SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Self Drafted Pattern> 42394-1001 (madhatter's A-line skirt)

Viewed 860 times 
Reviewed by:Helen near Sydney
photo

 
 
About Helen near Sydneystarstarstar
AUSTRALIA
Member since: 10/21/05
Reviews written: 119
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 62 people
patterns reviewed: 97
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/31/07 5:43 PM
Last Updated:4/23/07 5:20 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 11 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns


Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
15 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
MissCelie said...
I adore the button and the perfect topstitching!
4/23/07 7:32 AM
ckck said...
Wow! What a great skirt and with none of the dramas of having to alter a commercial pattern.
4/23/07 7:58 AM
cindy-lou said...
Wow, that's a beautiful, and beautifully done, skirt. Did you topstitch ALL the fabric in the body of the skirt, or just the lower border? I can't tell from the pics. Beautiful!
4/23/07 8:27 AM
Lynngray said...
Wow, I love it. Great work and ideas Thanks
4/23/07 9:50 AM
grandmasews said...
Great skirt and review. Do you have any interfacing or lining in the skirt. Or did you only interface the boder? Seems to hang so nicely.
4/23/07 10:03 AM
Sanibelle said...
The band with the button are such a great idea. I can't wait to see what you come up with next. :)
4/23/07 1:19 PM
F and L said...
That is just beautiful. I adore the fabrics.
4/23/07 3:54 PM
carolynw said...
Lovely - love the design details
4/23/07 4:09 PM
Schnauzer said...
Very nice Helen. I love the button idea!
4/23/07 7:24 PM
CarolynGM said...
Excellent drafting -- the fit looks just perfect. It makes me dizzy to think about topstitching that band, but the result is so refreshingly original.
4/23/07 8:43 PM
OP Gal said...
What an adorable skirt. I love the coordinating fabrics, and the button bad is wonderful. Great job!
4/23/07 8:54 PM
HenriettenDK said...
It looks very expensive - great job!
4/24/07 3:33 AM
madhatter said...
helen, this is GORGEOUS! i love your fabric choice and the design changes you've made with the topstitched hemline - wow! an adorable skirt! (and thanks for the review, i really feel honored!)
4/25/07 3:59 AM
Helen near Sydney said...
Thanks for the generous comments. To respond, I topstitched the band which added stiffness. The skirt felt limp by comparison but I didn't want to line it or interface an unlined skirt so I decided to topstitch the entire skirt. It took a while but is very straight forward sewing and had the desired effect.
4/27/07 8:02 AM
Blooms said...
The small pic looks great...I'm just sorry we can't see the bigger pictures any more
4/3/08 5:33 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Register

Altering Pants
Altering Pants

Register

Vogue Patterns 8898

photo
by: SecondHand...

Review
Christine Jonson Travel Trio Two

Christine Jonson Travel Trio Two

Buy Now
Jamie Christina Pretty Ditty Apron Pattern (JC303PD)

Jamie Christina Pretty Ditty Apron Pattern (JC303PD)

Buy Now