Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
BurdaStyle Magazine: 04-2007-125 (Tie-front empire blouse) - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 2082 times 1 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 19 people   
Reviewed by:Seamingly Simple
photo
About Seamingly Simplestarstarstarstar
AB CANADA
Member since: 12/23/03
Reviews written: 133
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 61 people
patterns reviewed: 100
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/19/07 5:19 PM
Last Updated:5/9/07 1:39 PM


NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Sewn Square One
Patterns for Your Style.
Web site
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
36 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Elona said...
The blouse may be a bit scandalous, but it's mighty cute!
4/19/07 5:33 PM
Kay Y said...
I have plans to make this one and your pictures simply confirm that it's a good choice. I will try to figure out a way to raise that neckline however...
4/19/07 5:45 PM
Shikisew said...
I'm sorry you can't wear it right away because of the plunging neckline because it looks super chic!
4/19/07 5:45 PM
Heatherrique said...
It is a very pretty top! I hate for you not to wear it and just abandon it! Could you possible wear a tank or camisole underneath for the non Jennifer Lopez look?
4/19/07 5:49 PM
Christina Sonja said...
The print of the fabric and the style of blouse really complement each other. I think it'll look just fine with a camisole underneath and do post a pic of that!
4/19/07 6:13 PM
fuzzygalore said...
Oh, I've been drooling on this pattern too. Looks like I'll need to bring up the knot about 8" :-).. Thanks.
4/19/07 6:42 PM
CarolynGM said...
It's incredibly cute on your dress form. I hope you can find a suitable camisole so that you can wear it.
4/19/07 7:46 PM
Sew4Fun said...
Cute blouse. I hope you find a suitable cami so you can wear it. I'm 5'4" and I find I need to raise most necklines on patterns like this drafted for 5'6" height. At 5'2" you may need to do the same.
4/19/07 7:47 PM
Vonnevo said...
Beautiful blouse and one of my favourites from BWOF 04 07. Thank you for an excellent review.
4/19/07 7:58 PM
slanden99 said...
Beautiful blouse--looks perfect. Definitely get a camisole so you can wear it. I bet it'll get worn often
4/19/07 8:05 PM
Sherril Miller said...
That's a very nice blouse. I was concerned abut the modesty factor too. I think a cami is the perfect solution.
4/19/07 8:42 PM
Frogstitcher said...
You know, you could always wear this top as it is while camel riding in the desert. :-) I think you'll be pleasantly surprised once you find/make a camisole to wear under just how wearable it will turn out to be. Thanks for test driving the pattern for the rest of us.
4/19/07 8:53 PM
Lori V said...
Beautiful blouse, I love the style and the fabric.
4/19/07 9:54 PM
Mufffet said...
Beautiful!
4/19/07 10:47 PM
Leora said...
Too pretty! Hope you find a cami and wear this blouse.
4/20/07 0:22 AM
Sigrid. said...
Very nice blouse, I like the fabric too! And agree with the idea of a cami underneath. Must look lovely.
4/20/07 3:56 AM
BillieJean said...
I've drooled over this too. I'm sorry to hear it's so low in front. Glancing at the pattern pieces, I'm not sure how to remedy that. In our Texas summers, wearing a cami under everything is just not the answer. So I'll have to try to figure out how to raise the neckline, too.l Thanks for the review.
4/20/07 6:45 AM
OP Gal said...
Oh so lovely. I think a camisole will solve the plunging neckline problem and you'll have a lovely skirt and top to wear under your blue jacket. Very informative review. Thanks.
4/20/07 7:30 AM
Nancy K said...
It is a lovely blouse and you did a great job of sewing with bad instructions, but you like almost everyone else who sews this type of Bwof top complains that they are lower than they looked on the model. Why I can't say but I have had the same problem and usually try to raise the cf to fix this.
4/20/07 7:46 AM
Marji said...
well, it's awfully cute on your dress form, and I love the design and was planning on making it. Thank you very much for the heads up.
4/20/07 9:08 AM
Hilary said...
What a cute blouse! It's a shame its so low cut, but I am sure you can find (or make!) a suitable cami for modesty's sake..maybe you could even sew in a camisole "dicky", or modesty panel I've heard some call it. Thanks for the warning on this! I hope you can find a way to wear it!
4/20/07 10:04 AM
Hilary said...
oops dbl post!
4/20/07 10:05 AM
Beve said...
I love your blouse, and the fabric you made it in. I bet it looks great on you..don't give up on it!
4/20/07 10:05 AM
mrspenguin said...
It's a really stylish blouse. You did a great job.
4/20/07 11:28 AM
Annette1 said...
Very helpful review, and I love your blouse. I hope you can find a camisole to wear under it. It's just too pretty to let go.
4/21/07 0:57 AM
LorelleD said...
Such a pretty top. Its a shame its too low at the front. I hope you find a camisole to suit it so as you can wear it.
4/21/07 5:19 AM
crisford said...
Very nice job, this is so cute! I found out about the low necklines with my first Burda top, and now I always raise them on the pattern before cutting. I don't have cleavage, but even if I did, I would not feel comfortable wearing such a low top. It is useful, though, to have an assortment of different colors of stretch camisoles!
4/21/07 10:19 AM
bunz said...
This is a really beautiful blouse! Hope you find a camisole so you can get good use of it :-)
5/9/07 1:42 PM
dbsewer said...
Well, I think this blouse is so cute and it looks adorable on you. If you made it again you could always redraw the neck a bit higher. The fabric is very pretty and I think you did a great job on this.
5/9/07 2:12 PM
Sherril Miller said...
With the skirt, this makes a great 2-piece dress. The cami works perfectly to keep your modesty.
5/9/07 6:01 PM
blue mooney said...
Extreeeemely cute and hip! looks more appealing than the magazine photo!
5/9/07 7:24 PM
Liana said...
This is really cute. If you try it again, why don't you Make a fold across the neckline to raise it, then put the cap sleeves back as they were to start with, and add in the removed length below the tie area if you need to. It's a great style on you, but it is awfully low.
5/10/07 1:15 AM
Zaneta said...
Just gorgeous!! Thanks for a brilliant review..
5/10/07 5:23 AM
cathy45 said...
Beautiful blouse and with the skirt it makes a stunning outfit.
5/10/07 9:53 AM
Erica B. said...
Very pretty!
5/13/07 5:43 PM
Emi1yKate said...
SS, you are a lifesaver with that photo of the inside of the placket-tie join. I have been going insane.
7/16/07 8:58 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Online Sewing Classes
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

New Look 6119
photo
Review by slmstyle on 4/25/13
Read Review

Salme Pleat Front Sleeveless Dress Digital Pattern
Salme Pleat Front Sleeveless Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $8.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Blank Slate Beachy Boatneck Digital Pattern
Blank Slate Beachy Boatneck Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 2949 Misses Topper
photo
Review by Brodie on 5/9/07
Read Review

You Sew Girl Fan Bag Pattern
You Sew Girl Fan Bag Pattern

Details
Price: $18.15
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Christine Jonson Swing Shirt
Christine Jonson Swing Shirt

Details
Price: $18.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6629 Pattern ( Size 3-45-6 7-8 )
McCalls 6629 Pattern ( Size 3-45-6 7-8 )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Burda 6926 Pattern
Burda 6926 Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us