SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 3956 (6 made easy)

23 more reviews
Viewed 1250 times 
Reviewed by:colormefun
photo

 
 
About colormefunstar
FL USA
Member since: 11/30/06
Reviews written: 38
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 7 people
patterns reviewed: 38
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/13/07 10:51 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 5 people   
See other patterns in this category: Vests    Tops    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
19 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
AndreaP said...
Your top looks great, and I love the print, very cute.
4/14/07 0:27 AM
Mary Stiefer said...
Sorry you weren't too impressed with this pattern. And, as far as high school girls, take it with a grain of salt (as my mother used to say). It's not worth your energy to get angry at them - save the energy and sew, sew, sew girl. I think this top looks cute but I understand about not being happy with the turnout. If you aren't happy with it you won't wear it as much.
4/14/07 0:35 AM
Nancywin said...
the fabric is really pretty and it looks like you did a nice job on the construction. Maybe next time try a softer lining. I am also still forcing myself to learn to try on, try on, try on through each step of the process. I just want to be able to make it and wear it! And believe me, if your Joanns is anything like ours - the girls don't know anything
4/14/07 1:25 AM
Helen near Sydney said...
Have you ever watched Little Britain? Vicki Pollard?!
4/14/07 5:49 AM
LauraM62 said...
I think the top came out very cute! As far as the sizing, I've learned to look for the 'finished garment measurements' to determine what size I'm going to make.
4/14/07 6:37 AM
Sherril Miller said...
I think the wider band takes away the pg look. I wouldn't let a high schooler bug me, have you seen the way they dress?
4/14/07 7:38 AM
cindy-lou said...
VERY cute top! I have this pattern cut out too, ready to go. I bet you would do well to cut a size 12 (or maybe 10, depending on your measurements??) and do a full bust alteration (FBA)-- anyone with over a B cup really needs to do that. A recent Threads had a 2-pager on a quick-and-easy FBA, and the Palmer/Pletsch book 'Fit For Real People' goes into lots of detail. It adds a step even before cutting out, but saves you tons of time in the fitting stages. Beautiful Work!
4/14/07 8:12 AM
colormefun said...
good advice on cutting from the finished garment measurements! and, yeah... i'll have to read up on how to do a FBA. All your comments about the highschoolers cracked me up! Yeah, I wasn't too upset about it all it's just that it was such a buzzkill! Here I was, imagining exactly what pattern i was going to make from it and they had the nerve to be so rude! And I've never watched Little Britain, although Vicki Pollard sounds familiar.... i'll google it. Anyway, thanks for the comments! I'll wear my top with pride!
4/14/07 10:23 AM
Soliel said...
What do they know? See thru tops are HOT...when you wear something underneath like a cami or a colored bra. What do they know?
4/14/07 11:07 AM
khurtdvm said...
That turned out really nice! I'd be proud of it.
4/14/07 11:14 AM
Sewingmi said...
Oh, you gave me a good laugh! I enjoyed your review, and your top is really cute
4/14/07 2:11 PM
Elemenopeo said...
Funny review - your top looks great!
4/14/07 3:52 PM
Puddin Pop said...
What is the deal with these patterns? I think the top is very pretty and looks great?
4/14/07 6:47 PM
Puddin Pop said...
I made a typo. Should read looks great! Sorry.
4/14/07 6:48 PM
colormefun said...
haha! just googled vicki pollard from little britain! LOL!!!! for the american and curious: http://www.littlebritain.tv/characters_vicky.htm
4/15/07 11:09 PM
SewTwin said...
Cute top.I know about the Joanne's salesclerks asking what you are making.It is fakey, but they are required to do that.It is a sales tactic, but more tackey than showing interest.Really just wastes my time, I always say I don't know;I'm in a hurry.They don't ask after that.I also have this print, but it is a strange feel.
4/15/07 11:34 PM
AnneM said...
Cute, current top. The Jo-Ann workers are told to ask what you are making; I've never figured out why.
4/23/07 6:35 PM
KrystalL said...
LOL at the teens! They can be very opinionated. I like your version of the top. The fabric is unusual and features the style well.
9/18/07 4:03 PM
pinkli said...
ooh, I like the change in design. looks good - don't get the pregnancy vibe though? I reckon you should wear it with pride: you look lovely
4/24/08 7:51 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Register

The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Register

StyleArc Jenny Shirt

photo
by: FreyaStark

Review
Vogue Patterns 8089

photo
by: fauxgetabo...

Review
Favorite Things Little Prairie Girl Pattern

Favorite Things Little Prairie Girl Pattern

Buy Now
Petite Plus 104 Pattern

Petite Plus 104 Pattern

Buy Now