Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Simplicity: 4076 (Tops) thumbsup - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 1196 times 205 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 13 people   
Reviewed by:Nancywin
photo
Friend of PR
About Nancywinstarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 7/25/06
Reviews written: 266
Favored by: 121 people
patterns reviewed: 223
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review

Best Patterns of 2008
Hall of Fame 2009
Posted on:4/13/07 8:53 PM


See other patterns in this category: Vests    Tops    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Sewn Square One
Patterns for Your Style.
Web site
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
19 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Schnauzer said...
Very pretty top Nancy and lovely work as always!
4/13/07 8:57 PM
frame said...
Cute top, Nancy. Did you permanently stabilize the neckline with anything before sewing on the band? or Is the band interfaced to keep it from stretching out? Hope you don't mind my asking.
4/13/07 9:19 PM
Nancywin said...
The band is double layered, so it did not need interfacing. I did stabilize the shoulder seams with bias tape. The seam allowance is stitched close to the band on the shirt, so that will stabilize it as well.
4/13/07 9:28 PM
poplin said...
Thanks for the helpful review, particularly the conclusion. I was hoping to pick up this pattern at Hancock's today but it was all gone!!! Bummed, bummed, bummed! BTW, great top. I also saw this top at Nordstrom Rack for $9.97 but the scoop neckline is waaaayyyy too low and it was practically off the shoulders. (No wonder the price!) I'd rather sew it myself.
4/13/07 9:48 PM
Nancywin said...

4/13/07 9:58 PM
ribbit2jen said...
I think this is one of the patterns I picked up today for $0.99! I love yours!!!
4/13/07 10:26 PM
Gsd said...
I have had this pattern in my stash waiting to be tried forever. I really eed to get it out. Yours looks great.
4/14/07 1:07 AM
Danvillegirl said...
I like the design running vertically! Cute top.
4/14/07 7:07 AM
CarolynGM said...
If I didn't already have this pattern, your review would make me run out and buy it! Well done!
4/14/07 7:25 AM
cindy-lou said...
Nancy, great great great top! I loved reading how you did your bust adjustments-- mine are similar. I also LOVE the vertical striping you have going on-- I think it beats out horizontal.
4/14/07 8:06 AM
Beve said...
This is a very pretty top. It's so becoming to you.You do such nice work!
4/14/07 8:43 AM
carolynw said...
Looks beautiful Nancy - I have this pattern and am not sure why I haven't got to it yet. Think maybe it's because we are not having any kind of Spring here - it's been cold and miserable - many still wearing winter coats! Not inspired to make anything resembling summer wear yet. Thanks for the review.
4/14/07 9:36 AM
OP Gal said...
Cute top. I can't believe they have you gather the top onto the pattern. How weird.
4/14/07 10:34 AM
Sewingmi said...
That top looks terrific! What a good fit and cute fabric! I'm inspired!
4/14/07 1:55 PM
RobynB said...
Cute top Nancy. I've made this a couple of times now and either i ignored the instructions or didn't see the bit about sewing through the pattern piece - I don't remember that instruction. To make it easier next time, just measure the distance between the notches and draw up your gathering threads to match.
4/14/07 5:56 PM
pamici said...
Super cute -- and I *love* Tobey! My cats think they have to pre-approve all sewing projects by napping on them during construction.
4/14/07 6:57 PM
hongkongshopper said...
Very pretty - I like the way the stripes have fallen.
4/14/07 8:16 PM
AnneM said...
You got that fit down well, IMO. Neat effect with the striped fabric; I like it.
4/23/07 7:23 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Online Sewing Classes
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

McCall's M5813 Easy Pants
photo
Review by moonchild6... on 4/25/09
Read Review

Sewing Workshop Urban T-Shirt & Pants Pattern
Sewing Workshop Urban T-Shirt & Pants Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

SewBaby The Sleeve Saver Bib Pattern
SewBaby The Sleeve Saver Bib Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Blank Slate Basic Blazer Digital Pattern
Blank Slate Basic Blazer Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Pattern Runway Scalloped Hem Shorts Digital Pattern
Pattern Runway Scalloped Hem Shorts Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $9.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

No Pattern Used Self Drafted
photo
Review by CharityAK on 11/16/07
Read Review

Simplicity 4070 Pattern ( Size 12-14-16-18-20 )
Simplicity 4070 Pattern ( Size 12-14-16-18-20 )

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 1183 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20 )
Vogue 1183 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20 )

Details
Price: $30.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us