SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 02-2007-118 (jacket)

5 more reviews
Viewed 1295 times 
Reviewed by:Seamingly Simple
photo

 
 
About Seamingly Simplestarstarstarstar
AB CANADA
Member since: 12/23/03
Reviews written: 134
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 61 people
patterns reviewed: 101
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/12/07 11:42 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 26 people   
See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
31 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Seamingly Simple said...
There; photos are fixed now. Yahoo is making its users move all their photos to Flickr, resulting in broken links. One by one, I'm repairing each review.
9/17/07 8:26 AM
creative1 said...
Seamingly Simple, will you please provide with a new link to see your jacket? Your current link says, 'sewing_engineer has moved their photos to Flickr. From now on you'll need to go to Flickr to view their photos.. ' Thank you!
8/25/07 0:40 AM
KiwiWendy said...
I found it in a newsagents, can't wait to try this pattern
4/19/07 1:47 AM
KiwiWendy said...
I found it in a newsagents, can't wait to try this pattern
4/19/07 1:47 AM
Leslie in NZ said...
Thanks for that Seamingly Simple. Much Appreciated.
4/16/07 3:32 AM
Seamingly Simple said...
Oops! Duplicate post.
4/15/07 8:49 AM
Seamingly Simple said...
Leslie in NZ, the sway back adjustment is essentially a horizontal dart that removes some of the length at the centre back and nothing at the side seams. It is explained in this discussion, which includes a link to a site that has a diagram. My dart was a wedge 3/8" wide at the centre back (folded size 3/16") tapering to zero at the side seam. HTH.
4/15/07 8:40 AM
KiwiWendy said...
I have to rush out & buy this issue - here's hoping I can find it. I love the design lines!
4/14/07 9:49 PM
Leslie in NZ said...
This is a beautiful jacket. I am particularly interested in how you fit the back. You did a wonderful job and I will try these methods to see if they will work for me. I didn't understand your 4th point "(4) I made a wedge tuck at the centre back waistline to bring it in 3/8" at the small of my back and then added half of this amount back at the hemline". Please explain how you did the tuck. I also have a sway back and am sure this would improve my fitting. Thank you for taking the time to write this up so thoroughly.
4/14/07 4:34 PM
Heatherrique said...
Beautiful jacket! You look maaaarvelous in it!
4/14/07 1:34 PM
yummymummy38 said...
Professionally looking jacket, love the style. Great fit, thanks for the tips.
4/14/07 3:30 AM
Karen8320 said...
Seamingly Simple, I love the work that you do! This has turned out beautifully. Thanks for all of your advice in the review. Great work!
4/14/07 1:49 AM
sewbehind said...
Beautiful jacket. I shall have to remember using a different size for the back and the front. You had wonderful results.
4/14/07 0:00 AM
SandraB said...
Your jacket is really beautiful. Very helpful review.
4/13/07 9:58 PM
gaby said...
I love your jacket! It looks beautiful :)
4/13/07 8:36 PM
hongkongshopper said...
I love this jacket. Thanks for a great review.
4/13/07 8:01 PM
zazzie said...
Wow, this jacket is just perfect ! It is true, that collar shape is very flattering.
4/13/07 7:15 PM
OP Gal said...
Beautiful jacket. The fabric is beautiful as well. Thanks for all the tips and techniques.
4/13/07 2:02 PM
Jane S said...
Bautiful jacket that is figure flattering and face framing. Thanks for the details.
4/13/07 11:34 AM
Levone said...
Great looking jacket and well done review. I definitely think you should make this one up again.
4/13/07 9:36 AM
Frogstitcher said...
Another beautiful jacket. The neckline frames your face and draws the eye up - important detail for petites. Your reviews are inspirational to me and helpful for many. I want to make this one as well, thanks for doing the groundwork and sharing the process.
4/13/07 9:00 AM
Kay Y said...
This is a great review and a wonderful looking jacket - thanks for the links to the tips. I have some unlined jacket ideas so the HK finish tip is very timely.
4/13/07 8:57 AM
tomed said...
Wonderful review - thank you! Your jacket is beautiful and you've inspired me to try it.
4/13/07 8:33 AM
minieme said...
Very helpful review, nice jacket!
4/13/07 7:58 AM
CarolynGM said...
I love the fit you achieved by using the two sizes. This jacket has great lines. Thanks for the link to the PP techniques -- that is extremely useful information.
4/13/07 5:38 AM
Ann Smith said...
Fabulous jacket. And yes, love the moose buttons.
4/13/07 2:55 AM
Sigrid. said...
Beautiful jacket, love the fabric. Looks very good on you.
4/13/07 2:38 AM
Vonnevo said...
Fabulous jacket, fabric and colour !!!!!
4/13/07 2:04 AM
Nancywin said...
Beautiful Jacket SS. I love your fabric choice. Thanks sfor the link to the PP tip. I've used this in heavier weight jackets with wool - I like the idea of using a linen for summer fabric.
4/13/07 1:48 AM
Sew4Fun said...
Gorgeous jacket! I'm so jealous. :) I have another month to wait before I have this BWOF in my hands. I've been waiting ever since I saw this jacket to sew it. Yours is lovely and it makes me want to sew this pattern even more. Thanks for the review.
4/12/07 11:59 PM
Riordan said...
Beautiful jacket--looks lovely on you! Very helpful information!
4/12/07 11:49 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Class Details

Online Class
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Class Details

PerfectFuse Light Black

PerfectFuse Light Black

More Info
Jamie Christina Mission Maxi Paper Pattern

Jamie Christina Mission Maxi Paper Pattern

More Info