Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Islander Sewing Systems: 202 (Classic Sport Shirt) thumbsup - Type:Mens - Shirts    printable version
Viewed 570 times 4 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 4 people   
Reviewed by:pinemeadows
photo
About pinemeadows
TX USA
Member since: 10/30/03
Reviews written: 5
Sewing skills:Intermediate
patterns reviewed: 3
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/13/07 11:59 AM
Last Updated:4/13/07 11:59 AM
See other patterns in this category: Mens - Shirts    
Available for sale on PR: $19.95 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $19.95     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
7 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Nancywin said...
Thanks for the reveiw. I've never tried Islander. It's disappointing to put all your time and effort (let alone the cost of fabric and pattern) into something when it doesn't work out.
4/13/07 1:53 PM
Sherril Miller said...
Margaret's illness made this company change, and not in a good way. Sorry you had a bad experience.
4/13/07 10:31 PM
Elaray said...
Thanks for such a candid review. I've been very curious about Islander Sewing Systems. After reading your informative review, I'll do much more research before spending my money on any Islander books or DVDs.
4/14/07 6:06 AM
bsewhappy said...
I took the Islander certification class a few years ago and I have to disagree with this review. Every step of the directions has industrial shortcut tips including which side of the fabric should go against the feed dogs and why. The Islander video's are for rent or purchase on many sites and may make the shortcuts clearer. The collar can inserted without pinning and without hand stitching. Actually the response to the pattern has been very positive. Just another thought is that quilters cotton is not meant for shirts so it may have been harder to work with. The shirts turn out so nice that I have 2 cut out right now for gifts and plan on two more after that. Janet Pray, the owner of Islander Sewing Systems encourages anyone who is having trouble or has questions to call or email her and she will be happy to help.
4/16/07 4:26 PM
AnneM said...
This is the 2nd review I've read that the pattern instructions aren't what one would expect. Probably the pattern in conjunction with the videos would be fine, but not everyone owns the videos.
4/23/07 7:28 PM
said...
I have taken the critique of this pattern to heart. It is the first negative I have heard of this pattern. I am glad that I have read this review.
6/12/07 10:29 PM
Lisa L. said...
I appreciate everyone's comments. I am a casual hobbyist sewer, so please read this with that grain of salt. I am not an expert sewer. As for myself, certainly I understand that bsewhappy, who paid for a certification class in the Islander sewing system, can assert the directions are clear. However, for someone who has not paid up for certification, the directions are not clear. The directions should be re-written by someone who is *not* certified in the system or has paid $300+ for the DVD system. I have purchased the pattern ($20 + $10 shipping), 1 book and 1 DVD ($99) and believe me, it is still confusing. The collar system is good but I struggled with the impenetrable directions; it took me 5 attempts to construct it correctly. (But it was, finally, beautiful, with no pins and no hand stitching!) Woe is me though, as I tried to make sense out of directions such as : "Right sides together, match the right side of Collar Stand Facing to the Wrong Side of Shirt Neck Edge." Truthfully, I was on the edge of tears. (A "Tip" in the instructions reads, "for further information, see the video, Shirts, Etc (btw it costs $71.95 or Industrial Shortcuts from the Islander Sewing Systems!). It would be helpful if the referential names of each pattern piece were consistent from "cutting layout" to the end. I would encourage Islander to put the interest of its customers first, and demonstrate some of the more intricate techniques on free YouTube videos, instead of encouraging customers to purchase another DVD to find their way out of the maze. If you are an advanced sewer I suspect you will get a lot out of this pattern, and it can be adjusted easily for a more custom fit.
6/8/11 4:38 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Online Sewing Classes
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Butterick 5756 Misses Skirt
photo
Review by mimi g. on 3/9/12
Read Review

McCalls 6142 Pattern ( Size )
McCalls 6142 Pattern ( Size  )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1649 Pattern ( Size ONE )
Simplicity 1649 Pattern ( Size ONE )

Details
Price: $2.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 1812
photo
Review by Sblk211 on 8/10/08
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Annabelle Hat Digital Pattern ( Size 0-10 years )
Peek-A Boo Annabelle Hat Digital Pattern ( Size 0-10 years )

Details
Price: $4.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Sunday Brunch Jacket + A-Line Skirt Digital Pattern ( Size 6m-3T )
Oliver + S Sunday Brunch Jacket + A-Line Skirt Digital Pattern ( Size 6m-3T )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Learn to Sew a Shirt or Blouse DVD
Learn to Sew a Shirt or Blouse DVD

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl Best Dress Pattern
You Sew Girl Best Dress Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us