Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Christine Jonson: 824 (Taper/Wide leg pants) thumbsup - Type:Pants    printable version
Viewed 1897 times 14 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 7 people    Very Helpful by 3 people   
Reviewed by:SouthernStitch
photo
Friend of PR
About SouthernStitchstarstarstar
LA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 117
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 34 people
patterns reviewed: 78
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/19/03 2:29 AM
Last Updated:1/20/03 10:23 PM


See other patterns in this category: Pants    
Available for sale on PR: $18.00 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $18.00     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
12 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Rustybobn said...
Wow, Mary. Great review. Having just finished CJ's cuff pants, I want more CJ patterns! These sound like a sure thing. Thanks.
1/19/03 9:45 AM
andrearn9 said...
Thanks for the review, Mary! I just got this pattern, along with some CJ cotton/lycra. Thanks for the heads up on the sizing issue. I am planning on making the taper pant, but want it to be more of a slim pant than a legging (leggings and me are not a good mix). I'll definitely size up now.
1/19/03 10:38 AM
Everyday Sewist said...
Thanks for your review, Mary. I've been thinking about buying this pattern. It sounds like it would be worth it just for the instructions. Could you describe the waistband detail you liked so much? Or is there another review that describes it?
1/19/03 10:46 AM
Sherril Miller said...
Andrearn9, these pants aren't snug on my legs at all, and I cut the size 16, just shortened 2". I guess it depends on how heavy your legs are. I love, love, love this pattern!
1/19/03 2:10 PM
AnneM said...
From the pictures I have seen, the taper pants are basically a loose legging, and the wide-leg pant is actually a slim pant. I don't have this pattern yet to verify this, but your review agrees with the others that gave me that impression.
1/19/03 5:29 PM
SouthernStitch said...
Sherril, The funny thing is - I don't have big legs either!! That is what I found so funny about this pattern. Betty, here is the waistband treatment: 1. After securing the ends of the premeasured elastic, quarter and pin to the waistline of pants, lining up edges. 2. Serge the elastic to the edge of the waistband, do not cut the elastic. Let about 1/8" hang off the edge of the fabric, so that gets cut. 3. Stretch as you serge, to the next pinned edge. 4. turn elastic to the inside, and using the sewing machine, topstitch a zigzag stitch, again stretching as you sew, on the outside of the pants. You will be stretching the elastic till the top fabric on the waist is smooth. Zig zag the bottom of the elastic. This method is wonderful. Let me know if you don't understand this and I will email you better instructions. Mary T
1/20/03 0:24 AM
Maria Hatfield said...
Mary you say you used a roller foot ? i dont have one of these, do you have to have one ? and you also say "not" to cut the elastic. but then you say to cut it while your serging it with the fabric. or did i read that wrong ? i just cant seem to get that method down. no matter howmuch i try. so the top of the elastic will be getting cut with the serger right ?
1/20/03 0:46 AM
SouthernStitch said...
Maria, CJ recommends a roller foot or walking foot when topstitching on cotton lycra, but you may do fine without one. Elastic: Let me clarify: CJ says to finish all edges first on the serger. I did not do this on the waistband, knowing I would be serging the elastic to it. You cut the elastic the size you want it to be finished. CJ gives what length to cut, or you cut what is best for your waist. then, sew the edges together so you have the elastic in a circle, ready to serge to the top of the waist on the pants. You don't want your serger knife to cut the elastic as you are serging it on there, so what I did was I pinned the elastic about 1/8" off the waist, so the knife cut a little tiny bit of the top of the waistband as I serged. I find this to give a cleaner finish and it prevented me from cutting the elastic as I serged. Of course, you can also disengage the knife too, but I think it is easier to ensure you enclose both the elastic and the top of the pants nicely when you cut a bit of the waist top off as you serge.
1/20/03 2:46 PM
Sherril Miller said...
I forgot to mention that your link isn't working.
1/20/03 4:48 PM
SouthernStitch said...
I know, I am so happy Deepika is getting us an area here for pics, but in the meantime, I am going to set up my own web page for pics. Thanks, Mary
1/20/03 9:36 PM
Sherril Miller said...
Thanks for the pic Mary. Wish I could see you wearing them.
1/21/03 11:11 PM
Everyday Sewist said...
Mary, thank you so much for describing the waistband. I don't have a serger, but I have used a similar method with the sewing machine. I'm not very good at it but I get the impression it's one of those things that takes practice.
1/21/03 11:43 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Online Sewing Classes
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

BurdaStyle Magazine 07-2007-101
photo
Review by Christina ... on 4/11/08
Read Review

Lolita Patterns Sugar Plum Pattern
Lolita Patterns Sugar Plum Pattern

Details
Price: $20.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Christine Jonson Easy Coat
Christine Jonson Easy Coat

Details
Price: $18.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sis Boom Shannon Dress Digital Pattern
Sis Boom Shannon Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $10.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Maria Denmark Olivia Oversize Tee Digital Pattern
Maria Denmark Olivia Oversize Tee Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $10.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 3754
photo
Review by RobinE on 8/23/11
Read Review

McCalls 6787 Pattern ( Size 7-8-10-12-14 )
McCalls 6787 Pattern ( Size 7-8-10-12-14 )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Loes Hinse Perfect Tee Pattern
Loes Hinse Perfect Tee Pattern

Details
Price: $16.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us