Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
McCall's: 5315 (Dress) thumbsup - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 1831 times 5 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 4 people    Very Helpful by 7 people   
Reviewed by:AlexaNJ
photo
About AlexaNJstar
NJ USA
Member since: 4/10/07
Reviews written: 26
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 14 people
patterns reviewed: 26
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/22/07 10:40 PM
Last Updated:10/12/07 11:05 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
25 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Em's Summer said...
Your dress looks so cute and soo very trendy! I want one, too! And I really enjoy reviews written by people who are excited about what they made! Great review!
4/22/07 10:55 PM
yummymummy38 said...
looking forward to the updated pics, include one of the back please
4/22/07 11:53 PM
Annette1 said...
What a beautiful dress you have here! I can see why you're excited to post it, and I'm glad you did. :o)
4/23/07 0:46 AM
Christina Sonja said...
I love that silk print. Great dress :)
4/23/07 2:41 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Cute dress; you did a great job of modifying to replicate the $650 dress.
4/23/07 5:33 AM
MissCelie said...
Great modification. I too fall in love with J. Crew and get sticker shock when I think about purchasing.
4/23/07 7:43 AM
Jane S said...
Wow what a beautiful dress, you will lok wondeful wearing it. Now as Shirley Adams taught, you "saved" almost $600 which you can use for machines, fabric, buttons....:-)
4/23/07 8:01 AM
cathy45 said...
Beautiful dress! Great knock-off.
4/23/07 9:07 AM
maiaj said...
Very beautiful, I love the fabric and you did a great job altering the pattern to suit your needs!!
4/23/07 9:17 AM
Soliel said...
Good for you! I agree that lengthening made it so you had to take in with the darts...because the orginal bodice was only for a bust. I am amazed how only one inch really changed the design of the dress, totally. Have a great time and looking forward to your photos!
4/23/07 11:09 AM
OP Gal said...
I love it when someone knocks of an overpriced RTW dress, and you've done a beautiful job. Have great fun at your reunion. Your outfit sounds lovely.
4/23/07 3:37 PM
Laurie Lou said...
I like your rendition of the J Crew and your alterations to the pattern look great. Plus you will probably smile a lot more wearing it because of the dough you saved to buy more fabric!!!
4/25/07 2:16 PM
AnneM said...
Congrats on your dress. If asked, you can just say "Oh, this was customed made rather than buy the J Crew version."
5/1/07 6:29 PM
AlexaNJ said...
Thank you everyone for your kind comments! The dance is Friday and I will def. update and post pictures of me in it! Last night I (finally)finished the straps and it is wearable! Thanks again!!
5/2/07 8:48 AM
carolynw said...
Beautiful dress and I am sure you must be pleased at making it for so much less than the RTW. Yours looks wonderful!
5/5/07 9:31 AM
Christina Sonja said...
Looks great on you! Hope you had a good time at your event.
5/5/07 11:30 AM
Beve said...
lovely dress..and a very nice job! You look great in it...
5/5/07 5:40 PM
Margriet said...
There is a similar Kwik Sew # 3492 pattern out. The drawings look quite awful and uninspiring, but the photos on their website (pdf) look better and show the similarities to your altered design. Beautiful dress! Love your attitude!
5/27/07 7:36 PM
cindy-lou said...
Gorgeous dress! They really need to put yours on the envelope-- it's MUCH nicer than theirs. Gorgeous!
10/12/07 11:13 PM
loohoo44 said...
I like your print better! It turned out great, congrats!
10/12/07 11:23 PM
Heatherrique said...
Your a knockout in your "better than J.Crew's" dress! I like that "dynamic duo" picture! Where was it taken (nice background also)?
10/13/07 11:43 AM
ryan's mom said...
So pretty! Darn, I think I'm going to have to buy another pattern :) .
10/13/07 4:10 PM
Kellie R. said...
Very cute dress - it has a retro 60's feel about it for which your slim figure is perfect! Great job!
10/14/07 11:52 AM
AlexaNJ said...
Heather - The picture was taken at a wedding and I thought it would be a nice update for my review. Thank you everyone for your comments!!
10/19/07 1:01 PM
Bettsi said...
It looks great! You should be really proud of yourself.
2/23/08 0:25 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Online Sewing Classes
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Christine Jonson 1010
photo
Review by SueV on 6/29/10
Read Review

Towne Purse
Towne Purse

Details
Price: $8.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

PerfectFuse Medium White
PerfectFuse Medium White

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Angela Osborn Bobby Shorts Digital Pattern (SS10-11-401)
Angela Osborn Bobby Shorts Digital Pattern (SS10-11-401)

Details
Price: $9.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Salme Sundress Digital Pattern
Salme Sundress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $8.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 2759
photo
Review by drsue on 2/4/05
Read Review

McCalls 6105 Pattern ( Size )
McCalls 6105 Pattern ( Size  )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 5964 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )
Butterick 5964 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us