Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Fashion Patterns By Coni: B2125 (Demi Princess Shirt) - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 647 times
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 11 people   
Reviewed by:rejoyce
photo
Friend of PR
About rejoycestar
AK USA
Member since: 4/4/07
Reviews written: 4
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 2 people
patterns reviewed: 4
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/18/07 5:06 PM
Last Updated:4/18/07 5:05 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized 


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
18 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Annika said...
Great job! Love the fabric's little flowers, too. I too am determined to make clothes that fit me.
4/18/07 5:28 PM
MaryLynn in Long Beach said...
Looks good! Well done.
4/18/07 5:32 PM
rejoyce said...
After looking at this picture I really need shoulder pads!
4/18/07 5:38 PM
rejoyce said...
oops!
4/18/07 5:39 PM
fuzzygalore said...
Or you might want to make a sloping shoulders adjustment :-). Might also consider going down a size around the shoulders and doing an FBA, it looks to me like you could use a bit less in the upper chest. But that's really nitpicking - it looks good as is :-). And right out of the envelope sure is nice, isn't it?
4/18/07 6:31 PM
squirrellypoo said...
great first review! It's very satisfying to make your clothes AND know they fit better than anything you could ever buy!
4/18/07 7:05 PM
fizuna said...
the fabric is very pretty and has a lovely drape. great color on you too.
4/18/07 9:15 PM
tomed said...
Love your cotton print and this is a great use for it. My best-fitting clothes are homemade - only way to go!
4/18/07 10:04 PM
Mary Stiefer said...
Great job - love it when a plan comes together.
4/19/07 0:21 AM
Irene said...
Gosh, you have great fitting instincts! Wearing a new garment before pronouncing judgment on it has served me well. I'd add shoulder pads to this top, not only for better fit, but also to create a little more balance between shoulders and hips. It's a matter of your personal preference, in the end. You're going to love sewing for youself.
4/19/07 1:58 AM
aunt saidee said...
Congrats! You did it! I am inspired! Very nice first outing and lovely fabric. I agree about the shoulder pads and bringing the fit a bit closer to the body...do you have a fitting buddy? I think we all need one as much as we each need a personal assistant ( I almost said 'wife': oops!) RTW in certain sizes just doesn't do fit, really, so go for it! We don't have to wear tents any more, as your shirt shows. It doesn't take much to give us some shape and definition, which then = style. What a concept!
4/19/07 2:36 AM
Jane S said...
Isn't it fun when you sew some things for yourself and see that you can make them fit better than RTW ever could. Yes, it's learning curve but already you're ahead of what we can buy in stores. Bravo!
4/19/07 10:58 AM
Irene Q said...
Looks like this pattern company is going to work out really well for you! I call anything that comes out better than RTW a success. :-) You'll probably end up tweaking this here and there, but it's really quite good out of the envelope. Thanks for the very helpful review!
4/19/07 11:41 AM
OP Gal said...
Congratulations on your first review. Great job. Your top looks great and I love the fabric. I have problems with RTW fitting, too, so I know how satisfying it is to be able to have clothing that fits well. Keep up the good work.
4/19/07 7:36 PM
Sherril Miller said...
Funny, the closer we get to good fit, the more of a perfectionist we become. I'm becomimg obsessed with fit for my own clothes. I think this top is very pretty. I'd shorten it a bit. Long tops tend to look pg on plus sized women. Maybe just long enough to cover the belly or bum, whatever you particular issues are. I'm so glad this pattern line works so good for you. Now, I'm looking forward to lots more reviews from you!
4/19/07 8:50 PM
ginaT said...
It's just perfect! Great Job! Just have to ask.....that beautiful quilt in the photo? Did you make that too?
4/22/07 8:14 PM
MizLiz said...
I loved it too, you did a great job. I just came back from the Worcester Expo and wished Coni had a booth and classes there. I was very interested in her skirt pattern book. Does anyone have that and tried it ? Is it worth the money??
4/22/07 8:33 PM
AnneM said...
I'm excited to see a review of this pattern line (particularly since she carries a larger size range now). Nice top with a spring feel. It is on the longer side, but that's the style right now. I'll 2nd Sherril's statement: we get fussier as we get better, I think.
4/23/07 5:41 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Online Sewing Classes
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Break your Serger Out of the Box

New Look 6463 Misses' Skirts
photo
Review by Riversmock... on 10/13/13
Read Review

Butterick 6009 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14-16-18-20-22 )
Butterick 6009 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14-16-18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $2.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 8882 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )
Vogue 8882 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )

Details
Price: $25.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Colette Patterns 2003 Cooper
photo
Review by Lori V on 1/15/14
Read Review

Cake Patterns Hummingbird Top Digital Pattern
Cake Patterns Hummingbird Top Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $9.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Salme Sundress Digital Pattern
Salme Sundress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $8.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

SewBaby Hug-Me Bibs Pattern
SewBaby Hug-Me Bibs Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop New Yorker Jacket Pattern
Sewing Workshop New Yorker Jacket Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us