SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Islander Sewing Systems> 202 (Classic Sport Shirt)

4 more reviews
Viewed 572 times 
Reviewed by:pinemeadows
photo

 
 
About pinemeadows
TX USA
Member since: 10/30/03
Reviews written: 5
Sewing skills:Intermediate
patterns reviewed: 3
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/13/07 11:59 AM
Last Updated:4/13/07 11:59 AM
Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 4 people   
See other patterns in this category: Mens - Shirts    
Available for sale on PR: $19.95 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $19.95 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
7 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Nancywin said...
Thanks for the reveiw. I've never tried Islander. It's disappointing to put all your time and effort (let alone the cost of fabric and pattern) into something when it doesn't work out.
4/13/07 1:53 PM
Sherril Miller said...
Margaret's illness made this company change, and not in a good way. Sorry you had a bad experience.
4/13/07 10:31 PM
Elaray said...
Thanks for such a candid review. I've been very curious about Islander Sewing Systems. After reading your informative review, I'll do much more research before spending my money on any Islander books or DVDs.
4/14/07 6:06 AM
bsewhappy said...
I took the Islander certification class a few years ago and I have to disagree with this review. Every step of the directions has industrial shortcut tips including which side of the fabric should go against the feed dogs and why. The Islander video's are for rent or purchase on many sites and may make the shortcuts clearer. The collar can inserted without pinning and without hand stitching. Actually the response to the pattern has been very positive. Just another thought is that quilters cotton is not meant for shirts so it may have been harder to work with. The shirts turn out so nice that I have 2 cut out right now for gifts and plan on two more after that. Janet Pray, the owner of Islander Sewing Systems encourages anyone who is having trouble or has questions to call or email her and she will be happy to help.
4/16/07 4:26 PM
AnneM said...
This is the 2nd review I've read that the pattern instructions aren't what one would expect. Probably the pattern in conjunction with the videos would be fine, but not everyone owns the videos.
4/23/07 7:28 PM
said...
I have taken the critique of this pattern to heart. It is the first negative I have heard of this pattern. I am glad that I have read this review.
6/12/07 10:29 PM
Lisa L. said...
I appreciate everyone's comments. I am a casual hobbyist sewer, so please read this with that grain of salt. I am not an expert sewer. As for myself, certainly I understand that bsewhappy, who paid for a certification class in the Islander sewing system, can assert the directions are clear. However, for someone who has not paid up for certification, the directions are not clear. The directions should be re-written by someone who is *not* certified in the system or has paid $300+ for the DVD system. I have purchased the pattern ($20 + $10 shipping), 1 book and 1 DVD ($99) and believe me, it is still confusing. The collar system is good but I struggled with the impenetrable directions; it took me 5 attempts to construct it correctly. (But it was, finally, beautiful, with no pins and no hand stitching!) Woe is me though, as I tried to make sense out of directions such as : "Right sides together, match the right side of Collar Stand Facing to the Wrong Side of Shirt Neck Edge." Truthfully, I was on the edge of tears. (A "Tip" in the instructions reads, "for further information, see the video, Shirts, Etc (btw it costs $71.95 or Industrial Shortcuts from the Islander Sewing Systems!). It would be helpful if the referential names of each pattern piece were consistent from "cutting layout" to the end. I would encourage Islander to put the interest of its customers first, and demonstrate some of the more intricate techniques on free YouTube videos, instead of encouraging customers to purchase another DVD to find their way out of the maze. If you are an advanced sewer I suspect you will get a lot out of this pattern, and it can be adjusted easily for a more custom fit.
6/8/11 4:38 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Register

Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Register

Kwik Sew 3343

photo
by: FreyaStark

Review
brerrabbit.com 0000

photo
by: MayenDesig...

Review
Jeans for Real People DVD Set

Jeans for Real People DVD Set

Buy Now
You Sew Girl 150mm Purse Frame Purse Pattern

You Sew Girl 150mm Purse Frame Purse Pattern

Buy Now