SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> 5001 

7 more reviews
Viewed 1808 times 
Reviewed by:Melody
photo

 
 
About Melodystarstar
MI USA
Member since: 2/7/02
Reviews written: 58
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 44 people
patterns reviewed: 55
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/18/07 1:14 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized 


Review Rating: Helpful by 4 people    Very Helpful by 27 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    Plus    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
45 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Carolyndh said...
Very nice looking black/white dress, especially the rage for this spring! It fits you very well.
4/18/07 2:44 PM
moss said...
That looks REALLY good on you!
4/18/07 2:46 PM
Kiwi Girl said...
I like the look of this dress - you did a great job. I was actually looking for something else when I came across your review. Now I will add this dress to my wardrobe. Thanks
4/18/07 3:58 PM
Levone said...
Very pretty dress. It looks great on you.
4/18/07 4:01 PM
Sherril Miller said...
Melody, thank you so much for reviewing this dress. I bought it but knew I would also need to do an FBA.
4/18/07 4:04 PM
MarthaMcKeon said...
You did a fabulous job altering this pattern, and the dress looks great on you!
4/18/07 4:07 PM
Mufffet said...
Very nice dress! I like the fabric and it fits you so well! Good alterations...I like your idea of the "Steam a Seam" too, I think I'll try that on the next knit I do. Enjoyed your review.
4/18/07 4:15 PM
Gold said...
Looks good on you.great job!!
4/18/07 4:33 PM
Irene Q said...
Great job on the alterations - it looks wonderful on you!!
4/18/07 4:48 PM
marjenann said...
Very classy looking dress!! The fabric is stunning too!
4/18/07 5:05 PM
Vonnevo said...
Fabulous Melody !!!
4/18/07 5:11 PM
jlg said...
Your dress is beautiful on you. You did a great job.
4/18/07 5:44 PM
Pinkytoo said...
Melody, I saw this exact dress, in the exact print, except it was a Diane von Furstenberg - for $345!!! I bet yours is better made. You look fantastic in it!
4/18/07 6:27 PM
Heatherrique said...
Wow, you sure are a showstopper! Lovely, lovely dress! Fantastic fabric!
4/18/07 7:18 PM
Donna H said...
Wowser...your dress is gorgeous! You GO girl!
4/18/07 7:32 PM
CarolynGM said...
Great job on your custom fit. You should make another one right away.
4/18/07 7:58 PM
Chanel said...
Oh, that looks so great on you! I want that pattern now.
4/18/07 8:20 PM
Sew4Fun said...
Great dress and wonderful job on the FBA alteration.
4/18/07 9:06 PM
nadinec said...
Really nice fit! VERY hot!!!! You look absolutely stunning!
4/18/07 9:11 PM
beangirl said...
Honey, you are WORKING that dress. Definitely take Irina's advice and make MORE!! :-)
4/18/07 9:24 PM
christine A said...
I really love this dress on you! I had shied away from this style due to my plus size but it looks so nice on you, very slimming! Thanks for the inspiration!
4/18/07 9:45 PM
Rhoda K said...
Ditto all the above!!
4/18/07 10:33 PM
LorelleD said...
You did a fantastic job on the dress. This dress looks really good on you. You should make another as you did such a fabulous job altering the pattern. Thanks for the review.
4/19/07 0:12 AM
Marji said...
Great looking dress on you, and Great job on the alterations!
4/19/07 5:07 AM
Debbie Cook said...
Beautiful dress! The fit is awesome. It looks wonderful on you Melody!
4/19/07 7:45 AM
cathy45 said...
Beautiful dress--you look fabulous! I'll have to try the steam-a-seam on my next knit project.
4/19/07 9:37 AM
PegL said...
Va-va-voom! You look wonderful in this dress! Love your fabric choice too!
4/19/07 9:43 AM
chrisquilts_2 said...
this fits you perfectly...great job! Wear it out!
4/19/07 10:08 AM
Jane S said...
Fabulous dress on you. Bravo! This a keeper pattern that you can get a lot of mileage out of in the future too.
4/19/07 10:49 AM
artist1lisa said...
You did a terrific job.The dress looks great.I'll have to get that pattern.
4/19/07 11:59 AM
Elaray said...
The dress really looks good on you. I really like the pattern.
4/19/07 12:41 PM
OP Gal said...
Your dress is stunning and so flattering. I was intrigued by your comment about "that awful wrinkle" you get with Butterick. I'm beginning to think Butterick patterns aren't for me, either, especially in the sleeves. However, I'm not sure what's wrong between me and the sleeve. I'll be watching your reviews and blog to see what I can learn from you. Also, I loved the Steam a Seam tips!
4/19/07 7:43 PM
Annette1 said...
Great dress! It really looks nice on you, and I especially appreciate your info on the full bust adjustment. Thanks!
4/21/07 1:12 AM
suzanrossi said...
Classy lady - beautiful dress. I need to check out "steam a seam".
4/21/07 2:18 AM
Shelia in Alaska said...
Oh my goodness!! This dress looks so fabulous on you!!! I wish I could look as lovely as you do in a dress like this!
4/22/07 1:58 AM
AnneM said...
Now, you could never get such a spectacular fit in RTW. Very nice dress, and you could easily make a few more of different fabrics. (Great fabric, also.)
4/25/07 8:54 PM
Stephanie C. said...
Great review, even greater outcome! I just bought this pattern tonight at JAs and now I can't wait to make one. I hope I look as good as you do in yours.
6/1/07 11:05 PM
organic said...
This dress is so flattering on you! I have a very similar build, and will definitely try this pattern!
6/21/07 10:53 PM
TammyD said...
I have this pattern and haven't made it up yet. I can't find the "right" fabric to make it out of. Your's is BEAUTIFUL!!
6/22/07 12:21 PM
KiwiWendy said...
wow, this morning I nearly bought this pattern in a half price sale (we don't get 99c patterns in australia). Now I'm kicking myself that I didn't!
7/8/07 2:08 AM
Susan0150 said...
Great dress, great review...You're a knockout in that dress!!
8/9/07 9:27 AM
Cody7 said...
Once again you have made another beautiful dress. It looks fabulous on you!
1/9/08 2:23 AM
Sew Sonj Can Sew said...
Very beautiful! I'm about to attempt on a brown/beight knit. Hope mine is half as good looking on me. Thanks for the review!
9/28/08 9:20 PM
Enis said...
Melody, You did a beautiful job! The dress looks fantastic on you. I like the dress as well and you may have just given me the encouragement I need to try it out.
2/19/09 8:33 PM
Ruth Designs said...
I love this dress. Very Nice!
7/19/10 6:59 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Register

Bust Adjustments
Bust Adjustments

Register

Victory Simone Paper Pattern

Victory Simone Paper Pattern

Buy Now
Favorite Things Uptown Coat Pattern

Favorite Things Uptown Coat Pattern

Buy Now