SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 3826 (Special Occason Dress)

Viewed 1146 times 
Reviewed by:Elaray
photo

 
 
About Elaraystarstarstar
PA USA
Member since: 4/20/05
Reviews written: 164
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 23 people
patterns reviewed: 124
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/13/07 9:08 PM
Last Updated:4/13/07 10:09 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 20 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
33 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
AnneM said...
Congratulations! Very nice dress, and nice style, and lovely daughter. Great dress style IMO.
4/23/07 6:37 PM
crystalwoods said...
All your tender loving care paid off - that is one beautiful dress! Thanks for the great reveiw and letting us in on all the extras you did to make it turn out so well! Did you make the wrap and the purse too - they match beautifully.
4/16/07 10:03 PM
PegL said...
Beautiful dress and DD! Some of my fondest sewing memories involve making prom/dance dresses for my DD. Enjoy it while you can!
4/15/07 2:57 PM
hongkongshopper said...
Beautiful!
4/14/07 8:10 PM
Erica B. said...
What a beautiful dress and you can tell by the smile on her face that she is quite pleased... that's what matters most!
4/14/07 4:36 PM
Sewingmi said...
What a beautiful dress, and an excellent review.
4/14/07 1:59 PM
Marji said...
That's lovely! Thank you for letting us share your process.
4/14/07 12:09 PM
Sewnla said...
Oh how beautiful your daughter looks. She will always remember that you made her special dress. What a great job you did.
4/14/07 11:58 AM
Rhoda K said...
She looks stunning - a great job!
4/14/07 11:57 AM
MamaSewing said...
You've done a great job. I will remember your praise of muslins-I don't usually want to take the extra time!
4/14/07 11:24 AM
MamaSewing said...
oops, had to delete double post!
4/14/07 11:22 AM
Soliel said...
How lovely and what a loving gift!!!
4/14/07 11:10 AM
OP Gal said...
What a beautiful dress! Your sewing techniques are impressive. I'm with you, I've learned to love (well, okay, like) hand basting after watching Susan Khalje. Thanks for sharing all the details and the picture of your lovely daughter.
4/14/07 9:51 AM
carolynw said...
Delightful in every way - your workmanship is incredible and shows this to be a true work of love. Your daughter looks so lovely and let's not forget the gentleman - handsome as can be!! Thanks for sharing this with us.
4/14/07 9:33 AM
Seamingly Simple said...
Wow! This dress looks great and your daughter is truly beaming. I wanted to see the line drawing fro this dress, so I looked it up: Click Here to see it. Yours looks just like the model's.
4/14/07 9:28 AM
Judy Wentz said...
You did a wonderful job. Your daughter looks beautiful.
4/14/07 9:17 AM
Gold said...
Your hard work payed off. The dress is beautiful.
4/14/07 9:01 AM
LisaAnn said...
You did a great job! The dress is beautiful and looks great on your daughter.
4/14/07 8:39 AM
Karla Kizer said...
Great job, Elaray. It looks wonderful on her. I know what you mean about labor-intensive; I told my DD that she was going to have to get married in that prom dress - and it was RED.
4/14/07 6:41 AM
HenriettenDK said...
Your daughter is lucky - great dress, great mom!
4/14/07 4:04 AM
Karen8320 said...
Elaray, your daughter looks absolutely gorgeous in this dress! You can tell she is thrilled to be wearing it. You have done a superb job with this. I can't agree more with you about making a muslin and hand basting. Fantastic work!
4/14/07 1:33 AM
Levone said...
Beautiful dress and your daugther looks lovely in it. Great review of the process as well
4/14/07 0:02 AM
KimPa said...
Thank you for such a thoughtful and informative review. All your hard work was worth it as evidenced by your DD's smile!
4/13/07 10:54 PM
cmarie12 said...
I know what a labor of love this must have been for you since I have done the same! Beautiful dress. Hope your daughter enjoyed her night.
4/13/07 10:49 PM
colormefun said...
Aww! Your daughter looks so cute and happy in her dress! How nice to have a mom to sew you stuff!
4/13/07 10:21 PM
Boo97 said...
Lovely!!!
4/13/07 10:17 PM
SandraB said...
What a lovely dress and your daughter so pretty. A true labour of love.
4/13/07 10:10 PM
didda said...
very nice! i love sewing for special occasions.
4/13/07 10:05 PM
Vonnevo said...
Beautiful dress, beautiful daughter ! ! Thanks for sharing this special dress and occasion with us :))
4/13/07 9:41 PM
narcissaqtpie said...
You gave me smiles!! You have a beautiful daughter and I can tell she loves that dress! I hope to sew my DD's prom dress one day. Thanks for the detailed review.
4/13/07 9:40 PM
Nancywin said...
Beautiful dres! All the extra effort you went to really paid off. The hand sewing and couture details will truly make this a one-of-a-kind. fantastic!
4/13/07 9:26 PM
Rhonda in Montreal said...
Gosh Elaray, what a beautiful daughter! Her dress is so special--lots of couture details AND stitched with love, too.
4/13/07 9:18 PM
Lori V said...
Your daughter looks beautiful in her dress. And speaking of the dress, it is gorgeous, the fit is perfect. Thanks for the thorough review.
4/13/07 9:15 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Register

Leather 101
Leather 101

Register

Sewing Workshop Tosca Dress

Sewing Workshop Tosca Dress

Buy Now
Fanny Pack or Purse

Fanny Pack or Purse

Buy Now
Butterick 4443

photo
by: Sixtiesgir...

Review

Pattern