SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Loes Hinse Designs> 5106 (Bolero Jacket)

23 more reviews
Viewed 2046 times 
Reviewed by:Kelly D.
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Kelly D.star
CA USA
Member since: 4/24/05
Reviews written: 22
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 3 people
patterns reviewed: 20
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/5/08 10:35 AM
Last Updated:1/5/08 10:35 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 28 people   
See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
26 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Wianno Girl said...
great suggestions on shaping the back, it looks lovely sewn!
5/31/12 8:10 PM
JDpenelope said...
Beautiful. I have the pattern and am considering making it. Very nice review.
10/18/09 6:34 PM
Larkin said...
What a nice jacket! Thanks for the suggestions when working with knit and the other fit suggestions. Enjoy!
1/6/08 8:31 PM
Frozzy said...
Beautiful jacket & great review. Thanks for the tailor tack idea, I've got some fabric a lot like this in my sewing line up, and will try that. All of you have such great solutions to fabric/pattern problems!
1/5/08 12:57 PM
marjenann said...
Scrumptious jacket!! Your review was very helpful!! I stay away from sweater knits, but this pattern may be the one to tempt me to give it a try!!
1/5/08 11:31 AM
SewKnitYKnot said...
Your jacket is beautiful. Thanks for the detailed review & explaining how you handled the sweater fabric when making your bolero. Your comments about the instructions & sleeve fit are very helpful.
1/5/08 11:06 AM
moushka said...
Thank you! Great review of a beautiful jacket. Love the fabric and closure. I agree with you that some back shaping is crucial. I add a centre back seam to everything. Sue
7/14/07 2:09 AM
Terri K said...
Great design interpretation! I bought that same knit from a JoAnns in Florida at end of season sale for a 3/4 sleeve Cardigan and a 3/4 Sweater Coat. Thanks for the great review.
5/27/07 1:59 PM
SewTwin said...
Thanks for the review, and pics! Classy lookin' jacket, and fabric. I agree with your darts, and the curved back suggestion. I have never found a pattern that was perfect on every detail. I think the sewist fits the pattern to the body, not the reverse. Of course, we all have our suggestions for each pattern, and I am happy to learn "Anything I can before I sew the same pattern!"...Se la Vie!!
5/10/07 9:05 PM
AnneM said...
Pretty jacket. Thanks for noting what you encountered. Nice idea on the back darts.
5/1/07 5:08 AM
Kelly D. said...
fuzzygalore: Well, I'd been wanting to try this pattern and thought it would be a good match for this fabric. I didn't want a closely fitted jacket, but neither did I want it quite as boxy as it appears on the pattern envelope. It was quick and easy to add the darts and it fits exactly how I'd hoped it would.
4/23/07 10:08 AM
fuzzygalore said...
?? Don't understand why you'd pick out a pattern for a boxy jacket if you wanted a fitted one? But whatever, the result looks good.
4/23/07 4:30 AM
Ann Smith said...
It was fun seeing this on you today. Really pretty combination of fabric and pattern on you.
4/22/07 7:21 PM
LorelleD said...
Lovely jacket. I too like it with the darts. Thanks for the review.
4/22/07 6:33 PM
cmarie12 said...
This is a very nice version of this jacket! It made me remember that I have this pattern and should take it out and look at it again.
4/22/07 1:01 PM
Mufffet said...
Beautiful...the fabric and the style.
4/22/07 11:49 AM
Frogstitcher said...
Really good looking jacket, I love the fabric colors. Well written review.
4/22/07 11:47 AM
carolynw said...
Wonderful looking jacket and very helpful review.
4/22/07 9:36 AM
Jane S said...
I thik you've made this simple jacket into something outstanding. I agree that the back needs shaping and you did a wonderful job modifying it.
4/22/07 7:45 AM
2BSewing said...
Stunning! Love your fabric choice. Beautiful jacket.
4/22/07 7:12 AM
jlg said...
Wow, great job.
4/22/07 6:04 AM
nimble said...
That is just gorgeous!!! I love the fabric you chose!!!
4/22/07 3:04 AM
Cheryl Reeves said...
Good review and pretty jacket. I love this pattern and how easy it goes together. I think it looks great on a variety of figures types. Pretty buttons and closure.
4/22/07 0:25 AM
Annette1 said...
I really like your addition of the darts on this jacket, and good idea using the tailor tacks, too. Beautiful!
4/22/07 0:25 AM
Nancywin said...
Very nice - beautiful fabric, too. Like you, I usually stitch and then serge for the same reasons. thanks for the informative review.
4/21/07 11:42 PM
lmg said...
A beautiful version of this jacket! I love the closure as well. Tres elegant.
4/21/07 11:00 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Leather 101
Leather 101

Register

10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Register

New Look 6658

photo
by: Achallengi...

Review
Self Drafted Pattern 158814-1001

photo
by: Dilliander

Review
Christine Jonson Keyhole Top & Pants for Wovens

Christine Jonson Keyhole Top & Pants for Wovens

Buy Now
You Sew Girl 75mm Purse Frame Purse Pattern

You Sew Girl 75mm Purse Frame Purse Pattern

Buy Now