Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
HotPatterns: HP-104 (Tie Neck Top) thumbsup - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 1238 times 14 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 19 people   
Reviewed by:sewitfitsyou
photo
About sewitfitsyoustar
CA USA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 6
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 2 people
patterns reviewed: 6
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/10/07 0:20 AM
Last Updated:4/10/07 0:23 AM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
17 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Soliel said...
That's really weird that you cut it two sizes smaller than your measurements and used a woven at the same time. I am assuming you can get it on without a zipper? Amazing.
4/10/07 0:41 AM
Diane E said...
Sue, I love your review and your top is so pretty! I'm really glad to have your experience to draw from once I finally get around to making the top myself. As for "toe" I think that was meant to be "tie." Darn that spell-check! Never catches those little malapropisms.....
4/10/07 2:50 AM
Marji said...
Great review, and thanks for taking all the time to detail all about this wonky sizing. I can understand why so many are so frustrated with HP. You ended up with a very pretty top.
4/10/07 4:16 AM
CarolynGM said...
Your top looks wonderful -- if I were making it, I would prefer a woven too. Your sizing information will be a godsend for anyone who makes this pattern. Thank you!
4/10/07 5:28 AM
Sanibelle said...
Your top looks so pretty on you! Thank you for such a terrific review.
4/10/07 5:32 AM
narcissaqtpie said...
Great & informative review, & the top is very pretty.
4/10/07 8:38 AM
Levone said...
Great looking top!
4/10/07 9:15 AM
Sharon M said...
Oooo, I like it! I found the sizing quite large (as noted on my previous review) and it is a good idea to flat measure the pattern before cutting it out. I hadn't thought of using a woven - it turned out great and looks good on you.
4/10/07 9:20 AM
Elemenopeo said...
It looks like a nice staple to your wardrobe - good review.
4/10/07 9:53 AM
Elana said...
I was about to sew this one and, just like you, I considered to make it woven. Your review was really helpful. Did you cut the pattern on the bias? Thank you, the blouse looks great on you!
4/10/07 11:29 AM
sewitfitsyou said...
Soliel - Yes, I can get it on without a zipper. Elana - I did not cut the top on the bias, but I think that would work very nicely. Diane E - Hi there! Long time no talk...
4/10/07 11:58 AM
Lori V said...
Your top looks wonderful
4/10/07 3:38 PM
Carolyndh said...
Your top looks really great!
4/10/07 7:10 PM
Danvillegirl said...
Oh I am so glad you reviewed this in such detail. I read GT's review for a knit top. I just got this pattern. Your size and mine are similiar so I will definitely look at going down in size to fit. Love your blouse, looks flattering on you.
4/11/07 5:27 AM
ryan's mom said...
Pretty top! It looks so nice on you too!
4/11/07 5:29 PM
Annette1 said...
Thanks for the very helpful review. You've got a great outfit here. Very interesting that you used a non-stretch fabric AND suggest going down a size. It turned out perfectly.
4/13/07 1:45 AM
AnneM said...
Your top came out very well. It worked wonderfully in your woven. Good info on the sizing, and on your choice for the hip band. I really like the sleeves.
4/22/07 9:29 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Put it on the Bias
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
Put it on the Bias

Online Sewing Classes
Altering Pants
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Pants

Simplicity 4138 Misses Skirts
photo
Review by kristinlal... on 7/25/10
Read Review

SBCC Patterns Foldover Waistband Maxi Skirt Digital Pattern (XXS-L)
SBCC Patterns Foldover Waistband Maxi Skirt Digital Pattern (XXS-L)

Details
Price: $10.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Cake Patterns Red Velvet Dress Digital Pattern
Cake Patterns Red Velvet Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $14.06
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Other The New Handmade
photo
Review by AlisonK318 on 6/6/10
Read Review

You Sew Girl 90mm Purse Frame Purse Pattern
You Sew Girl 90mm Purse Frame Purse Pattern

Details
Price: $21.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Bluegingerdoll Mae Blouse Patterns
Bluegingerdoll Mae Blouse Patterns

Details
Price: $20.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 2281 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )
Simplicity 2281 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 8874 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )
Vogue 8874 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $30.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us