Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Simplicity: 3826 (Special Occason Dress) - Type:Formalwear    printable version
Viewed 1144 times
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 20 people   
Reviewed by:Elaray
photo
About Elaraystarstarstar
PA USA
Member since: 4/20/05
Reviews written: 160
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 22 people
patterns reviewed: 121
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/13/07 9:08 PM
Last Updated:4/13/07 10:09 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
33 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Lori V said...
Your daughter looks beautiful in her dress. And speaking of the dress, it is gorgeous, the fit is perfect. Thanks for the thorough review.
4/13/07 9:15 PM
Rhonda in Montreal said...
Gosh Elaray, what a beautiful daughter! Her dress is so special--lots of couture details AND stitched with love, too.
4/13/07 9:18 PM
Nancywin said...
Beautiful dres! All the extra effort you went to really paid off. The hand sewing and couture details will truly make this a one-of-a-kind. fantastic!
4/13/07 9:26 PM
narcissaqtpie said...
You gave me smiles!! You have a beautiful daughter and I can tell she loves that dress! I hope to sew my DD's prom dress one day. Thanks for the detailed review.
4/13/07 9:40 PM
Vonnevo said...
Beautiful dress, beautiful daughter ! ! Thanks for sharing this special dress and occasion with us :))
4/13/07 9:41 PM
didda said...
very nice! i love sewing for special occasions.
4/13/07 10:05 PM
SandraB said...
What a lovely dress and your daughter so pretty. A true labour of love.
4/13/07 10:10 PM
Boo97 said...
Lovely!!!
4/13/07 10:17 PM
colormefun said...
Aww! Your daughter looks so cute and happy in her dress! How nice to have a mom to sew you stuff!
4/13/07 10:21 PM
cmarie12 said...
I know what a labor of love this must have been for you since I have done the same! Beautiful dress. Hope your daughter enjoyed her night.
4/13/07 10:49 PM
KimPa said...
Thank you for such a thoughtful and informative review. All your hard work was worth it as evidenced by your DD's smile!
4/13/07 10:54 PM
Levone said...
Beautiful dress and your daugther looks lovely in it. Great review of the process as well
4/14/07 0:02 AM
Karen8320 said...
Elaray, your daughter looks absolutely gorgeous in this dress! You can tell she is thrilled to be wearing it. You have done a superb job with this. I can't agree more with you about making a muslin and hand basting. Fantastic work!
4/14/07 1:33 AM
HenriettenDK said...
Your daughter is lucky - great dress, great mom!
4/14/07 4:04 AM
Karla Kizer said...
Great job, Elaray. It looks wonderful on her. I know what you mean about labor-intensive; I told my DD that she was going to have to get married in that prom dress - and it was RED.
4/14/07 6:41 AM
LisaAnn said...
You did a great job! The dress is beautiful and looks great on your daughter.
4/14/07 8:39 AM
Gold said...
Your hard work payed off. The dress is beautiful.
4/14/07 9:01 AM
Judy Wentz said...
You did a wonderful job. Your daughter looks beautiful.
4/14/07 9:17 AM
Seamingly Simple said...
Wow! This dress looks great and your daughter is truly beaming. I wanted to see the line drawing fro this dress, so I looked it up: Click Here to see it. Yours looks just like the model's.
4/14/07 9:28 AM
carolynw said...
Delightful in every way - your workmanship is incredible and shows this to be a true work of love. Your daughter looks so lovely and let's not forget the gentleman - handsome as can be!! Thanks for sharing this with us.
4/14/07 9:33 AM
OP Gal said...
What a beautiful dress! Your sewing techniques are impressive. I'm with you, I've learned to love (well, okay, like) hand basting after watching Susan Khalje. Thanks for sharing all the details and the picture of your lovely daughter.
4/14/07 9:51 AM
Soliel said...
How lovely and what a loving gift!!!
4/14/07 11:10 AM
MamaSewing said...
oops, had to delete double post!
4/14/07 11:22 AM
MamaSewing said...
You've done a great job. I will remember your praise of muslins-I don't usually want to take the extra time!
4/14/07 11:24 AM
Rhoda K said...
She looks stunning - a great job!
4/14/07 11:57 AM
Sewnla said...
Oh how beautiful your daughter looks. She will always remember that you made her special dress. What a great job you did.
4/14/07 11:58 AM
Marji said...
That's lovely! Thank you for letting us share your process.
4/14/07 12:09 PM
Sewingmi said...
What a beautiful dress, and an excellent review.
4/14/07 1:59 PM
Erica B. said...
What a beautiful dress and you can tell by the smile on her face that she is quite pleased... that's what matters most!
4/14/07 4:36 PM
hongkongshopper said...
Beautiful!
4/14/07 8:10 PM
PegL said...
Beautiful dress and DD! Some of my fondest sewing memories involve making prom/dance dresses for my DD. Enjoy it while you can!
4/15/07 2:57 PM
crystalwoods said...
All your tender loving care paid off - that is one beautiful dress! Thanks for the great reveiw and letting us in on all the extras you did to make it turn out so well! Did you make the wrap and the purse too - they match beautifully.
4/16/07 10:03 PM
AnneM said...
Congratulations! Very nice dress, and nice style, and lovely daughter. Great dress style IMO.
4/23/07 6:37 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Kwik Sew 3298 Briefs
photo
Review by Judy Kski on 10/21/13
Read Review

Sew Liberated Sunday Picnic Blouse and Dress
Sew Liberated Sunday Picnic Blouse and Dress

Details
Price: $14.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Ann's Cardigan & Tank
Sewing Workshop Ann's Cardigan & Tank

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Pinwheel tunic + slip dress Digital Pattern ( Size 6m-4T )
Oliver + S Pinwheel tunic + slip dress Digital Pattern ( Size 6m-4T )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simple Things Lula Loop Skirt Digital Pattern
Simple Things Lula Loop Skirt Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue Patterns 8462
photo
Review by my horse on 2/6/11
Read Review

New Look 6135 Pattern ( Size NB-S-M-L )
New Look 6135 Pattern ( Size NB-S-M-L )

Details
Price: $4.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6074 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22 )
McCalls 6074 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us