SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> 5001 

7 more reviews
Viewed 1812 times 
Reviewed by:Melody
photo

 
 
About Melodystarstar
MI United States
Member since: 2/7/02
Reviews written: 58
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 44 people
patterns reviewed: 55
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/18/07 1:14 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized 


Review Rating: Helpful by 4 people    Very Helpful by 27 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    Plus    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
45 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Ruth Designs said...
I love this dress. Very Nice!
7/19/10 6:59 PM
Enis said...
Melody, You did a beautiful job! The dress looks fantastic on you. I like the dress as well and you may have just given me the encouragement I need to try it out.
2/19/09 8:33 PM
Sew Sonj Can Sew said...
Very beautiful! I'm about to attempt on a brown/beight knit. Hope mine is half as good looking on me. Thanks for the review!
9/28/08 9:20 PM
Cody7 said...
Once again you have made another beautiful dress. It looks fabulous on you!
1/9/08 2:23 AM
Susan0150 said...
Great dress, great review...You're a knockout in that dress!!
8/9/07 9:27 AM
KiwiWendy said...
wow, this morning I nearly bought this pattern in a half price sale (we don't get 99c patterns in australia). Now I'm kicking myself that I didn't!
7/8/07 2:08 AM
TammyD said...
I have this pattern and haven't made it up yet. I can't find the "right" fabric to make it out of. Your's is BEAUTIFUL!!
6/22/07 12:21 PM
organic said...
This dress is so flattering on you! I have a very similar build, and will definitely try this pattern!
6/21/07 10:53 PM
Stephanie C. said...
Great review, even greater outcome! I just bought this pattern tonight at JAs and now I can't wait to make one. I hope I look as good as you do in yours.
6/1/07 11:05 PM
AnneM said...
Now, you could never get such a spectacular fit in RTW. Very nice dress, and you could easily make a few more of different fabrics. (Great fabric, also.)
4/25/07 8:54 PM
Shelia in Alaska said...
Oh my goodness!! This dress looks so fabulous on you!!! I wish I could look as lovely as you do in a dress like this!
4/22/07 1:58 AM
suzanrossi said...
Classy lady - beautiful dress. I need to check out "steam a seam".
4/21/07 2:18 AM
Annette1 said...
Great dress! It really looks nice on you, and I especially appreciate your info on the full bust adjustment. Thanks!
4/21/07 1:12 AM
OP Gal said...
Your dress is stunning and so flattering. I was intrigued by your comment about "that awful wrinkle" you get with Butterick. I'm beginning to think Butterick patterns aren't for me, either, especially in the sleeves. However, I'm not sure what's wrong between me and the sleeve. I'll be watching your reviews and blog to see what I can learn from you. Also, I loved the Steam a Seam tips!
4/19/07 7:43 PM
Elaray said...
The dress really looks good on you. I really like the pattern.
4/19/07 12:41 PM
artist1lisa said...
You did a terrific job.The dress looks great.I'll have to get that pattern.
4/19/07 11:59 AM
Jane S said...
Fabulous dress on you. Bravo! This a keeper pattern that you can get a lot of mileage out of in the future too.
4/19/07 10:49 AM
chrisquilts_2 said...
this fits you perfectly...great job! Wear it out!
4/19/07 10:08 AM
PegL said...
Va-va-voom! You look wonderful in this dress! Love your fabric choice too!
4/19/07 9:43 AM
cathy45 said...
Beautiful dress--you look fabulous! I'll have to try the steam-a-seam on my next knit project.
4/19/07 9:37 AM
Debbie Cook said...
Beautiful dress! The fit is awesome. It looks wonderful on you Melody!
4/19/07 7:45 AM
Marji said...
Great looking dress on you, and Great job on the alterations!
4/19/07 5:07 AM
LorelleD said...
You did a fantastic job on the dress. This dress looks really good on you. You should make another as you did such a fabulous job altering the pattern. Thanks for the review.
4/19/07 0:12 AM
Rhoda K said...
Ditto all the above!!
4/18/07 10:33 PM
christine A said...
I really love this dress on you! I had shied away from this style due to my plus size but it looks so nice on you, very slimming! Thanks for the inspiration!
4/18/07 9:45 PM
beangirl said...
Honey, you are WORKING that dress. Definitely take Irina's advice and make MORE!! :-)
4/18/07 9:24 PM
nadinec said...
Really nice fit! VERY hot!!!! You look absolutely stunning!
4/18/07 9:11 PM
Sew4Fun said...
Great dress and wonderful job on the FBA alteration.
4/18/07 9:06 PM
Chanel said...
Oh, that looks so great on you! I want that pattern now.
4/18/07 8:20 PM
CarolynGM said...
Great job on your custom fit. You should make another one right away.
4/18/07 7:58 PM
Donna H said...
Wowser...your dress is gorgeous! You GO girl!
4/18/07 7:32 PM
Heatherrique said...
Wow, you sure are a showstopper! Lovely, lovely dress! Fantastic fabric!
4/18/07 7:18 PM
Pinkytoo said...
Melody, I saw this exact dress, in the exact print, except it was a Diane von Furstenberg - for $345!!! I bet yours is better made. You look fantastic in it!
4/18/07 6:27 PM
jlg said...
Your dress is beautiful on you. You did a great job.
4/18/07 5:44 PM
Vonnevo said...
Fabulous Melody !!!
4/18/07 5:11 PM
marjenann said...
Very classy looking dress!! The fabric is stunning too!
4/18/07 5:05 PM
Irene Q said...
Great job on the alterations - it looks wonderful on you!!
4/18/07 4:48 PM
Gold said...
Looks good on you.great job!!
4/18/07 4:33 PM
Mufffet said...
Very nice dress! I like the fabric and it fits you so well! Good alterations...I like your idea of the "Steam a Seam" too, I think I'll try that on the next knit I do. Enjoyed your review.
4/18/07 4:15 PM
MarthaMcKeon said...
You did a fabulous job altering this pattern, and the dress looks great on you!
4/18/07 4:07 PM
Sherril Miller said...
Melody, thank you so much for reviewing this dress. I bought it but knew I would also need to do an FBA.
4/18/07 4:04 PM
Levone said...
Very pretty dress. It looks great on you.
4/18/07 4:01 PM
Kiwi Girl said...
I like the look of this dress - you did a great job. I was actually looking for something else when I came across your review. Now I will add this dress to my wardrobe. Thanks
4/18/07 3:58 PM
moss said...
That looks REALLY good on you!
4/18/07 2:46 PM
Carolyndh said...
Very nice looking black/white dress, especially the rage for this spring! It fits you very well.
4/18/07 2:44 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Class Details

Online Class
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Class Details

New Look 6599

photo
by: LOST_kitty...

Review

Pattern

Petite Plus 204 Pattern

Petite Plus 204 Pattern

More Info
Sewing Workshop Chicago Jacket

Sewing Workshop Chicago Jacket

More Info