SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 4076 (Tops)

206 more reviews
Viewed 1199 times 
Reviewed by:Nancywin
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Nancywinstarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 7/25/06
Reviews written: 273
Favored by: 121 people
patterns reviewed: 229
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review

Best Patterns of 2008
Hall of Fame 2009
Posted on:4/13/07 8:53 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 13 people   
See other patterns in this category: Vests    Tops    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns


Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
19 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Schnauzer said...
Very pretty top Nancy and lovely work as always!
4/13/07 8:57 PM
frame said...
Cute top, Nancy. Did you permanently stabilize the neckline with anything before sewing on the band? or Is the band interfaced to keep it from stretching out? Hope you don't mind my asking.
4/13/07 9:19 PM
Nancywin said...
The band is double layered, so it did not need interfacing. I did stabilize the shoulder seams with bias tape. The seam allowance is stitched close to the band on the shirt, so that will stabilize it as well.
4/13/07 9:28 PM
poplin said...
Thanks for the helpful review, particularly the conclusion. I was hoping to pick up this pattern at Hancock's today but it was all gone!!! Bummed, bummed, bummed! BTW, great top. I also saw this top at Nordstrom Rack for $9.97 but the scoop neckline is waaaayyyy too low and it was practically off the shoulders. (No wonder the price!) I'd rather sew it myself.
4/13/07 9:48 PM
Nancywin said...

4/13/07 9:58 PM
ribbit2jen said...
I think this is one of the patterns I picked up today for $0.99! I love yours!!!
4/13/07 10:26 PM
Gsd said...
I have had this pattern in my stash waiting to be tried forever. I really eed to get it out. Yours looks great.
4/14/07 1:07 AM
Danvillegirl said...
I like the design running vertically! Cute top.
4/14/07 7:07 AM
CarolynGM said...
If I didn't already have this pattern, your review would make me run out and buy it! Well done!
4/14/07 7:25 AM
cindy-lou said...
Nancy, great great great top! I loved reading how you did your bust adjustments-- mine are similar. I also LOVE the vertical striping you have going on-- I think it beats out horizontal.
4/14/07 8:06 AM
Beve said...
This is a very pretty top. It's so becoming to you.You do such nice work!
4/14/07 8:43 AM
carolynw said...
Looks beautiful Nancy - I have this pattern and am not sure why I haven't got to it yet. Think maybe it's because we are not having any kind of Spring here - it's been cold and miserable - many still wearing winter coats! Not inspired to make anything resembling summer wear yet. Thanks for the review.
4/14/07 9:36 AM
OP Gal said...
Cute top. I can't believe they have you gather the top onto the pattern. How weird.
4/14/07 10:34 AM
Sewingmi said...
That top looks terrific! What a good fit and cute fabric! I'm inspired!
4/14/07 1:55 PM
RobynB said...
Cute top Nancy. I've made this a couple of times now and either i ignored the instructions or didn't see the bit about sewing through the pattern piece - I don't remember that instruction. To make it easier next time, just measure the distance between the notches and draw up your gathering threads to match.
4/14/07 5:56 PM
pamici said...
Super cute -- and I *love* Tobey! My cats think they have to pre-approve all sewing projects by napping on them during construction.
4/14/07 6:57 PM
hongkongshopper said...
Very pretty - I like the way the stripes have fallen.
4/14/07 8:16 PM
AnneM said...
You got that fit down well, IMO. Neat effect with the striped fabric; I like it.
4/23/07 7:23 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Register

Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Register

BurdaStyle Magazine 12-2012-144

photo
by: AllNewtoMe

Review
SewBaby More Blankie Buddies pattern Pattern

SewBaby More Blankie Buddies pattern Pattern

Buy Now
Sewing Workshop Eureka Top & Skirt

Sewing Workshop Eureka Top & Skirt

Buy Now