Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Simplicity: 3956 (6 made easy) thumbsup - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 1247 times 22 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 5 people   
Reviewed by:colormefun
photo
About colormefunstar
FL USA
Member since: 11/30/06
Reviews written: 38
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 7 people
patterns reviewed: 38
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/13/07 10:51 PM


See other patterns in this category: Vests    Tops    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
19 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
AndreaP said...
Your top looks great, and I love the print, very cute.
4/14/07 0:27 AM
Mary Stiefer said...
Sorry you weren't too impressed with this pattern. And, as far as high school girls, take it with a grain of salt (as my mother used to say). It's not worth your energy to get angry at them - save the energy and sew, sew, sew girl. I think this top looks cute but I understand about not being happy with the turnout. If you aren't happy with it you won't wear it as much.
4/14/07 0:35 AM
Nancywin said...
the fabric is really pretty and it looks like you did a nice job on the construction. Maybe next time try a softer lining. I am also still forcing myself to learn to try on, try on, try on through each step of the process. I just want to be able to make it and wear it! And believe me, if your Joanns is anything like ours - the girls don't know anything
4/14/07 1:25 AM
Helen near Sydney said...
Have you ever watched Little Britain? Vicki Pollard?!
4/14/07 5:49 AM
LauraM62 said...
I think the top came out very cute! As far as the sizing, I've learned to look for the 'finished garment measurements' to determine what size I'm going to make.
4/14/07 6:37 AM
Sherril Miller said...
I think the wider band takes away the pg look. I wouldn't let a high schooler bug me, have you seen the way they dress?
4/14/07 7:38 AM
cindy-lou said...
VERY cute top! I have this pattern cut out too, ready to go. I bet you would do well to cut a size 12 (or maybe 10, depending on your measurements??) and do a full bust alteration (FBA)-- anyone with over a B cup really needs to do that. A recent Threads had a 2-pager on a quick-and-easy FBA, and the Palmer/Pletsch book 'Fit For Real People' goes into lots of detail. It adds a step even before cutting out, but saves you tons of time in the fitting stages. Beautiful Work!
4/14/07 8:12 AM
colormefun said...
good advice on cutting from the finished garment measurements! and, yeah... i'll have to read up on how to do a FBA. All your comments about the highschoolers cracked me up! Yeah, I wasn't too upset about it all it's just that it was such a buzzkill! Here I was, imagining exactly what pattern i was going to make from it and they had the nerve to be so rude! And I've never watched Little Britain, although Vicki Pollard sounds familiar.... i'll google it. Anyway, thanks for the comments! I'll wear my top with pride!
4/14/07 10:23 AM
Soliel said...
What do they know? See thru tops are HOT...when you wear something underneath like a cami or a colored bra. What do they know?
4/14/07 11:07 AM
khurtdvm said...
That turned out really nice! I'd be proud of it.
4/14/07 11:14 AM
Sewingmi said...
Oh, you gave me a good laugh! I enjoyed your review, and your top is really cute
4/14/07 2:11 PM
Elemenopeo said...
Funny review - your top looks great!
4/14/07 3:52 PM
Puddin Pop said...
What is the deal with these patterns? I think the top is very pretty and looks great?
4/14/07 6:47 PM
Puddin Pop said...
I made a typo. Should read looks great! Sorry.
4/14/07 6:48 PM
colormefun said...
haha! just googled vicki pollard from little britain! LOL!!!! for the american and curious: http://www.littlebritain.tv/characters_vicky.htm
4/15/07 11:09 PM
SewTwin said...
Cute top.I know about the Joanne's salesclerks asking what you are making.It is fakey, but they are required to do that.It is a sales tactic, but more tackey than showing interest.Really just wastes my time, I always say I don't know;I'm in a hurry.They don't ask after that.I also have this print, but it is a strange feel.
4/15/07 11:34 PM
AnneM said...
Cute, current top. The Jo-Ann workers are told to ask what you are making; I've never figured out why.
4/23/07 6:35 PM
KrystalL said...
LOL at the teens! They can be very opinionated. I like your version of the top. The fabric is unusual and features the style well.
9/18/07 4:03 PM
pinkli said...
ooh, I like the change in design. looks good - don't get the pregnancy vibe though? I reckon you should wear it with pride: you look lovely
4/24/08 7:51 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Altering Jackets
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Jackets

Online Sewing Classes
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

McCall's M5752
photo
Review by Eme on 2/5/09
Read Review

Vogue 8791 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16 )
Vogue 8791 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16 )

Details
Price: $25.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 8792 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )
Vogue 8792 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )

Details
Price: $25.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue Patterns 8876 Misses Dress
photo
Review by valerie se... on 1/7/14
Read Review

Liesl + Co. Men's Metro Shirt Digital Pattern
Liesl + Co. Men's Metro Shirt Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Versity Cowl Neck Pullover Digital Pattern ( Size 6 mo -10 years )
Peek-A Boo Versity Cowl Neck Pullover Digital Pattern ( Size 6 mo -10 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Petite Plus 104 Pattern
Petite Plus 104 Pattern

Details
Price: $21.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Petite Plus 605 Pattern
Petite Plus 605 Pattern

Details
Price: $21.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us