collar and sleeve. The shirt is great!
4/9/07 11:16 PM
Bruna said...
Just beautiful, Karen. I love everything you've done with this shirt! I also enjoyed your story. Regards, Bruna
4/10/07 4:54 AM
ryan's mom said...
Great top! And what a story :) !!
4/10/07 6:58 AM
Jane S said...
Lovely blouse and such a true story similar to our experiences in Paris.
4/10/07 8:30 AM
cathy45 said...
Love the fabric--love the shirt--love the retro details--love the story. This was a great way to start the morning. Thank you.
4/10/07 9:24 AM
Levone said...
Pretty shirt. I enjoyed the story behind the fabric as well.
4/10/07 9:28 AM
Elemenopeo said...
Great story - beautiful blouse!
4/10/07 9:47 AM
Puddin Pop said...
I love your story. Your girly blouse is beautiful and I think, also, you will get lots of wear out of it.
4/10/07 9:48 AM
Seamingly Simple said...
The ruffled collar trim is darling (and the ruffled American hilarious!).
4/10/07 10:54 AM
hildy said...
I love your story in purchasing the fabric. I lived in Paris for two years,and time and time again I saw the "Ugly American" Why can't Americans understand that they speak French in France not English! The French are like us,one language is spoken in there country. They also have lots of rules in shops and if you don't follow them,you will get a cold shoulder! I wish I had my sewing machine when I was living there. Anyway, I love your shirt. It caught my eye as I was looking at the gallery. Fresh and adorable :)
4/10/07 12:26 PM
SewTwin said...
Vintage is true! Looks like the magazines that carry the toile prints. If she could only see your blouse, m-a-y-b-e she wouldn't be so rude, but I doubt it..
4/11/07 1:25 AM
carolynw said...
This is really beatifl - I love Liberty cotton.- I can get blouses here already made up by a very well known Company - I don't want to tellyou the prices but it's really, really high. Love your story re French/English and the bad behaviour of another customer - her loss!
4/11/07 7:02 PM
nicegirl said...
Adore! The ruffle on the collar is so cute. And love the story. That woman must have been *hoping* for a "the French are rude" story to act in such a horrible manner herself.
4/12/07 5:49 PM
Annette1 said...
Definitely a keeper! Great review, and great result. :o)
4/13/07 1:51 AM
AnneM said...
They should put your version on the cover and they would sell a lot more of them! Beautiful top and a great souvenir. (Hard to believe that other tourist; some people just don't think.)
4/20/07 8:56 PM
joann said...
I am just getting to the April reviews ---Love the look and the ruffles. I have this pattern and now I will have to actually use it. Your story was priceless. I've seen a few of these "types" here in the USA too!
6/7/07 8:38 PM
bunz said...
This new blouse is a terrific color w your skin tone!
8/6/07 10:17 PM
Membear said...
I have this pattern and yes it is rather bland but yours is lovely I will have to get busy.
8/6/07 11:33 PM
gatorgirl4325 said...
Love the red version! Your collar points turned out perfectly!
8/7/07 12:33 PM
Hilary said...
Beautiful blouse (I have made this as well!) and I *loved* your story! I hope they get more nice Americans than rude!!
8/7/07 12:36 PM
Mufffet said...
So cute! Good job.
8/7/07 3:51 PM
2BSewing said...
Beautiful tops! Enjoyed your review. :)
8/7/07 7:35 PM
nicegirl said...
Love the new one and old both! The collar without collar stand is making me lust after such a pattern. I think it's such a feminine look.
8/7/07 11:24 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sewing Facings and Developing Facing Patterns
Sewing Facings and Developing Facing Patterns

Register

Understanding Wool Fabrics
Understanding Wool Fabrics

Register

Christine Jonson Pleat Front Dress

Christine Jonson Pleat Front Dress

Buy Now
Sewing Workshop Daily News Bag Pattern

Sewing Workshop Daily News Bag Pattern

Buy Now