SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 5571 (Womens' shirt)

2 more reviews
Viewed 888 times 
Reviewed by:Mary Stiefer
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Mary Stieferstarstarstarstar
CO USA
Member since: 2/17/03
Reviews written: 169
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 36 people
patterns reviewed: 131
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/13/07 2:00 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized 
Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 12 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
19 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Jennifer shaw said...
Mary you did a great job on the newest addition to the collection. The turquoise hawaiian print looks terrific on you!
4/13/07 2:07 PM
jess12 said...
Your shirt looks great and has a nice fit!
4/13/07 3:33 PM
jeanbluecat said...
Don't you just love a T'n'T pattern. Your shirt looks great on you, very summery.
4/13/07 3:53 PM
Sherril Miller said...
Mary, I love this shirt. I bet it would work for me too. BTW, how did you do the FBA without a dart? How did you eliminate it?
4/13/07 5:32 PM
CarolynGM said...
Great print. This looks like a very nice, classic pattern.
4/13/07 6:22 PM
christine A said...
Very nice Mary.
4/13/07 8:17 PM
BJ1400 said...
Nice shirt. Don't ya love when you find $2.00 fabric at WalMart that turns out nice!
4/13/07 10:36 PM
SimsSews said...
Very helpful link, interesting website. Also, I enjoyed reading about your "melt down", I too frequent melt down mode (fairly frequently) and am glad to hear that even an accomplished sewer, such as yourself, have an occasional episode. Very pretty top and wonderful review, thanks.
4/14/07 1:49 AM
SewVeryTall said...
Love the turquoise print on you Mary. It's nice to see someone else finding woven poly/cotton...great fabric. Smart fix on the facing. I'm glad to see you back...hadn't seen you post for awhile...I guess that's cuz you've been sewing! :)
4/14/07 7:08 AM
Jane S said...
What a nice-fitting and cool looking summer blouse. Definitely a TNT pattern.
4/14/07 8:17 AM
carolynw said...
Looks very nice - great summer top.
4/14/07 9:39 AM
Rosie who use to be Rose said...
lovely blouse! I'm with Sherril, how did you do the full bust adjustment without a dart?
4/14/07 10:07 AM
Mary Stiefer said...
Just to let you know. I did a normal FBA including the dart. The dart was very small, so I filled the tracing in with some additional paper, trued the side seam and then the hem. It worked for me but, as I told Sherrill in a PM, it may not work for everyone. Hope this helps Rosie.
4/14/07 10:15 AM
OP Gal said...
I think yours looks better than the pattern envelope, too. Great review.
4/14/07 10:38 AM
Heatherrique said...
Gorgeous top and style! Very nice and flattering fit, Mary!
4/14/07 1:29 PM
Sewingmi said...
I enjoyed your review. I love hearing about how people fixed their mistakes. It really helps me out! Your top turned out really nice and the fabric is wonderful!
4/14/07 1:48 PM
Sherril Miller said...
Mary, I think it would work to keep the hem even if you rotate your resulting dart into the shoulder tuck. It would make the tuck bigger, but then you'd have the extra fabric over the bust and an even hemline.
4/14/07 2:07 PM
frame said...
Your shirt looks great. Re: the pivot/slide - welcome to the dark side. ;D
4/14/07 3:09 PM
AnneM said...
No question - your version works better. I'm gernerally a pivot & slide fan, w/ a few exceptions, myself. Your top is great, and think it is a nice style for you.
4/23/07 7:26 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Register

Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Register

Vogue Patterns 8775

photo
by: lilikats

Review
ZIPPERS - A downloadable Book by Shannon Gifford

ZIPPERS - A downloadable Book by Shannon Gifford

Buy Now
Islander Sewing Systems Three Pattern Collection Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Three Pattern Collection Pattern

Buy Now