Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 8232 (Very Easy Jacket and Dress) thumbsup - Type:Coordinates    printable version
Viewed 1237 times 7 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 3 people   
Reviewed by:moss
photo
About mossstar
Member since: 8/23/06
Reviews written: 30
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 1 people
patterns reviewed: 26
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/10/07 8:21 AM


See other patterns in this category: Dresses    Coat/Jacket    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
9 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Nancywin said...
I cant see a good shot of the dress, so I'm not sure how well it fits you. If you had to take in that much, you definitely need a smaller size - maybe with a FBA. If you use the pivot and slide method (Nancy Zeiman's book "Fitting Finesse" it's not nearly as scary as it sounds. I always use a smaller pattern and then do the FBA. Makes the fit much nicer. Did you make the jacket too?
4/10/07 10:07 AM
moss said...
yep I made the jacket too. There are more shots in the album although my camera is not very good. :) Thanks !
4/10/07 10:22 AM
fuzzygalore said...
From the little we can see of you, it definitely looks like you have enough bust that you should always be using the high bust measurement and making an FBA...
4/10/07 11:56 AM
Hilary said...
Your dress is really pretty (I love that fabric!); I agree, I think you should have gone down at least one size (maybe even two) I second the Nancy Ziemans "Fitting Finesse" recommendation-I have used her methods with great success-I even sewed my own wedding dress with them, and my 3 bridesmaids, and they ALL fit perfectly. And using your upperbust measurement is what she recommends for chosing a size. Naturally you most likely will need alterations in other areas, but they are much easier to alter than the shoulders and neck. Your dress really does look well put together, once you take it in a bit more it will fit well too! Great review!
4/10/07 11:56 AM
Sherril Miller said...
definitely need to go down a couple of sizes in the neck and sleeve area. It does fit well in the bust and waist, so if you can combine sizes on your pattern, that may work. another option is to do the FBA to a smaller size like others have suggested. It's a nice color and when fitted correctly will look really great on you.
4/10/07 12:20 PM
moss said...
Thanks everyone for all your help! I will look up that book, and next time I make this I will go down a size. or two :) Thanks!
4/10/07 2:03 PM
Annette1 said...
Smart aleck ... wish somebody'd tell me to go down a size or two. :o) I agree (about the neck). Otherwise, it looks GREAT!! And now, I will go forth and sew-sew-sew.
4/13/07 1:36 AM
AnneM said...
I fits nicely, overall. Very wearable. I'll agree that you could go down a bit; the back looks to be a bit wide. Don't hesitate to use multiple sizes (I agree w/ Sherril that the size you used looks right in some areas).
4/22/07 9:24 AM
mlsews said...
thanks, I've made the jacket and it turned out so cute I was wanting to make the dress. I really like the simple style.
9/13/07 10:22 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Put it on the Bias
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
Put it on the Bias

Online Sewing Classes
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Kwik Sew 3377
photo
Review by LaurieEm on 4/25/06
Read Review

You Sew Girl City Bag Pattern
You Sew Girl City Bag Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Shapes Six Sense Skirt Pattern
Shapes Six Sense Skirt Pattern

Details
Price: $16.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Angela Osborn Daisy Top Digital Pattern (SS10-11-104)
Angela Osborn Daisy Top Digital Pattern (SS10-11-104)

Details
Price: $9.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Cake Patterns Bonny Knit Sailor Top Digital Pattern
Cake Patterns Bonny Knit Sailor Top Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $8.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 2237
photo
Review by heemee on 5/24/12
Read Review

Simplicity 1377 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )
Simplicity 1377 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1693 Pattern ( Size 4-6-8-10-12 )
Simplicity 1693 Pattern ( Size 4-6-8-10-12 )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us