SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 2903 (Original 1957 Design)

19 more reviews
Viewed 2883 times 
Reviewed by:cherry
photo

 
 
About cherrystar
VA USA
Member since: 9/9/02
Reviews written: 13
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 11 people
patterns reviewed: 11
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/16/07 9:28 AM
Last Updated:4/16/07 9:43 AM
Pattern Size:Regular Petite 


Review Rating: Helpful by 5 people    Very Helpful by 22 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Available for sale on PR: $25.00 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $25.00 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
33 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
cathy45 said...
I just saw this pattern last week & loved it! but worried it would hang funny w/out a crinoline. Your dress is beautiful. Thank you for the cautions and good review. Can't wait to go get it now.
4/16/07 10:14 AM
Lady_Mame said...
WOW, that is really eye-catching, great job!
4/16/07 10:21 AM
CarolynGM said...
Very nice lines on this dress. The sleeve construction is very interesting -- I've never seen anything like that before.
4/16/07 10:36 AM
Soliel said...
Thanks for doing this pattern. I really enjoy seeing the real look of vintage patterns. Lovely!
4/16/07 10:49 AM
Frogstitcher said...
Vintage dresses haven't interested me until now. This is such a pretty dress; I love the neckline. Thank you for reviewing it, I doubt I would have noticed it otherwise.
4/16/07 10:50 AM
Marji said...
Wonderful looking dress. Love the fabric you used for it - very authentic feeling for the vintage style. Thanks for the review - I have this pattern but haven't opened it yet.
4/16/07 10:59 AM
Em's Summer said...
Excellent work! I love this dress. You did a great job!
4/16/07 11:13 AM
Irene Q said...
Thanks for pointing out all the interesting details on this dress. It really looks much better made up than I would have thought. Excellent review, and very cute dress - hope you have a lot of fun wearing it!
4/16/07 11:31 AM
Melody said...
I love this dress. Thanks for doing the review, I had wondered about the sleeve/neckline issue.
4/16/07 12:14 PM
maryfrana said...
This is beautiful. Thanks for the heads up about the bodice.
4/16/07 12:45 PM
washer_woman said...
The dress is just beautiful! I'm glad you mentioned the sleeve/neckline detail -- it was really helpful for me! Thank you for sharing the review!
4/16/07 2:04 PM
Gsd said...
wow ! what a pretty dress. Thanks for such a good review.
4/16/07 2:48 PM
cindy-lou said...
BEAUTIFUL!
4/16/07 3:36 PM
nicegirl said...
That's gorgeous! I keep lingering over this pattern in the Vogue book but I'm not sure I'm up to handling six pieces coming together in one place! Thanks for the review.
4/16/07 5:59 PM
LorelleD said...
Thankyou for this review. Love the dress. I think it would make a lovely little black dress. You did a great job.
4/16/07 6:01 PM
Karine said...
The dress is great! I think it would be beautiful in a black silk.
4/17/07 8:42 AM
Elemenopeo said...
Beautiful and very wearable. The pique is perfect for it.
4/17/07 9:14 AM
Jane S said...
This is simply beautiful and such a fascinating construction technique, quite a feat of engineering to turn out something so lovely.
4/17/07 9:31 AM
ryan's mom said...
Fab dress and love the style!
4/17/07 12:29 PM
SewTwin said...
How bout Advanced Rating? This is a cooool dress! I will sew many more years before I attempt something like this!
4/18/07 1:12 AM
JaneH said...
Beautiful dress!! What is old is new again!!
4/18/07 10:45 AM
AuntieShel said...
What a beautiful dress!! Thank you for reviewing this. Even though it's "vintage," it's very wearable. Great job!!
4/18/07 12:05 PM
Annette1 said...
PRETTY, PRETTY, PRETTY! I'd BETTER have this pattern -- ha!
4/21/07 1:38 AM
belleepoque said...
oh! a beautiful dress and a very helpful review. thank you for the cautions about the difficult double-bodice, too- always good to know what one is getting in to!
5/6/07 2:18 PM
cherry said...
Interesting footnote: I was in Talbots today, and they are selling this dress! It's in a cotton print, not as heavy as mine, and they have left out the sleeves, but the double bodice feature, and the large box pleats are all there!
5/10/07 1:24 PM
cherry said...
Interesting footnote: I was in Talbots today, and they are selling this dress! It's in a cotton print, not as heavy as mine, and they have left out the sleeves, but the double bodice feature, and the large box pleats are all there!
5/10/07 2:15 PM
bobbin1 said...
I am in the process of finishing this dress i agree with all your comments, sleeves are tricky but worth perservering with, hopefully it will be ready for a wedding tomorrow
6/15/07 2:53 PM
Suz09 said...
I am currently making this pattern in the shangtung silk for my daughters graduation ball (university level). The Duppioni silk was a little too sporty when comparing the two and the broadcloth too casual. I'll be making the sleeves the afternoon. Thanks so much for the heads-up. This is really exciting!
4/3/08 12:24 PM
MrsBaldwin said...
Nice job! I've already done a taffeta version of this dress, but I'd love to do a cotton one like this.
6/2/08 9:22 PM
sewingwithmysisters said...
Lovely dress!
6/9/08 2:50 PM
NancyDancy said...
I will be making this dress as a wedding dress for my neice. Thank you for all your notes and comments. I did not see that the bodice was seperate! This should be interesting!
4/21/09 10:35 AM
janella said...
good points. Will keep them in mind as I sew. Thanks for pointing out that B is really a winter dress - I had noticed the sleeve length/bodice but hadn't associated it with a season.
5/28/09 6:56 AM
Coastal Connie said...
Cherry, I love your reviews. I came accross this one after seeing your review of the vintage Vogue Jacket that I also reviewed. I see you haven't added much recently. I'm sure you are still sewing, as your garments are super fine. Hope to see something new, soon. --C
9/13/09 0:11 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
The Technique of Underlining Garments
The Technique of Underlining Garments

Register

The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Register

You Sew Girl 300mm Square Snap PATTERN ONLY Pattern

You Sew Girl 300mm Square Snap PATTERN ONLY Pattern

Buy Now
Sew Chic Beatrice Pocket Dress Pattern (ln1310)

Sew Chic Beatrice Pocket Dress Pattern (ln1310)

Buy Now