Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 1215 (Vintage New York Styles) - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 1628 times
Review rated Very Helpful by 10 people   
Reviewed by:http mom
photo
About http momstar
CA USA
Member since: 9/17/02
UnVerified member
Reviews written: 10
Sewing skills:Intermediate
patterns reviewed: 10
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/15/03 5:12 AM
Last Updated:1/15/03 6:41 AM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized 


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Sewn Square One
Patterns for Your Style.
Web site
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
23 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Elona said...
Lovely, lovely gown! I mean, really spectacular. May we ask the name of your favorite Asian imports store in San Jose?
1/15/03 5:32 AM
http mom said...
Oh Yes, It's called "Fabrics Are Us" and it is located on Berryessa at the Berryessa Plaza.They have lots of designer and novelty fabrics at a fraction of the cost. They specialize in wedding fabrics but I have found everything in this dinky little hide away. It's like being a kid in a candy store. English is a second language here but I have no problem with that...all yu need to know is..."How much?" which, when it turns out to be to $5.00 a yard...translates in all languages as "I'll take it!"
1/15/03 6:04 AM
AnneM said...
Very nice! I suppose that is why Vogue got it's name, and why people complain that it just doesn't have the great designs it used to have.
1/15/03 7:23 AM
Tonya said...
What a fabulous dress and pattern. Congratulations! I just might have to get into vintage patterns - I love clothing from the 30's and 40's...
1/15/03 8:28 AM
e_e_thomas said...
What a beautiful dress! I love the drape of the skirt.
1/15/03 8:48 AM
Ginger said...
Absolutely beautiful.
1/15/03 9:43 AM
kerina said...
It's absolutely gorgeous! I'm a big fan of vintage designs myself. I can't wait until I have the skill to make some myself.
1/15/03 9:46 AM
GorgeousFabrics said...
What a wonderful dress, congratulations!!! You must be very proud. I love the collar material. I'll definitely have to contact Fabrics Are Us! -Ann
1/15/03 9:57 AM
Lynngray said...
Wow, It's gorgeous. Great job.
1/15/03 10:04 AM
Saskia said...
Wow, a wonderful dress! A dress I would like for me. Maybe someday...
1/15/03 10:24 AM
said...
Wow, your dress is beautiful. I would like to have an occasion to wear such an outstanding dress. BTW is it cut on the bias?
1/15/03 10:48 AM
KathleenS said...
Lovely dress! I feel inspired to go and get started on one of my Vintage Vogue patterns (the modern reprints of the old ones) - they have such lovely details compared to most modern patterns.
1/15/03 11:11 AM
Mbarkle said...
Beautiful! Can't believe you paid more for the pattern than the fabric.
1/15/03 11:22 AM
starlene said...
Absolutely stunning!!! What a steal on the fabric too.
1/15/03 11:43 AM
PhyllisC said...
Amazing, just amazing. There's nothing like that feeling when you just *know* your fabric and pattner choices will work! Also, I'd bet Vogue might be interested in reproducing this pattern for their Vintage Vogue series - Iv'e read that they solicit old patterns from sewers collections and put them back into production.
1/15/03 1:01 PM
Cheryl Colehour said...
I went to your website and was totally inspired. I thought, "Gee, I wonder if she'd have coffee with me." But of course, we don't live in the same state! The dress is amazing, and it's great you were able to get the fabric at such a bargain.
1/15/03 1:23 PM
Debbie Spriggs said...
Oh my goodness, this is spectacular! Beautiful accomplishment!
1/15/03 1:41 PM
Maria Hatfield said...
WOW! This dress/gown is absolutely Beautiful ! one of these days, im going to be able to sew like that. you did a great job. congratulations !!
1/15/03 2:16 PM
Margaret said...
I am so glad you wrote this review. I have a couple of other New York patterns and I think I will move them up in the queue of "patterns to use next"... your dress is stunning!
1/15/03 2:19 PM
Julie R said...
So beautiful! You must have been the belle of the ball! Thanks for sharing!
1/15/03 5:12 PM
Everyday Sewist said...
Beautiful dress! I love the tiara too.
1/16/03 0:02 AM
Lori V said...
Simply stunning
1/16/03 1:37 AM
Diane E said...
In the immortal (paraphrased) words of Mike Myers, "I am not worthy...." Wow wow wow! Thanks for writing the review and sharing your beautiful dress with us!
1/17/03 0:57 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Online Sewing Classes
Fit the Tee to a T
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Fit the Tee to a T

Simplicity 4099
photo
Review by Cation Des... on 5/1/13
Read Review

Vogue 2810 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10 )
Vogue 2810 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10 )

Details
Price: $25.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1486 Pattern ( Size ONE )
Simplicity 1486 Pattern ( Size ONE )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 5386 Fitted Top
photo
Review by Elizabeth ... on 11/16/09
Read Review

Oliver S School Days Jacket & Coat Digital Pattern( Size 6m-3T )
Oliver   S School Days Jacket & Coat Digital Pattern( Size 6m-3T )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Lily Bird Studio Juliette's Dress Digital Pattern
Lily Bird Studio Juliette's Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $9.90
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sew Liberated Lola and Lolita Aprons
Sew Liberated Lola and Lolita Aprons

Details
Price: $11.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl 200mm Glam Purse Pattern
You Sew Girl 200mm Glam Purse Pattern

Details
Price: $40.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us