SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> 5315 (Dress)

5 more reviews
Viewed 1832 times 
Reviewed by:AlexaNJ
photo

 
 
About AlexaNJstar
NJ USA
Member since: 4/10/07
Reviews written: 26
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 14 people
patterns reviewed: 26
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/22/07 10:40 PM
Last Updated:10/12/07 11:05 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 4 people    Very Helpful by 7 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
25 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Bettsi said...
It looks great! You should be really proud of yourself.
2/23/08 0:25 AM
AlexaNJ said...
Heather - The picture was taken at a wedding and I thought it would be a nice update for my review. Thank you everyone for your comments!!
10/19/07 1:01 PM
Kellie R. said...
Very cute dress - it has a retro 60's feel about it for which your slim figure is perfect! Great job!
10/14/07 11:52 AM
ryan's mom said...
So pretty! Darn, I think I'm going to have to buy another pattern :) .
10/13/07 4:10 PM
Heatherrique said...
Your a knockout in your "better than J.Crew's" dress! I like that "dynamic duo" picture! Where was it taken (nice background also)?
10/13/07 11:43 AM
loohoo44 said...
I like your print better! It turned out great, congrats!
10/12/07 11:23 PM
cindy-lou said...
Gorgeous dress! They really need to put yours on the envelope-- it's MUCH nicer than theirs. Gorgeous!
10/12/07 11:13 PM
Margriet said...
There is a similar Kwik Sew # 3492 pattern out. The drawings look quite awful and uninspiring, but the photos on their website (pdf) look better and show the similarities to your altered design. Beautiful dress! Love your attitude!
5/27/07 7:36 PM
Beve said...
lovely dress..and a very nice job! You look great in it...
5/5/07 5:40 PM
Christina Sonja said...
Looks great on you! Hope you had a good time at your event.
5/5/07 11:30 AM
carolynw said...
Beautiful dress and I am sure you must be pleased at making it for so much less than the RTW. Yours looks wonderful!
5/5/07 9:31 AM
AlexaNJ said...
Thank you everyone for your kind comments! The dance is Friday and I will def. update and post pictures of me in it! Last night I (finally)finished the straps and it is wearable! Thanks again!!
5/2/07 8:48 AM
AnneM said...
Congrats on your dress. If asked, you can just say "Oh, this was customed made rather than buy the J Crew version."
5/1/07 6:29 PM
Laurie Lou said...
I like your rendition of the J Crew and your alterations to the pattern look great. Plus you will probably smile a lot more wearing it because of the dough you saved to buy more fabric!!!
4/25/07 2:16 PM
OP Gal said...
I love it when someone knocks of an overpriced RTW dress, and you've done a beautiful job. Have great fun at your reunion. Your outfit sounds lovely.
4/23/07 3:37 PM
Soliel said...
Good for you! I agree that lengthening made it so you had to take in with the darts...because the orginal bodice was only for a bust. I am amazed how only one inch really changed the design of the dress, totally. Have a great time and looking forward to your photos!
4/23/07 11:09 AM
maiaj said...
Very beautiful, I love the fabric and you did a great job altering the pattern to suit your needs!!
4/23/07 9:17 AM
cathy45 said...
Beautiful dress! Great knock-off.
4/23/07 9:07 AM
Jane S said...
Wow what a beautiful dress, you will lok wondeful wearing it. Now as Shirley Adams taught, you "saved" almost $600 which you can use for machines, fabric, buttons....:-)
4/23/07 8:01 AM
MissCelie said...
Great modification. I too fall in love with J. Crew and get sticker shock when I think about purchasing.
4/23/07 7:43 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Cute dress; you did a great job of modifying to replicate the $650 dress.
4/23/07 5:33 AM
Christina Sonja said...
I love that silk print. Great dress :)
4/23/07 2:41 AM
Annette1 said...
What a beautiful dress you have here! I can see why you're excited to post it, and I'm glad you did. :o)
4/23/07 0:46 AM
yummymummy38 said...
looking forward to the updated pics, include one of the back please
4/22/07 11:53 PM
Em's Summer said...
Your dress looks so cute and soo very trendy! I want one, too! And I really enjoy reviews written by people who are excited about what they made! Great review!
4/22/07 10:55 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Understanding Interfacings
Understanding Interfacings

Register

Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Register

Butterick 5497

photo
by: Lori V

Review
SewBaby Petal Jacket Pattern

SewBaby Petal Jacket Pattern

Buy Now
You Sew Girl Kids Hats Pattern

You Sew Girl Kids Hats Pattern

Buy Now
No Pattern Used 0000

photo
by: fourkid

Review