SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> 4766 (DRESS NY JUNIOR)

1 more reviews
Viewed 1318 times 
Reviewed by:Babouche
photo

 
 
About Babouchestar
NA FRANCE
Member since: 4/23/07
Reviews written: 3
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 1 people
patterns reviewed: 3
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/23/07 10:10 AM
Last Updated:2/17/08 5:00 AM
Pattern Size:Petite 


Review Rating: Helpful by 4 people    Very Helpful by 5 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
28 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Kellie R. said...
That's so pretty! It has a touch of vintage with color and skirt. Great job.
2/18/08 7:24 PM
cindyann said...
Very pretty. What a beautiful color!
2/17/08 11:42 AM
causticmuse said...
You did a wonderful job on blending two patterns together to get the look you wanted, and the dress fits you very well! The funny thing is that I own a vintage Vogue Givenchy pattern from the 80s that is very much like what you have made! :)
2/17/08 9:38 AM
carolynw said...
C'est magnifique - hope that's correct French - this is really beautiful and you did a wonderfull job.
2/17/08 8:52 AM
Fabienne301 said...
Wonderful! And you are an intermediate sewer? And you successfully lengthened the midsection to make a bustier top? I would call you advanced now...beautiful job. Strapless garments are tough, combining two patterns is tough, silk is tough and you made a magnificent piece out of all of that. The color is grand on you as well. I am sorry I didn't see this before.
2/17/08 8:50 AM
Fabienne301 said...
Wonderful! And you are an intermediate sewer? And you successfully lengthened the midsection to make a bustier top? I would call you advanced now...beautiful job. Strapless garments are tough, combining two patterns is tough, silk is tough and you made a magnificent piece out of all of that. The color is grand on you as well. I am sorry I didn't see this before. By the way, I suspect you mean "gathers" rather than "pleats". Pleats are regular rather geometric folds in fabric (like the pleats in a Scotsman's kilt). Gathers are soft bunchings of the fabric usually done by running long basting stitches and then pulling the threads until the fabric has compresses and stands out a bit from the seam, like puffed sleeves. Similar words in meaning but...you know sewing and you know English both difficult and you do so well with both!
2/17/08 8:45 AM
Bonnie O said...
Very pretty dress. Fits very well and I love the color.
2/17/08 8:21 AM
ryan's mom said...
So pretty! I love the style and color.
2/17/08 8:10 AM
KathleenS said...
English is my native language and I'm not sure if they're pleats or folds either! Either way, they look great and so does the rest of the dress!
2/17/08 6:54 AM
AlexaNJ said...
You did an awesome job in recreating a designer dress and making it your very own! Great job!! :)
5/5/07 10:05 AM
AnneM said...
Congrats on your dress; you should be thrilled. Nice style (& I like it better in your green than her skin-tone dress). Speaking of your green, your dress certainly shows all that hard work better than the black pattern picture.
5/3/07 4:40 PM
cathy45 said...
Such a pretty dress! Well done.
4/24/07 9:24 AM
Babouche said...
I added a short picture because Soliel asked me about the "pleats" she didn't see; I am french so I don't know the good translation for "pli", maybe it is not pleats but folds ... Tell me, I would love to improve my english ! I didnt' make the "pli" very straight because I didn't want them to be too regular !
4/24/07 5:13 AM
hongkongshopper said...
So you should be proud - it is great! Well done!
4/24/07 4:40 AM
Babouche said...
Thank you very much for your comments, but please do yours, I would be very pleased that someone make the same dress !
4/24/07 3:34 AM
Nancywin said...
absolutely stunning. I love what you did with the bodice and skirt. It fits you beautifully too.
4/23/07 10:11 PM
zazzie said...
Très, très joli ! I am fond of that green - a colour that does not suit me well, unfortunately, so I like to admire it on others !
4/23/07 9:55 PM
colormefun said...
love it! wow! and only your second dress? good job!
4/23/07 6:45 PM
cindy-lou said...
You made a beautiful, beautiful dress and should be very proud!
4/23/07 4:23 PM
Beve said...
Beautiful job! You look lovely in it..
4/23/07 4:14 PM
JaneH said...
Great dress!!
4/23/07 3:46 PM
Christina Sonja said...
Gorgeous!
4/23/07 2:25 PM
Erica B. said...
Very lovely dress.
4/23/07 2:24 PM
Leora said...
You did a fantastic job! The belt is a great detail. I think yours fits much better (and looks better too)!!
4/23/07 2:06 PM
Mufffet said...
Lovely dress and very clever to use those two patterns!
4/23/07 1:19 PM
slanden99 said...
Pretty dress!
4/23/07 12:04 PM
Puddin Pop said...
Very pretty dress and the color is gorgeous.
4/23/07 11:55 AM
Soliel said...
Great! Love your dress. I guess you added "fluff" to the top of the dress as well as another bottom piece? Very ambitious..but excellent results. I didn't see the "pleats" you were talking about...what am I missing?
4/23/07 11:02 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Altering Jackets
Altering Jackets

Register

Create a Jacket Muslin
Create a Jacket Muslin

Register

Eagle's View PM/54

photo
by: BADBamaBun...

Review
Petite Plus 504 Pattern

Petite Plus 504 Pattern

Buy Now
SewBaby Clutter Catchers Pattern

SewBaby Clutter Catchers Pattern

Buy Now