Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Textile Studio: 1305 (Capri Jacket) thumbsup - Type:Suits / Separates    printable version
Viewed 1254 times 16 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 16 people   
Reviewed by:andrearn9
photo
Friend of PR
About andrearn9star
NY USA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 5
Sewing skills:Beginner
Favored by: 4 people
patterns reviewed: 3
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/18/03 9:16 PM
Last Updated:1/18/03 9:59 PM
See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    
Available for sale on PR: $16.00 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $16.00     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
16 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Deepika said...
Wow andrearn9, what a helpful review especially more so because I have this pattern and have been waiting to hear from someone who has actually made it. When I get around to making mine, I'll be sure to read your review again. Can't wait to see the photos!
1/18/03 9:27 PM
Lisa Laree said...
Very nice review! Good details...I'm looking forward to the photo, too!
1/18/03 9:45 PM
AnneM said...
I really don't remember seeing this pattern, and it looks great. Ijust got my first Textile Studio pattern but have not yet tried it. This one might have to go on the list also.
1/18/03 9:48 PM
Everyday Sewist said...
That is a beautiful jacket! Thank you for your detailed review.
1/18/03 10:45 PM
Deepika said...
NICE!
1/18/03 11:49 PM
said...
Very pretty!
1/19/03 0:18 AM
Lisa Laree said...
Lovely! Love the colors!
1/19/03 0:24 AM
Sherril Miller said...
Great jacket. I'd love to see how it looks on a real body.
1/19/03 1:14 AM
Rhonda Noah said...
Excellent review! I plant to make this up soon in a black solid and will be referring back to your review, too. I really like your version in the print, too. BTW, did you order from Londa's online or do have the luxury of visiting her store in person?
1/19/03 8:19 AM
Karla Kizer said...
I don't think you sew OR review like a beginner. I'm glad this project was a success for you, and I appreciate the detailed review.
1/19/03 8:20 AM
said...
Thanks for the detailed review.Your jacket looks beautiful.
1/19/03 8:58 AM
andrearn9 said...
Thanks everyone for all of your compliments! It really is a great pattern. Rhonda: The fabric was ordered online from Londa's as I don't live anywhere near her store. I didn't have a swatch, but figured at that price, I'd take a chance. I was very pleased with that purchase and have gone on to purchase more rayon prints from her store. I've been pleased with everything I've gotten. Karla: I am VERY MUCH a beginner, so much so that sometimes sewing in a straight line is a challenge I can't rise to :). But, I've found so much helpful advice and recommendations on this site and on the web in general, and it's definitely had a positive impact on my sewing. With this project, it was definitely the combination of a good pattern, along with good instructions, good fabric, good notions, a good machine and good advice that led to a happy result. Much more so than the skill of the sewer!
1/19/03 9:55 AM
Diane E said...
Andrea, your jacket is beautiful! Thanks for the detailed review. This is a pattern I've had in my stash since it first came out, and it's about time to try it! I agree, a seam finish other than serging is a very nice couture touch. A Hong Kong finish works well, too, and is a nice way to use scraps of lightweight rayon or silk, if there's enough to make bias strips.
1/19/03 1:33 PM
Gigi Louis said...
Andrea - your jacket is beautiful! I find John Kaldor prints generally hard to resist, they are so pretty. DianeE, I find it hard to believe that you haven't made this yet! Yup, it's languishing in my stash too :-0
1/19/03 7:35 PM
Julia Graham said...
Andrea, your jacket is beautiful, and I agree with Karla that, whatever your sewing skills, you don't write a review like a beginner! You touched on all the important aspects and really sound like you know what you're doing. Your profile hit the nail on the head for my body type -- A cup, bane-of-existence thighs (I'm an RN too). I'm going to be watching your reviews because if something works for you I'm guessing it will for me. :-)
1/19/03 9:06 PM
missy d said...
What a great review! I have the pattern and look forward to finally cutting the fabric I've been saving for it. Thank you. It is lovely. Congratulations on your sewing interest and skills.
1/21/03 4:33 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Online Sewing Classes
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

McCall's 6441
photo
Review by pdiddly on 11/25/12
Read Review

Butterick 5891 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )
Butterick 5891 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 2369 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16 )
Simplicity 2369 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16 )

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Riviera Shirt Riviera Shirt
photo
Review by Catherine ... on 5/3/11
Read Review

Angela Osborn Marion Skirt Digital Pattern (SS11-12-201)
Angela Osborn Marion Skirt Digital Pattern (SS11-12-201)

Details
Price: $9.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo V-Neck Cardigan Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )
Peek-A Boo V-Neck Cardigan Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Village Bag Pattern
Sewing Workshop Village Bag Pattern

Details
Price: $12.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

A-Door-Ables
A-Door-Ables

Details
Price: $8.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us