Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Loes Hinse Designs: 5106 (Bolero Jacket) thumbsup - Type:Coat/Jacket    printable version
Viewed 2022 times 23 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 28 people   
Reviewed by:Kelly D.
photo
Friend of PR
About Kelly D.star
CA USA
Member since: 4/24/05
Reviews written: 21
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 3 people
patterns reviewed: 19
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/5/08 10:35 AM
Last Updated:1/5/08 10:35 AM


See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    
Available for sale on PR: $16.00 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $16.00     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Sewn Square One
Patterns for Your Style.
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
26 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
lmg said...
A beautiful version of this jacket! I love the closure as well. Tres elegant.
4/21/07 11:00 PM
Nancywin said...
Very nice - beautiful fabric, too. Like you, I usually stitch and then serge for the same reasons. thanks for the informative review.
4/21/07 11:42 PM
Annette1 said...
I really like your addition of the darts on this jacket, and good idea using the tailor tacks, too. Beautiful!
4/22/07 0:25 AM
Cheryl Reeves said...
Good review and pretty jacket. I love this pattern and how easy it goes together. I think it looks great on a variety of figures types. Pretty buttons and closure.
4/22/07 0:25 AM
nimble said...
That is just gorgeous!!! I love the fabric you chose!!!
4/22/07 3:04 AM
jlg said...
Wow, great job.
4/22/07 6:04 AM
2BSewing said...
Stunning! Love your fabric choice. Beautiful jacket.
4/22/07 7:12 AM
Jane S said...
I thik you've made this simple jacket into something outstanding. I agree that the back needs shaping and you did a wonderful job modifying it.
4/22/07 7:45 AM
carolynw said...
Wonderful looking jacket and very helpful review.
4/22/07 9:36 AM
Frogstitcher said...
Really good looking jacket, I love the fabric colors. Well written review.
4/22/07 11:47 AM
Mufffet said...
Beautiful...the fabric and the style.
4/22/07 11:49 AM
cmarie12 said...
This is a very nice version of this jacket! It made me remember that I have this pattern and should take it out and look at it again.
4/22/07 1:01 PM
LorelleD said...
Lovely jacket. I too like it with the darts. Thanks for the review.
4/22/07 6:33 PM
Ann Smith said...
It was fun seeing this on you today. Really pretty combination of fabric and pattern on you.
4/22/07 7:21 PM
fuzzygalore said...
?? Don't understand why you'd pick out a pattern for a boxy jacket if you wanted a fitted one? But whatever, the result looks good.
4/23/07 4:30 AM
Kelly D. said...
fuzzygalore: Well, I'd been wanting to try this pattern and thought it would be a good match for this fabric. I didn't want a closely fitted jacket, but neither did I want it quite as boxy as it appears on the pattern envelope. It was quick and easy to add the darts and it fits exactly how I'd hoped it would.
4/23/07 10:08 AM
AnneM said...
Pretty jacket. Thanks for noting what you encountered. Nice idea on the back darts.
5/1/07 5:08 AM
SewTwin said...
Thanks for the review, and pics! Classy lookin' jacket, and fabric. I agree with your darts, and the curved back suggestion. I have never found a pattern that was perfect on every detail. I think the sewist fits the pattern to the body, not the reverse. Of course, we all have our suggestions for each pattern, and I am happy to learn "Anything I can before I sew the same pattern!"...Se la Vie!!
5/10/07 9:05 PM
Terri K said...
Great design interpretation! I bought that same knit from a JoAnns in Florida at end of season sale for a 3/4 sleeve Cardigan and a 3/4 Sweater Coat. Thanks for the great review.
5/27/07 1:59 PM
moushka said...
Thank you! Great review of a beautiful jacket. Love the fabric and closure. I agree with you that some back shaping is crucial. I add a centre back seam to everything. Sue
7/14/07 2:09 AM
SewKnitYKnot said...
Your jacket is beautiful. Thanks for the detailed review & explaining how you handled the sweater fabric when making your bolero. Your comments about the instructions & sleeve fit are very helpful.
1/5/08 11:06 AM
marjenann said...
Scrumptious jacket!! Your review was very helpful!! I stay away from sweater knits, but this pattern may be the one to tempt me to give it a try!!
1/5/08 11:31 AM
Frozzy said...
Beautiful jacket & great review. Thanks for the tailor tack idea, I've got some fabric a lot like this in my sewing line up, and will try that. All of you have such great solutions to fabric/pattern problems!
1/5/08 12:57 PM
Larkin said...
What a nice jacket! Thanks for the suggestions when working with knit and the other fit suggestions. Enjoy!
1/6/08 8:31 PM
JDpenelope said...
Beautiful. I have the pattern and am considering making it. Very nice review.
10/18/09 6:34 PM
Wianno Girl said...
great suggestions on shaping the back, it looks lovely sewn!
5/31/12 8:10 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Altering Jackets
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Jackets

Online Sewing Classes
Bust Adjustments
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Bust Adjustments

McCall's 5527
photo
Review by SueV on 5/25/08
Read Review

Burda 6972 Pattern
Burda 6972 Pattern

Details
Price: $12.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 5153 Pattern ( Size SML-MED-LRG-XLG )
Butterick 5153 Pattern ( Size SML-MED-LRG-XLG )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

BurdaStyle Magazine 10-2006-111B coat #111b
photo
Review by LMH on 4/16/07
Read Review

Blank Slate Super Skinny Pants Digital Pattern
Blank Slate Super Skinny Pants Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Megan Nielsen Ruched Maternity Skirt Digital Pattern
Megan Nielsen Ruched Maternity Skirt Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $12.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

ADVANCED SLEEVE - A CD Book by Kenneth King
ADVANCED SLEEVE - A CD Book by Kenneth King

Details
Price: $24.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Victory Roxanne Paper Pattern
Victory Roxanne Paper Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us