SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 3956 (6 made easy)

23 more reviews
Viewed 1253 times 
Reviewed by:colormefun
photo

 
 
About colormefunstar
FL USA
Member since: 11/30/06
Reviews written: 38
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 7 people
patterns reviewed: 38
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/13/07 10:51 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 5 people   
See other patterns in this category: Vests    Tops    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
19 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
pinkli said...
ooh, I like the change in design. looks good - don't get the pregnancy vibe though? I reckon you should wear it with pride: you look lovely
4/24/08 7:51 AM
KrystalL said...
LOL at the teens! They can be very opinionated. I like your version of the top. The fabric is unusual and features the style well.
9/18/07 4:03 PM
AnneM said...
Cute, current top. The Jo-Ann workers are told to ask what you are making; I've never figured out why.
4/23/07 6:35 PM
SewTwin said...
Cute top.I know about the Joanne's salesclerks asking what you are making.It is fakey, but they are required to do that.It is a sales tactic, but more tackey than showing interest.Really just wastes my time, I always say I don't know;I'm in a hurry.They don't ask after that.I also have this print, but it is a strange feel.
4/15/07 11:34 PM
colormefun said...
haha! just googled vicki pollard from little britain! LOL!!!! for the american and curious: http://www.littlebritain.tv/characters_vicky.htm
4/15/07 11:09 PM
Puddin Pop said...
I made a typo. Should read looks great! Sorry.
4/14/07 6:48 PM
Puddin Pop said...
What is the deal with these patterns? I think the top is very pretty and looks great?
4/14/07 6:47 PM
Elemenopeo said...
Funny review - your top looks great!
4/14/07 3:52 PM
Sewingmi said...
Oh, you gave me a good laugh! I enjoyed your review, and your top is really cute
4/14/07 2:11 PM
khurtdvm said...
That turned out really nice! I'd be proud of it.
4/14/07 11:14 AM
Soliel said...
What do they know? See thru tops are HOT...when you wear something underneath like a cami or a colored bra. What do they know?
4/14/07 11:07 AM
colormefun said...
good advice on cutting from the finished garment measurements! and, yeah... i'll have to read up on how to do a FBA. All your comments about the highschoolers cracked me up! Yeah, I wasn't too upset about it all it's just that it was such a buzzkill! Here I was, imagining exactly what pattern i was going to make from it and they had the nerve to be so rude! And I've never watched Little Britain, although Vicki Pollard sounds familiar.... i'll google it. Anyway, thanks for the comments! I'll wear my top with pride!
4/14/07 10:23 AM
cindy-lou said...
VERY cute top! I have this pattern cut out too, ready to go. I bet you would do well to cut a size 12 (or maybe 10, depending on your measurements??) and do a full bust alteration (FBA)-- anyone with over a B cup really needs to do that. A recent Threads had a 2-pager on a quick-and-easy FBA, and the Palmer/Pletsch book 'Fit For Real People' goes into lots of detail. It adds a step even before cutting out, but saves you tons of time in the fitting stages. Beautiful Work!
4/14/07 8:12 AM
Sherril Miller said...
I think the wider band takes away the pg look. I wouldn't let a high schooler bug me, have you seen the way they dress?
4/14/07 7:38 AM
LauraM62 said...
I think the top came out very cute! As far as the sizing, I've learned to look for the 'finished garment measurements' to determine what size I'm going to make.
4/14/07 6:37 AM
Helen near Sydney said...
Have you ever watched Little Britain? Vicki Pollard?!
4/14/07 5:49 AM
Nancywin said...
the fabric is really pretty and it looks like you did a nice job on the construction. Maybe next time try a softer lining. I am also still forcing myself to learn to try on, try on, try on through each step of the process. I just want to be able to make it and wear it! And believe me, if your Joanns is anything like ours - the girls don't know anything
4/14/07 1:25 AM
Mary Stiefer said...
Sorry you weren't too impressed with this pattern. And, as far as high school girls, take it with a grain of salt (as my mother used to say). It's not worth your energy to get angry at them - save the energy and sew, sew, sew girl. I think this top looks cute but I understand about not being happy with the turnout. If you aren't happy with it you won't wear it as much.
4/14/07 0:35 AM
AndreaP said...
Your top looks great, and I love the print, very cute.
4/14/07 0:27 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Create a Jacket Muslin
Create a Jacket Muslin

Class Details

Online Class
Sewing Facings and Developing Facing Patterns
Sewing Facings and Developing Facing Patterns

Class Details

Vogue Patterns 1915

photo
by: ManiMayor

Review
Favorite Things Little Nightie Night Pattern

Favorite Things Little Nightie Night Pattern

More Info
Sew Chic Cloche Hat Pattern (ln101)

Sew Chic Cloche Hat Pattern (ln101)

More Info