Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Marfy: 1243 - Type:Coat/Jacket    printable version
Viewed 1515 times
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 14 people   
Reviewed by:lmg
photo
Friend of PR
About lmgstarstar
NA CANADA
Member since: 1/5/05
Reviews written: 72
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 28 people
patterns reviewed: 72
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/23/07 0:03 AM
Last Updated:6/11/07 11:01 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
40 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Nancywin said...
beautiful jacket. Would love to see more pictures of the details.
4/23/07 1:27 AM
CarolynGM said...
It is the ultimate compliment when a teenage daughter absconds with something you made for yourself! The jacket design is gorgeous, so you really must make another one for yourself right away.
4/23/07 7:40 AM
MissCelie said...
You are right, this would look fabulous in denim. Great work and thanks for the very helpful review.
4/23/07 7:40 AM
Kay Y said...
I too would love to see more pictures, but maybe we'll wait for YOURS! It looks great on your DD.
4/23/07 9:38 AM
crisford said...
Wow! Very nice! After reading your fabulous review, I'll just have to try sewing a Marfy pattern!
4/23/07 10:44 AM
Levone said...
Great jacket and review.
4/23/07 11:56 AM
Leora said...
It does look challenging. Nicely done!
4/23/07 2:21 PM
JaneH said...
Beautiful work!!
4/23/07 3:50 PM
hongkongshopper said...
Well done. I have been eyeing this pattern for a while....so cute.
4/24/07 4:50 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Great job!
4/24/07 5:24 AM
MammaJamma said...
Good descriptions and details in your review. I think you should upgrade your sewing skill title to "advanced". You give me hope to try Marfy.
4/24/07 8:22 AM
Marji said...
Great review and description of the pattern/process. Will look forward to seeing the one you make for yourself. Maybe the highest complement from our kids is when they want what we make.
4/24/07 10:34 AM
Sewingmi said...
Wow...that is really impressive! What a beautiful jacket!
4/24/07 7:05 PM
AnneM said...
Nice jacket. How dare your daughter steal your jacket! (Can't ask for a better compliment than that.) Great style, nice that it goes together well.
5/3/07 4:57 PM
Erica B. said...
That is beautiful! I love the contrasting topstitching!
6/11/07 11:05 PM
touran said...
That is so beautiful and so beautifully made. The tailoring on it is superb.
6/11/07 11:05 PM
CSY said...
That's a WOW!
6/11/07 11:15 PM
ladybegood said...
DANG!!! That jacket is hot! I think that it would look great with a print that has some blue in it, but also some warmer colors to make the metallic element pop. I also think that something soft, like a floral or something would be a nice contrast for the linear aspect of the design. But really, you could wear that jacket over a house dress and still look slammin'.
6/11/07 11:36 PM
krystalkaes said...
Holy Cats! That jacket rocks!
6/12/07 0:37 AM
hongkongshopper said...
I like what you have done with this! Very special !!
6/12/07 1:35 AM
Kay Romo said...
Great job. I would pair it with a yoked eyelet skirt.
6/12/07 2:14 AM
Tany said...
Beautiful work as always!
6/12/07 3:53 AM
MissCelie said...
Gah! That is stunning.
6/12/07 6:08 AM
MarilynB said...
Bravo, you have turned this pattern into one hot jacket.
6/12/07 6:41 AM
Linda G said...
YOur jacket is beautiful.
6/12/07 7:27 AM
LauraM62 said...
Great looking jacket! I think it would have many uses!
6/12/07 7:44 AM
carolynw said...
Oh my gosh - this is beautiful and I hope you won't think I am being rude - looks much nicer than the first. Great fit - fab fabric - this rocks girl!
6/12/07 8:46 AM
Leslie in Austin said...
That is so totally beautiful. Love the styling and your choice of fabrics, and the fit looks *perfect*. Also looks like my size, so if you ever tire of having that in your wardrobe, you can just send it down south to me. :-)
6/12/07 8:52 AM
Marji said...
This next version is fabulous! How about silvery-grey with it?
6/12/07 8:53 AM
Kay Y said...
Gorgeous jacket! It's a bit hard to tell on screen but I second the idea of wearing it with a print with lots of blue in it. Something flowy might be a nice contrast.
6/12/07 8:57 AM
cindyann said...
I want that jacket! I love it. I wouldn't pair it with more of the same denim, but I think it would look great with something in a small print. Skirt or dress for example. Or maybe a cool nautical vibe with a pair of white pants?
6/12/07 8:58 AM
Nancy K said...
I have been eying this jacket and I am glad for the review. I think that this one fits better than the first you did. Did you make any changes other than interfacing? It is a very interesting jacket and looks quite lovely on you.
6/12/07 9:01 AM
Leslie Bonner said...
Absolutely gorgeous jacket, beautiful fabric.
6/12/07 6:57 PM
Mary Stiefer said...
What a classy looking jacket. I think this is one you could dress up or dress down - wear with jeans and a nice top or some great slacks or skirt.
6/12/07 7:07 PM
Sew4Fun said...
Nice jacket. The fabric and contrast topstitching really show off the details.
6/13/07 2:25 AM
Membear said...
Its great I think you are right about the head to toe look Though. I would wear neutral black on the bottom and let the jacket do all the talking.
6/13/07 3:23 AM
nancy2001 said...
Stunning jacket.
6/14/07 8:49 PM
XandraReynolds said...
Love it-love the sheen from the metallic denim and the fit on you! As far as what to wear it with-if you could find a denim really close to the color of your jacket, but not in the metallic, don't you think it would make an interesting contrast?
8/11/07 8:03 AM
Dmd4106 said...
Gorgeous jacket! love the denim
11/14/07 8:45 AM
Marita Kinnula said...
What a great jacket:-)
11/14/07 9:49 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Online Sewing Classes
Altering Pants
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Pants

Ottobre Design Magazine 01-2006-37 Frilly Blouse
photo
Review by Lori V on 4/2/06
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Ella Party Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Ella Party Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Apple-Picking Dress Digital Pattern (Size 6M-4)
Oliver + S Apple-Picking Dress Digital Pattern (Size 6M-4)

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCall's 5804
photo
Review by 3kids1036 on 8/4/10
Read Review

Favorite Things Eco Market Tote Pattern
Favorite Things Eco Market Tote Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

SewBaby Snap Happy Diaper Covers Pattern
SewBaby Snap Happy Diaper Covers Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 5958 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )
Butterick 5958 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

New Look 6245 Pattern ( Size XS-S-M-L-XL )
New Look 6245 Pattern ( Size XS-S-M-L-XL )

Details
Price: $3.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us