SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
PR Weekend Los Angeles

Pattern Reviews> HotPatterns> HP-104 (Tie Neck Top)

14 more reviews
Viewed 1239 times 
Reviewed by:sewitfitsyou
photo

 
 
About sewitfitsyoustar
CA USA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 6
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 2 people
patterns reviewed: 6
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/10/07 0:20 AM
Last Updated:4/10/07 0:23 AM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 19 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
17 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
AnneM said... (4/22/07 9:29 AM) Reply
Your top came out very well. It worked wonderfully in your woven. Good info on the sizing, and on your choice for the hip band. I really like the sleeves.
Annette1 said... (4/13/07 1:45 AM) Reply
Thanks for the very helpful review. You've got a great outfit here. Very interesting that you used a non-stretch fabric AND suggest going down a size. It turned out perfectly.
ryan's mom said... (4/11/07 5:29 PM) Reply
Pretty top! It looks so nice on you too!
Danvillegirl said... (4/11/07 5:27 AM) Reply
Oh I am so glad you reviewed this in such detail. I read GT's review for a knit top. I just got this pattern. Your size and mine are similiar so I will definitely look at going down in size to fit. Love your blouse, looks flattering on you.
Carolyndh said... (4/10/07 7:10 PM) Reply
Your top looks really great!
Lori V said... (4/10/07 3:38 PM) Reply
Your top looks wonderful
sewitfitsyou said... (4/10/07 11:58 AM) Reply
Soliel - Yes, I can get it on without a zipper. Elana - I did not cut the top on the bias, but I think that would work very nicely. Diane E - Hi there! Long time no talk...
Elana said... (4/10/07 11:29 AM) Reply
I was about to sew this one and, just like you, I considered to make it woven. Your review was really helpful. Did you cut the pattern on the bias? Thank you, the blouse looks great on you!
Elemenopeo said... (4/10/07 9:53 AM) Reply
It looks like a nice staple to your wardrobe - good review.
Sharon M said... (4/10/07 9:20 AM) Reply
Oooo, I like it! I found the sizing quite large (as noted on my previous review) and it is a good idea to flat measure the pattern before cutting it out. I hadn't thought of using a woven - it turned out great and looks good on you.
Levone said... (4/10/07 9:15 AM) Reply
Great looking top!
narcissaqtpie said... (4/10/07 8:38 AM) Reply
Great & informative review, & the top is very pretty.
Sanibelle said... (4/10/07 5:32 AM) Reply
Your top looks so pretty on you! Thank you for such a terrific review.
CarolynGM said... (4/10/07 5:28 AM) Reply
Your top looks wonderful -- if I were making it, I would prefer a woven too. Your sizing information will be a godsend for anyone who makes this pattern. Thank you!
Marji said... (4/10/07 4:16 AM) Reply
Great review, and thanks for taking all the time to detail all about this wonky sizing. I can understand why so many are so frustrated with HP. You ended up with a very pretty top.
Diane E said... (4/10/07 2:50 AM) Reply
Sue, I love your review and your top is so pretty! I'm really glad to have your experience to draw from once I finally get around to making the top myself. As for "toe" I think that was meant to be "tie." Darn that spell-check! Never catches those little malapropisms.....
Soliel said... (4/10/07 0:41 AM) Reply
That's really weird that you cut it two sizes smaller than your measurements and used a woven at the same time. I am assuming you can get it on without a zipper? Amazing.
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Class Details

Online Class
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Class Details

Self Drafted Pattern 22952-1003

photo
by: ryan's mom

Review
StyleArc Anthea Dress

photo
by: clothingen...

Review
SewBaby "I Can Do It" Cloth Activity Book Pattern

SewBaby

Pattern Details
Favorite Things The Nappies Pattern

Favorite Things The Nappies Pattern

Pattern Details