SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 1215 (Vintage New York Styles)

Viewed 1629 times 
Reviewed by:http mom
photo

 
 
About http momstar
CA USA
Member since: 9/17/02
UnVerified member
Reviews written: 10
Sewing skills:Intermediate
patterns reviewed: 10
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/15/03 5:12 AM
Last Updated:1/15/03 6:41 AM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized 


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 10 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
23 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Diane E said...
In the immortal (paraphrased) words of Mike Myers, "I am not worthy...." Wow wow wow! Thanks for writing the review and sharing your beautiful dress with us!
1/17/03 0:57 AM
Lori V said...
Simply stunning
1/16/03 1:37 AM
Everyday Sewist said...
Beautiful dress! I love the tiara too.
1/16/03 0:02 AM
Julie R said...
So beautiful! You must have been the belle of the ball! Thanks for sharing!
1/15/03 5:12 PM
Margaret said...
I am so glad you wrote this review. I have a couple of other New York patterns and I think I will move them up in the queue of "patterns to use next"... your dress is stunning!
1/15/03 2:19 PM
Maria Hatfield said...
WOW! This dress/gown is absolutely Beautiful ! one of these days, im going to be able to sew like that. you did a great job. congratulations !!
1/15/03 2:16 PM
Debbie Spriggs said...
Oh my goodness, this is spectacular! Beautiful accomplishment!
1/15/03 1:41 PM
Cheryl Colehour said...
I went to your website and was totally inspired. I thought, "Gee, I wonder if she'd have coffee with me." But of course, we don't live in the same state! The dress is amazing, and it's great you were able to get the fabric at such a bargain.
1/15/03 1:23 PM
PhyllisC said...
Amazing, just amazing. There's nothing like that feeling when you just *know* your fabric and pattner choices will work! Also, I'd bet Vogue might be interested in reproducing this pattern for their Vintage Vogue series - Iv'e read that they solicit old patterns from sewers collections and put them back into production.
1/15/03 1:01 PM
starlene said...
Absolutely stunning!!! What a steal on the fabric too.
1/15/03 11:43 AM
Mbarkle said...
Beautiful! Can't believe you paid more for the pattern than the fabric.
1/15/03 11:22 AM
KathleenS said...
Lovely dress! I feel inspired to go and get started on one of my Vintage Vogue patterns (the modern reprints of the old ones) - they have such lovely details compared to most modern patterns.
1/15/03 11:11 AM
said...
Wow, your dress is beautiful. I would like to have an occasion to wear such an outstanding dress. BTW is it cut on the bias?
1/15/03 10:48 AM
Saskia said...
Wow, a wonderful dress! A dress I would like for me. Maybe someday...
1/15/03 10:24 AM
Lynngray said...
Wow, It's gorgeous. Great job.
1/15/03 10:04 AM
GorgeousFabrics said...
What a wonderful dress, congratulations!!! You must be very proud. I love the collar material. I'll definitely have to contact Fabrics Are Us! -Ann
1/15/03 9:57 AM
kerina said...
It's absolutely gorgeous! I'm a big fan of vintage designs myself. I can't wait until I have the skill to make some myself.
1/15/03 9:46 AM
Ginger said...
Absolutely beautiful.
1/15/03 9:43 AM
e_e_thomas said...
What a beautiful dress! I love the drape of the skirt.
1/15/03 8:48 AM
Tonya said...
What a fabulous dress and pattern. Congratulations! I just might have to get into vintage patterns - I love clothing from the 30's and 40's...
1/15/03 8:28 AM
AnneM said...
Very nice! I suppose that is why Vogue got it's name, and why people complain that it just doesn't have the great designs it used to have.
1/15/03 7:23 AM
http mom said...
Oh Yes, It's called "Fabrics Are Us" and it is located on Berryessa at the Berryessa Plaza.They have lots of designer and novelty fabrics at a fraction of the cost. They specialize in wedding fabrics but I have found everything in this dinky little hide away. It's like being a kid in a candy store. English is a second language here but I have no problem with that...all yu need to know is..."How much?" which, when it turns out to be to $5.00 a yard...translates in all languages as "I'll take it!"
1/15/03 6:04 AM
Elona said...
Lovely, lovely gown! I mean, really spectacular. May we ask the name of your favorite Asian imports store in San Jose?
1/15/03 5:32 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Register

Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Register

McCall's 5525

photo
by: velosewer

Review
Sew Chic Clara Bow Apron Pattern (ln102)

Sew Chic Clara Bow Apron Pattern (ln102)

Buy Now
Petite Plus 201 Pattern

Petite Plus 201 Pattern

Buy Now