SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Sewing Workshop> Tribeca Shirt (Tribeca Shirt)

14 more reviews
Viewed 855 times 
Reviewed by:carolynw
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About carolynwstarstarstar
ON CANADA
Member since: 3/19/05
Reviews written: 113
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 38 people
patterns reviewed: 101
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/14/07 7:19 PM
Last Updated:4/14/07 7:22 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 8 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
10 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
gerty said...
This pattern has been very difficult for me. I chose the Large size and wound up with the funnel collar covering my face. It improved when I took in lots of fabric in the top center back down about 10". I've not given up on it because I like the look but am still having problems.
1/6/08 5:03 PM
AnneM said...
You ended up w/ a great jacket. (Sorry, don't have this to make any comparison). I like it both ways, but un-buttoned it looks really spectacular.
4/23/07 9:01 PM
Annette1 said...
I have to laugh at your comment, "Did not like the funnel neck that came half way up my face." :o)) BUT, through sheer perserverence, it looks like you figured out a great way to get around that little problem. I have this pattern, too, and if I ever make it, I'm going to go back to your review. I've got it bookmarked now. Very nice result! On another note, I've only made one top that had a funnel neck, and it was out of a knit ... well, it was supposed to be, but my so-called knit had practically NO stretch. Anyway, I loved the look of the collar, but it just about drove me BUGGY wearing it. As I recall, I was constantly yanking on it in the front.
4/21/07 1:57 AM
lilyofthevalley said...
Stunning!
4/16/07 12:51 PM
Modiste Madness said...
I commend your diligence in correcting this pattern. I don't think it fits anyone correctly on the first try. I think you have a good version to wear.
4/15/07 7:56 PM
Beve said...
Love what you did with this jacket.It's elegant. Like the lapels too! Nice work..
4/15/07 12:00 PM
Karen8320 said...
Clin, I admire your perseverance with this pattern. I have nothing to offer regarding the funnel neck, other than I am not a fan of them myself either. I do like what you've done with the piping on this garment. Piping really does add a little something special to garments. You're obviously keen to get this pattern to work for you. Keep at it and I can't wait to see more.
4/15/07 1:07 AM
Puppy said...
I own this pattern, having purchased it at a sewing expo where Linda Lee (isn't that her name?) had lots of versions of this made up....(you've probably seen several versions of it in the SW gallery). I really liked your jacket but was so surprised to see that it was the Tribeca...just goes to show you the broad range of creativity and why this site is so fun to cruise. I have wondered about the high neck, but notice that on the SW site they apparently have done a contrast facing in several of theirs examples and just flipped the collar back like you plan on doing with yours. The piping is a great idea...I love piping. Very, very nice.
4/14/07 9:49 PM
Nancywin said...
Great looking jacket, Clin. I also have a pattern (for a dress) that I keep fiddling with and then putting away because I can't get the fit right. But, it's like you don't want to let the pattern get the best of you, so you keep going back to it. I think your jacket looks wonderful.
4/14/07 7:31 PM
Karla Kizer said...
A very good-looking jacket. I dunno - that tall collar could be handy for days when I don't want to take the time to put on makeup.
4/14/07 7:24 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
More Knits
More Knits

Register

Leather 101
Leather 101

Register

Kwik Sew 3290

photo
by: LM2HYD

Review
Simplicity 2320

photo
by: lisacm98

Review
You Sew Girl A-Line Skirt Pattern

You Sew Girl A-Line Skirt Pattern

Buy Now
Take-Along Bags

Take-Along Bags

Buy Now