Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Marfy: 9807 (Jacket with "tie front") - Type:Coat/Jacket    printable version
Viewed 996 times
Review rated Very Helpful by 13 people   
Reviewed by:Debra H
photo
About Debra Hstarstarstarstar
NC USA
Member since: 7/16/04
Reviews written: 194
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 213 people
patterns reviewed: 180
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/21/07 11:28 AM
Last Updated:4/21/07 11:28 AM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Sewn Square One
Patterns for Your Style.
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
22 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Heatherrique said...
What a fabulous jacket, Debra!
4/21/07 11:34 AM
carolynw said...
Debra - another beautiful piece of work. I would stay away from stripe slacks with this - taupe or khaki would look good - not sure how you feel about matching the collar for slacks - that may also be quite outstanding. Thanks for another helpful review.
4/21/07 12:02 PM
HawkeMorningStar7 said...
Another stunning number. Very interesting collar. Great review. Love how all your pieces come together.
4/21/07 12:25 PM
Kay Y said...
You are quite a master at matching stripes! Very lovely and unusual jacket. I would have said pick the darkest colour in the stripe (looks like a dark olive green?) for pants but I am not sure how that would work with the contrast so I vote for the blue you used for the collar.
4/21/07 12:33 PM
rosannec said...
What a wonderful jacket, Debra! It's lovely and modern. To make a summery outfit, I would pair the jacket with white trousers and two-toned shoes with a white body and navy toe. You could work a navy hat as the line drawing suggests...
4/21/07 1:56 PM
MaryLynn in Long Beach said...
I love your aesthetic and you always write tremendous reviews. Thanks
4/21/07 1:57 PM
SandraB said...
Your jacket looks great Debra. I am so impressed with the effort you made to match the stripes perfectly at the seams.
4/21/07 2:44 PM
Nancywin said...
Beautiful job on those stripes. I would wear navy or white pants with this jacket. Picking up one of the colors from the stripes would work without being too matchy . A skirt in the color of the upper collar would also look nice. I'm a little apprehensive about starting my first Marfy pattern, but have bought the fabric and will start it sometime soon. You've done a great job!
4/21/07 3:09 PM
Irene Q said...
Beautiful jacket - I always love what you do with stripes!
4/21/07 3:16 PM
OP Gal said...
Another wonderful garment and review. It sure does look to me from the pattern drawing that the "ties" are an extension of the lapels and are used to fasten the jacket. Before I read the review, I was thinking, "What a clever closure." As to colors for slacks, I think I'd either try to match the olive green stripe, the blue collar or go with a khaki. Your stripe matching is amazing!
4/21/07 5:36 PM
hongkongshopper said...
Great jacket.. I would go for white jeans. Or white slacks with a bit of a sporty touch. As for "stuffing" - thats what we Aussies would put in the turkey..lol. We call them shoulder pads too. And Debra, you have inspired me to make a Marfy. A very basic one, but a Marfy none the less. I will post a review later today.
4/21/07 7:11 PM
Linda G said...
Like all of your work the jacket is beautiful. My sister and I conversed about this pattern in a phone conversation not to long ago trying to figure out the tie front just from the picture...I certainly think it would be easier to sew now that you have written this review...Your jacket would go with any neutral color.
4/21/07 8:27 PM
suzanrossi said...
Beautiful work. Your reviews are always so helpful.
4/21/07 9:31 PM
lmg said...
Just stunning. Fantastic work with those stripes and the tie front. Great review.
4/21/07 10:56 PM
Cheryl Reeves said...
Very pretty work, Debra, as always. This is a very unique design and you made it more fabulous with your "stripe work". Great job.
4/22/07 0:34 AM
nofuss said...
Very nice Jacket, love what you did with the stripes - keep up the great work !
4/22/07 4:55 AM
LorelleD said...
Great jacket. Informative review. Thankyou.
4/22/07 6:36 AM
Danvillegirl said...
You are the Marfy Queen. Good job and great review. I think pants in the color of you contrasting collar would look great. Taupe and khaki are great neutrals that IMHO would work well also!
4/22/07 7:34 AM
Karine said...
You've done a beautiful job with this! You're an inspiration for me with the Marfy patterns I look at but fear tackling. I think your jacket has lots of possibilities for good pairings - I'd love to see white pants with that lime shell underneath, or khaki with the blue. Thanks for the very helpful review.
4/23/07 9:23 AM
Charlene McGill said...
AWSOME!!!
4/25/07 8:34 AM
AnneM said...
Great jacket, great review. Hopefully they will solve their sleeve sizing problem. I really like your jacket w/ a matching collar. IMO you could wear this with a lot of colors for pants. I think navy or white would look particularly nice.
5/1/07 5:33 AM
SewTwin said...
Great Jacket! As always, your designs are unique, and expertly done. I would wear the collar color or the color of your top.
5/10/07 0:54 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Online Sewing Classes
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Simplicity 4110
photo
Review by meli88a on 4/6/08
Read Review

Simple Things Cozy Cap Digital Pattern (003)
Simple Things Cozy Cap Digital Pattern (003)

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver S Sailboat Top, Skirt & Pants Digital Pattern ( Size 4-8 )
Oliver   S Sailboat Top, Skirt & Pants Digital Pattern ( Size 4-8 )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

StyleArc Ziggi Jacket
photo
Review by Jrhee on 2/14/14
Read Review

Sewing Workshop Village Bag Pattern
Sewing Workshop Village Bag Pattern

Details
Price: $12.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Islander Sewing Systems Men's Classic Sport Shirt Pattern
Islander Sewing Systems Men's Classic Sport Shirt Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1606 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )
Simplicity 1606 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

New Look 6218 Pattern ( Size NB-S-M-L )
New Look 6218 Pattern ( Size NB-S-M-L )

Details
Price: $3.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us