SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Self Drafted Pattern> 42394-1001 (madhatter's A-line skirt)

Viewed 860 times 
Reviewed by:Helen near Sydney
photo

 
 
About Helen near Sydneystarstarstar
AUSTRALIA
Member since: 10/21/05
Reviews written: 129
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 63 people
patterns reviewed: 107
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/31/07 5:43 PM
Last Updated:4/23/07 5:20 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 11 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
15 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Blooms said...
The small pic looks great...I'm just sorry we can't see the bigger pictures any more
4/3/08 5:33 AM
Helen near Sydney said...
Thanks for the generous comments. To respond, I topstitched the band which added stiffness. The skirt felt limp by comparison but I didn't want to line it or interface an unlined skirt so I decided to topstitch the entire skirt. It took a while but is very straight forward sewing and had the desired effect.
4/27/07 8:02 AM
madhatter said...
helen, this is GORGEOUS! i love your fabric choice and the design changes you've made with the topstitched hemline - wow! an adorable skirt! (and thanks for the review, i really feel honored!)
4/25/07 3:59 AM
HenriettenDK said...
It looks very expensive - great job!
4/24/07 3:33 AM
OP Gal said...
What an adorable skirt. I love the coordinating fabrics, and the button bad is wonderful. Great job!
4/23/07 8:54 PM
CarolynGM said...
Excellent drafting -- the fit looks just perfect. It makes me dizzy to think about topstitching that band, but the result is so refreshingly original.
4/23/07 8:43 PM
Schnauzer said...
Very nice Helen. I love the button idea!
4/23/07 7:24 PM
carolynw said...
Lovely - love the design details
4/23/07 4:09 PM
F and L said...
That is just beautiful. I adore the fabrics.
4/23/07 3:54 PM
Sanibelle said...
The band with the button are such a great idea. I can't wait to see what you come up with next. :)
4/23/07 1:19 PM
grandmasews said...
Great skirt and review. Do you have any interfacing or lining in the skirt. Or did you only interface the boder? Seems to hang so nicely.
4/23/07 10:03 AM
Lynngray said...
Wow, I love it. Great work and ideas Thanks
4/23/07 9:50 AM
cindy-lou said...
Wow, that's a beautiful, and beautifully done, skirt. Did you topstitch ALL the fabric in the body of the skirt, or just the lower border? I can't tell from the pics. Beautiful!
4/23/07 8:27 AM
ckck said...
Wow! What a great skirt and with none of the dramas of having to alter a commercial pattern.
4/23/07 7:58 AM
MissCelie said...
I adore the button and the perfect topstitching!
4/23/07 7:32 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Class Details

Online Class
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Class Details

You Sew Girl 200mm Chunky Frame Purse Pattern

You Sew Girl 200mm Chunky Frame Purse Pattern

More Info
Sew Chic Spin Skirt Pattern (ln1209)

Sew Chic Spin Skirt Pattern (ln1209)

More Info
BurdaStyle Downloadable 9306

photo
by: liliv

Review