Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Self Drafted Pattern: 42394-1001 (madhatter's A-line skirt) - Type:Skirts    printable version
Viewed 860 times
Review rated Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 11 people   
Reviewed by:Helen near Sydney
photo
About Helen near Sydneystarstarstar
AUSTRALIA
Member since: 10/21/05
Reviews written: 116
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 62 people
patterns reviewed: 94
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/31/07 5:43 PM
Last Updated:4/23/07 5:20 AM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
15 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
MissCelie said...
I adore the button and the perfect topstitching!
4/23/07 7:32 AM
ckck said...
Wow! What a great skirt and with none of the dramas of having to alter a commercial pattern.
4/23/07 7:58 AM
cindy-lou said...
Wow, that's a beautiful, and beautifully done, skirt. Did you topstitch ALL the fabric in the body of the skirt, or just the lower border? I can't tell from the pics. Beautiful!
4/23/07 8:27 AM
Lynngray said...
Wow, I love it. Great work and ideas Thanks
4/23/07 9:50 AM
grandmasews said...
Great skirt and review. Do you have any interfacing or lining in the skirt. Or did you only interface the boder? Seems to hang so nicely.
4/23/07 10:03 AM
Sanibelle said...
The band with the button are such a great idea. I can't wait to see what you come up with next. :)
4/23/07 1:19 PM
F and L said...
That is just beautiful. I adore the fabrics.
4/23/07 3:54 PM
carolynw said...
Lovely - love the design details
4/23/07 4:09 PM
Schnauzer said...
Very nice Helen. I love the button idea!
4/23/07 7:24 PM
CarolynGM said...
Excellent drafting -- the fit looks just perfect. It makes me dizzy to think about topstitching that band, but the result is so refreshingly original.
4/23/07 8:43 PM
OP Gal said...
What an adorable skirt. I love the coordinating fabrics, and the button bad is wonderful. Great job!
4/23/07 8:54 PM
HenriettenDK said...
It looks very expensive - great job!
4/24/07 3:33 AM
madhatter said...
helen, this is GORGEOUS! i love your fabric choice and the design changes you've made with the topstitched hemline - wow! an adorable skirt! (and thanks for the review, i really feel honored!)
4/25/07 3:59 AM
Helen near Sydney said...
Thanks for the generous comments. To respond, I topstitched the band which added stiffness. The skirt felt limp by comparison but I didn't want to line it or interface an unlined skirt so I decided to topstitch the entire skirt. It took a while but is very straight forward sewing and had the desired effect.
4/27/07 8:02 AM
Blooms said...
The small pic looks great...I'm just sorry we can't see the bigger pictures any more
4/3/08 5:33 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Online Sewing Classes
Sewing Basics
Fee: $14.99
(Regular $14.99)
Sewing Basics

Simplicity 3557 Easy to sew
photo
Review by tatterbat on 6/2/08
Read Review

New Look 6141 Pattern ( Size 4-6-8-10-12-14-16 )
New Look 6141 Pattern ( Size 4-6-8-10-12-14-16 )

Details
Price: $4.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 4377 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20 )
Butterick 4377 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 3316 Girl's Dress
photo
Review by Kalena on 1/31/08
Read Review

Oliver + S Sketchbook Shirt + Shorts Digital Pattern
Oliver + S Sketchbook Shirt + Shorts Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Vivienne Party Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Vivienne Party Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop MixIt Shirt, Top & Tank Pattern
Sewing Workshop MixIt Shirt, Top & Tank Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

SewBaby Animal Mittens Pattern
SewBaby Animal Mittens Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us