Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Butterick: 5001 thumbsup - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 1807 times 7 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 4 people    Very Helpful by 27 people   
Reviewed by:Melody
photo
About Melodystarstar
MI USA
Member since: 2/7/02
Reviews written: 58
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 44 people
patterns reviewed: 55
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/18/07 1:14 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized 


See other patterns in this category: Dresses    Plus    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
45 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Carolyndh said...
Very nice looking black/white dress, especially the rage for this spring! It fits you very well.
4/18/07 2:44 PM
moss said...
That looks REALLY good on you!
4/18/07 2:46 PM
Kiwi Girl said...
I like the look of this dress - you did a great job. I was actually looking for something else when I came across your review. Now I will add this dress to my wardrobe. Thanks
4/18/07 3:58 PM
Levone said...
Very pretty dress. It looks great on you.
4/18/07 4:01 PM
Sherril Miller said...
Melody, thank you so much for reviewing this dress. I bought it but knew I would also need to do an FBA.
4/18/07 4:04 PM
MarthaMcKeon said...
You did a fabulous job altering this pattern, and the dress looks great on you!
4/18/07 4:07 PM
Mufffet said...
Very nice dress! I like the fabric and it fits you so well! Good alterations...I like your idea of the "Steam a Seam" too, I think I'll try that on the next knit I do. Enjoyed your review.
4/18/07 4:15 PM
Gold said...
Looks good on you.great job!!
4/18/07 4:33 PM
Irene Q said...
Great job on the alterations - it looks wonderful on you!!
4/18/07 4:48 PM
marjenann said...
Very classy looking dress!! The fabric is stunning too!
4/18/07 5:05 PM
Vonnevo said...
Fabulous Melody !!!
4/18/07 5:11 PM
jlg said...
Your dress is beautiful on you. You did a great job.
4/18/07 5:44 PM
Pinkytoo said...
Melody, I saw this exact dress, in the exact print, except it was a Diane von Furstenberg - for $345!!! I bet yours is better made. You look fantastic in it!
4/18/07 6:27 PM
Heatherrique said...
Wow, you sure are a showstopper! Lovely, lovely dress! Fantastic fabric!
4/18/07 7:18 PM
Donna H said...
Wowser...your dress is gorgeous! You GO girl!
4/18/07 7:32 PM
CarolynGM said...
Great job on your custom fit. You should make another one right away.
4/18/07 7:58 PM
Chanel said...
Oh, that looks so great on you! I want that pattern now.
4/18/07 8:20 PM
Sew4Fun said...
Great dress and wonderful job on the FBA alteration.
4/18/07 9:06 PM
nadinec said...
Really nice fit! VERY hot!!!! You look absolutely stunning!
4/18/07 9:11 PM
beangirl said...
Honey, you are WORKING that dress. Definitely take Irina's advice and make MORE!! :-)
4/18/07 9:24 PM
christine A said...
I really love this dress on you! I had shied away from this style due to my plus size but it looks so nice on you, very slimming! Thanks for the inspiration!
4/18/07 9:45 PM
Rhoda K said...
Ditto all the above!!
4/18/07 10:33 PM
LorelleD said...
You did a fantastic job on the dress. This dress looks really good on you. You should make another as you did such a fabulous job altering the pattern. Thanks for the review.
4/19/07 0:12 AM
Marji said...
Great looking dress on you, and Great job on the alterations!
4/19/07 5:07 AM
Debbie Cook said...
Beautiful dress! The fit is awesome. It looks wonderful on you Melody!
4/19/07 7:45 AM
cathy45 said...
Beautiful dress--you look fabulous! I'll have to try the steam-a-seam on my next knit project.
4/19/07 9:37 AM
PegL said...
Va-va-voom! You look wonderful in this dress! Love your fabric choice too!
4/19/07 9:43 AM
chrisquilts_2 said...
this fits you perfectly...great job! Wear it out!
4/19/07 10:08 AM
Jane S said...
Fabulous dress on you. Bravo! This a keeper pattern that you can get a lot of mileage out of in the future too.
4/19/07 10:49 AM
artist1lisa said...
You did a terrific job.The dress looks great.I'll have to get that pattern.
4/19/07 11:59 AM
Elaray said...
The dress really looks good on you. I really like the pattern.
4/19/07 12:41 PM
OP Gal said...
Your dress is stunning and so flattering. I was intrigued by your comment about "that awful wrinkle" you get with Butterick. I'm beginning to think Butterick patterns aren't for me, either, especially in the sleeves. However, I'm not sure what's wrong between me and the sleeve. I'll be watching your reviews and blog to see what I can learn from you. Also, I loved the Steam a Seam tips!
4/19/07 7:43 PM
Annette1 said...
Great dress! It really looks nice on you, and I especially appreciate your info on the full bust adjustment. Thanks!
4/21/07 1:12 AM
suzanrossi said...
Classy lady - beautiful dress. I need to check out "steam a seam".
4/21/07 2:18 AM
Shelia in Alaska said...
Oh my goodness!! This dress looks so fabulous on you!!! I wish I could look as lovely as you do in a dress like this!
4/22/07 1:58 AM
AnneM said...
Now, you could never get such a spectacular fit in RTW. Very nice dress, and you could easily make a few more of different fabrics. (Great fabric, also.)
4/25/07 8:54 PM
Stephanie C. said...
Great review, even greater outcome! I just bought this pattern tonight at JAs and now I can't wait to make one. I hope I look as good as you do in yours.
6/1/07 11:05 PM
organic said...
This dress is so flattering on you! I have a very similar build, and will definitely try this pattern!
6/21/07 10:53 PM
TammyD said...
I have this pattern and haven't made it up yet. I can't find the "right" fabric to make it out of. Your's is BEAUTIFUL!!
6/22/07 12:21 PM
KiwiWendy said...
wow, this morning I nearly bought this pattern in a half price sale (we don't get 99c patterns in australia). Now I'm kicking myself that I didn't!
7/8/07 2:08 AM
Susan0150 said...
Great dress, great review...You're a knockout in that dress!!
8/9/07 9:27 AM
Cody7 said...
Once again you have made another beautiful dress. It looks fabulous on you!
1/9/08 2:23 AM
Sew Sonj Can Sew said...
Very beautiful! I'm about to attempt on a brown/beight knit. Hope mine is half as good looking on me. Thanks for the review!
9/28/08 9:20 PM
Enis said...
Melody, You did a beautiful job! The dress looks fantastic on you. I like the dress as well and you may have just given me the encouragement I need to try it out.
2/19/09 8:33 PM
Ruth Designs said...
I love this dress. Very Nice!
7/19/10 6:59 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Online Sewing Classes
Altering Pants
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Pants

Material Things 102
photo
Review by Anne Franc... on 3/26/06
Read Review

McCalls 6689 Pattern ( Size 3-4-5-6 )
McCalls 6689 Pattern ( Size 3-4-5-6 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 2188 Pattern( Size XXS-XS-S-M-L-XL-XXL )
Simplicity 2188 Pattern( Size XXS-XS-S-M-L-XL-XXL )

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 2345 Misses'
photo
Review by PAMomof3 on 7/8/11
Read Review

Lily Bird Studio Juliette's Dress Digital Pattern
Lily Bird Studio Juliette's Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $9.90
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Tea Party Sundress, Bloomers, and Playsuit Digital Pattern ( Size birth - 24m )
Oliver + S Tea Party Sundress, Bloomers, and Playsuit Digital Pattern ( Size birth - 24m )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Petite Plus 604 Pattern
Petite Plus 604 Pattern

Details
Price: $21.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Islander Sewing Systems Moebius Scarf Pattern
Islander Sewing Systems Moebius Scarf Pattern

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us