SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Textile Studio> 1305 (Capri Jacket)

16 more reviews
Viewed 1254 times 
Reviewed by:andrearn9
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About andrearn9star
NY USA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 5
Sewing skills:Beginner
Favored by: 4 people
patterns reviewed: 3
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/18/03 9:16 PM
Last Updated:1/18/03 9:59 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 16 people   
See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    
Available for sale on PR: $16.00 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $16.00 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
16 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Deepika said...
Wow andrearn9, what a helpful review especially more so because I have this pattern and have been waiting to hear from someone who has actually made it. When I get around to making mine, I'll be sure to read your review again. Can't wait to see the photos!
1/18/03 9:27 PM
Lisa Laree said...
Very nice review! Good details...I'm looking forward to the photo, too!
1/18/03 9:45 PM
AnneM said...
I really don't remember seeing this pattern, and it looks great. Ijust got my first Textile Studio pattern but have not yet tried it. This one might have to go on the list also.
1/18/03 9:48 PM
Everyday Sewist said...
That is a beautiful jacket! Thank you for your detailed review.
1/18/03 10:45 PM
Deepika said...
NICE!
1/18/03 11:49 PM
said...
Very pretty!
1/19/03 0:18 AM
Lisa Laree said...
Lovely! Love the colors!
1/19/03 0:24 AM
Sherril Miller said...
Great jacket. I'd love to see how it looks on a real body.
1/19/03 1:14 AM
Rhonda Noah said...
Excellent review! I plant to make this up soon in a black solid and will be referring back to your review, too. I really like your version in the print, too. BTW, did you order from Londa's online or do have the luxury of visiting her store in person?
1/19/03 8:19 AM
Karla Kizer said...
I don't think you sew OR review like a beginner. I'm glad this project was a success for you, and I appreciate the detailed review.
1/19/03 8:20 AM
said...
Thanks for the detailed review.Your jacket looks beautiful.
1/19/03 8:58 AM
andrearn9 said...
Thanks everyone for all of your compliments! It really is a great pattern. Rhonda: The fabric was ordered online from Londa's as I don't live anywhere near her store. I didn't have a swatch, but figured at that price, I'd take a chance. I was very pleased with that purchase and have gone on to purchase more rayon prints from her store. I've been pleased with everything I've gotten. Karla: I am VERY MUCH a beginner, so much so that sometimes sewing in a straight line is a challenge I can't rise to :). But, I've found so much helpful advice and recommendations on this site and on the web in general, and it's definitely had a positive impact on my sewing. With this project, it was definitely the combination of a good pattern, along with good instructions, good fabric, good notions, a good machine and good advice that led to a happy result. Much more so than the skill of the sewer!
1/19/03 9:55 AM
Diane E said...
Andrea, your jacket is beautiful! Thanks for the detailed review. This is a pattern I've had in my stash since it first came out, and it's about time to try it! I agree, a seam finish other than serging is a very nice couture touch. A Hong Kong finish works well, too, and is a nice way to use scraps of lightweight rayon or silk, if there's enough to make bias strips.
1/19/03 1:33 PM
Gigi Louis said...
Andrea - your jacket is beautiful! I find John Kaldor prints generally hard to resist, they are so pretty. DianeE, I find it hard to believe that you haven't made this yet! Yup, it's languishing in my stash too :-0
1/19/03 7:35 PM
Julia Graham said...
Andrea, your jacket is beautiful, and I agree with Karla that, whatever your sewing skills, you don't write a review like a beginner! You touched on all the important aspects and really sound like you know what you're doing. Your profile hit the nail on the head for my body type -- A cup, bane-of-existence thighs (I'm an RN too). I'm going to be watching your reviews because if something works for you I'm guessing it will for me. :-)
1/19/03 9:06 PM
missy d said...
What a great review! I have the pattern and look forward to finally cutting the fabric I've been saving for it. Thank you. It is lovely. Congratulations on your sewing interest and skills.
1/21/03 4:33 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Register

Fit the Tee to a T
Fit the Tee to a T

Register

Vogue Patterns 1051

photo
by: SavageCoco

Review
Victoria Jones Collection Misses' Long & Short Caftans

Victoria Jones Collection Misses' Long & Short Caftans

Buy Now
Sewing Workshop Ann's Cardigan & Tank

Sewing Workshop Ann's Cardigan & Tank

Buy Now
No Pattern Used Upside Down Skirt Shirt

photo
by: miausiau

Review