SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> 5315 (Dress)

5 more reviews
Viewed 1832 times 
Reviewed by:AlexaNJ
photo

 
 
About AlexaNJstar
NJ USA
Member since: 4/10/07
Reviews written: 26
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 14 people
patterns reviewed: 26
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/22/07 10:40 PM
Last Updated:10/12/07 11:05 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 4 people    Very Helpful by 7 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
25 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Em's Summer said...
Your dress looks so cute and soo very trendy! I want one, too! And I really enjoy reviews written by people who are excited about what they made! Great review!
4/22/07 10:55 PM
yummymummy38 said...
looking forward to the updated pics, include one of the back please
4/22/07 11:53 PM
Annette1 said...
What a beautiful dress you have here! I can see why you're excited to post it, and I'm glad you did. :o)
4/23/07 0:46 AM
Christina Sonja said...
I love that silk print. Great dress :)
4/23/07 2:41 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Cute dress; you did a great job of modifying to replicate the $650 dress.
4/23/07 5:33 AM
MissCelie said...
Great modification. I too fall in love with J. Crew and get sticker shock when I think about purchasing.
4/23/07 7:43 AM
Jane S said...
Wow what a beautiful dress, you will lok wondeful wearing it. Now as Shirley Adams taught, you "saved" almost $600 which you can use for machines, fabric, buttons....:-)
4/23/07 8:01 AM
cathy45 said...
Beautiful dress! Great knock-off.
4/23/07 9:07 AM
maiaj said...
Very beautiful, I love the fabric and you did a great job altering the pattern to suit your needs!!
4/23/07 9:17 AM
Soliel said...
Good for you! I agree that lengthening made it so you had to take in with the darts...because the orginal bodice was only for a bust. I am amazed how only one inch really changed the design of the dress, totally. Have a great time and looking forward to your photos!
4/23/07 11:09 AM
OP Gal said...
I love it when someone knocks of an overpriced RTW dress, and you've done a beautiful job. Have great fun at your reunion. Your outfit sounds lovely.
4/23/07 3:37 PM
Laurie Lou said...
I like your rendition of the J Crew and your alterations to the pattern look great. Plus you will probably smile a lot more wearing it because of the dough you saved to buy more fabric!!!
4/25/07 2:16 PM
AnneM said...
Congrats on your dress. If asked, you can just say "Oh, this was customed made rather than buy the J Crew version."
5/1/07 6:29 PM
AlexaNJ said...
Thank you everyone for your kind comments! The dance is Friday and I will def. update and post pictures of me in it! Last night I (finally)finished the straps and it is wearable! Thanks again!!
5/2/07 8:48 AM
carolynw said...
Beautiful dress and I am sure you must be pleased at making it for so much less than the RTW. Yours looks wonderful!
5/5/07 9:31 AM
Christina Sonja said...
Looks great on you! Hope you had a good time at your event.
5/5/07 11:30 AM
Beve said...
lovely dress..and a very nice job! You look great in it...
5/5/07 5:40 PM
Margriet said...
There is a similar Kwik Sew # 3492 pattern out. The drawings look quite awful and uninspiring, but the photos on their website (pdf) look better and show the similarities to your altered design. Beautiful dress! Love your attitude!
5/27/07 7:36 PM
cindy-lou said...
Gorgeous dress! They really need to put yours on the envelope-- it's MUCH nicer than theirs. Gorgeous!
10/12/07 11:13 PM
loohoo44 said...
I like your print better! It turned out great, congrats!
10/12/07 11:23 PM
Heatherrique said...
Your a knockout in your "better than J.Crew's" dress! I like that "dynamic duo" picture! Where was it taken (nice background also)?
10/13/07 11:43 AM
ryan's mom said...
So pretty! Darn, I think I'm going to have to buy another pattern :) .
10/13/07 4:10 PM
Kellie R. said...
Very cute dress - it has a retro 60's feel about it for which your slim figure is perfect! Great job!
10/14/07 11:52 AM
AlexaNJ said...
Heather - The picture was taken at a wedding and I thought it would be a nice update for my review. Thank you everyone for your comments!!
10/19/07 1:01 PM
Bettsi said...
It looks great! You should be really proud of yourself.
2/23/08 0:25 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Register

Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Register

Kwik Sew 3089

photo
by: vchan38

Review
WhatNots

WhatNots

Buy Now
Fit For Art Sleeve & Cuff Variations for Tabula Rasa Jacket Pattern

Fit For Art Sleeve & Cuff Variations for Tabula Rasa Jacket Pattern

Buy Now
Simplicity 9966

photo
by: queenlathe...

Review