SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 02-2007-118 (jacket)

5 more reviews
Viewed 1296 times 
Reviewed by:Seamingly Simple
photo

 
 
About Seamingly Simplestarstarstarstar
AB CANADA
Member since: 12/23/03
Reviews written: 134
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 61 people
patterns reviewed: 101
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/12/07 11:42 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 26 people   
See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
31 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Seamingly Simple said...
There; photos are fixed now. Yahoo is making its users move all their photos to Flickr, resulting in broken links. One by one, I'm repairing each review.
9/17/07 8:26 AM
creative1 said...
Seamingly Simple, will you please provide with a new link to see your jacket? Your current link says, 'sewing_engineer has moved their photos to Flickr. From now on you'll need to go to Flickr to view their photos.. ' Thank you!
8/25/07 0:40 AM
KiwiWendy said...
I found it in a newsagents, can't wait to try this pattern
4/19/07 1:47 AM
KiwiWendy said...
I found it in a newsagents, can't wait to try this pattern
4/19/07 1:47 AM
Leslie in NZ said...
Thanks for that Seamingly Simple. Much Appreciated.
4/16/07 3:32 AM
Seamingly Simple said...
Oops! Duplicate post.
4/15/07 8:49 AM
Seamingly Simple said...
Leslie in NZ, the sway back adjustment is essentially a horizontal dart that removes some of the length at the centre back and nothing at the side seams. It is explained in this discussion, which includes a link to a site that has a diagram. My dart was a wedge 3/8" wide at the centre back (folded size 3/16") tapering to zero at the side seam. HTH.
4/15/07 8:40 AM
KiwiWendy said...
I have to rush out & buy this issue - here's hoping I can find it. I love the design lines!
4/14/07 9:49 PM
Leslie in NZ said...
This is a beautiful jacket. I am particularly interested in how you fit the back. You did a wonderful job and I will try these methods to see if they will work for me. I didn't understand your 4th point "(4) I made a wedge tuck at the centre back waistline to bring it in 3/8" at the small of my back and then added half of this amount back at the hemline". Please explain how you did the tuck. I also have a sway back and am sure this would improve my fitting. Thank you for taking the time to write this up so thoroughly.
4/14/07 4:34 PM
Heatherrique said...
Beautiful jacket! You look maaaarvelous in it!
4/14/07 1:34 PM
yummymummy38 said...
Professionally looking jacket, love the style. Great fit, thanks for the tips.
4/14/07 3:30 AM
Karen8320 said...
Seamingly Simple, I love the work that you do! This has turned out beautifully. Thanks for all of your advice in the review. Great work!
4/14/07 1:49 AM
sewbehind said...
Beautiful jacket. I shall have to remember using a different size for the back and the front. You had wonderful results.
4/14/07 0:00 AM
SandraB said...
Your jacket is really beautiful. Very helpful review.
4/13/07 9:58 PM
gaby said...
I love your jacket! It looks beautiful :)
4/13/07 8:36 PM
hongkongshopper said...
I love this jacket. Thanks for a great review.
4/13/07 8:01 PM
zazzie said...
Wow, this jacket is just perfect ! It is true, that collar shape is very flattering.
4/13/07 7:15 PM
OP Gal said...
Beautiful jacket. The fabric is beautiful as well. Thanks for all the tips and techniques.
4/13/07 2:02 PM
Jane S said...
Bautiful jacket that is figure flattering and face framing. Thanks for the details.
4/13/07 11:34 AM
Levone said...
Great looking jacket and well done review. I definitely think you should make this one up again.
4/13/07 9:36 AM
Frogstitcher said...
Another beautiful jacket. The neckline frames your face and draws the eye up - important detail for petites. Your reviews are inspirational to me and helpful for many. I want to make this one as well, thanks for doing the groundwork and sharing the process.
4/13/07 9:00 AM
Kay Y said...
This is a great review and a wonderful looking jacket - thanks for the links to the tips. I have some unlined jacket ideas so the HK finish tip is very timely.
4/13/07 8:57 AM
tomed said...
Wonderful review - thank you! Your jacket is beautiful and you've inspired me to try it.
4/13/07 8:33 AM
minieme said...
Very helpful review, nice jacket!
4/13/07 7:58 AM
CarolynGM said...
I love the fit you achieved by using the two sizes. This jacket has great lines. Thanks for the link to the PP techniques -- that is extremely useful information.
4/13/07 5:38 AM
Ann Smith said...
Fabulous jacket. And yes, love the moose buttons.
4/13/07 2:55 AM
Sigrid. said...
Beautiful jacket, love the fabric. Looks very good on you.
4/13/07 2:38 AM
Vonnevo said...
Fabulous jacket, fabric and colour !!!!!
4/13/07 2:04 AM
Nancywin said...
Beautiful Jacket SS. I love your fabric choice. Thanks sfor the link to the PP tip. I've used this in heavier weight jackets with wool - I like the idea of using a linen for summer fabric.
4/13/07 1:48 AM
Sew4Fun said...
Gorgeous jacket! I'm so jealous. :) I have another month to wait before I have this BWOF in my hands. I've been waiting ever since I saw this jacket to sew it. Yours is lovely and it makes me want to sew this pattern even more. Thanks for the review.
4/12/07 11:59 PM
Riordan said...
Beautiful jacket--looks lovely on you! Very helpful information!
4/12/07 11:49 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Class Details

Online Class
All About Linings
All About Linings

Class Details

Vogue Patterns 1949

photo
by: yummymummy...

Review
McCall's 5963

photo
by: ChrisS

Review
Christine Jonson Straight Shirt

Christine Jonson Straight Shirt

More Info
Sew Liberated Myla Tank Pattern

Sew Liberated Myla Tank Pattern

More Info