Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
McCall's: 4766 (DRESS NY JUNIOR) - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 1318 times 1 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 4 people    Very Helpful by 5 people   
Reviewed by:Babouche
photo
About Babouchestar
NA FRANCE
Member since: 4/23/07
Reviews written: 3
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 1 people
patterns reviewed: 3
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/23/07 10:10 AM
Last Updated:2/17/08 5:00 AM
Pattern Size:Petite 


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
28 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Soliel said...
Great! Love your dress. I guess you added "fluff" to the top of the dress as well as another bottom piece? Very ambitious..but excellent results. I didn't see the "pleats" you were talking about...what am I missing?
4/23/07 11:02 AM
Puddin Pop said...
Very pretty dress and the color is gorgeous.
4/23/07 11:55 AM
slanden99 said...
Pretty dress!
4/23/07 12:04 PM
Mufffet said...
Lovely dress and very clever to use those two patterns!
4/23/07 1:19 PM
Leora said...
You did a fantastic job! The belt is a great detail. I think yours fits much better (and looks better too)!!
4/23/07 2:06 PM
Erica B. said...
Very lovely dress.
4/23/07 2:24 PM
Christina Sonja said...
Gorgeous!
4/23/07 2:25 PM
JaneH said...
Great dress!!
4/23/07 3:46 PM
Beve said...
Beautiful job! You look lovely in it..
4/23/07 4:14 PM
cindy-lou said...
You made a beautiful, beautiful dress and should be very proud!
4/23/07 4:23 PM
colormefun said...
love it! wow! and only your second dress? good job!
4/23/07 6:45 PM
zazzie said...
Très, très joli ! I am fond of that green - a colour that does not suit me well, unfortunately, so I like to admire it on others !
4/23/07 9:55 PM
Nancywin said...
absolutely stunning. I love what you did with the bodice and skirt. It fits you beautifully too.
4/23/07 10:11 PM
Babouche said...
Thank you very much for your comments, but please do yours, I would be very pleased that someone make the same dress !
4/24/07 3:34 AM
hongkongshopper said...
So you should be proud - it is great! Well done!
4/24/07 4:40 AM
Babouche said...
I added a short picture because Soliel asked me about the "pleats" she didn't see; I am french so I don't know the good translation for "pli", maybe it is not pleats but folds ... Tell me, I would love to improve my english ! I didnt' make the "pli" very straight because I didn't want them to be too regular !
4/24/07 5:13 AM
cathy45 said...
Such a pretty dress! Well done.
4/24/07 9:24 AM
AnneM said...
Congrats on your dress; you should be thrilled. Nice style (& I like it better in your green than her skin-tone dress). Speaking of your green, your dress certainly shows all that hard work better than the black pattern picture.
5/3/07 4:40 PM
AlexaNJ said...
You did an awesome job in recreating a designer dress and making it your very own! Great job!! :)
5/5/07 10:05 AM
KathleenS said...
English is my native language and I'm not sure if they're pleats or folds either! Either way, they look great and so does the rest of the dress!
2/17/08 6:54 AM
ryan's mom said...
So pretty! I love the style and color.
2/17/08 8:10 AM
Bonnie O said...
Very pretty dress. Fits very well and I love the color.
2/17/08 8:21 AM
Fabienne301 said...
Wonderful! And you are an intermediate sewer? And you successfully lengthened the midsection to make a bustier top? I would call you advanced now...beautiful job. Strapless garments are tough, combining two patterns is tough, silk is tough and you made a magnificent piece out of all of that. The color is grand on you as well. I am sorry I didn't see this before. By the way, I suspect you mean "gathers" rather than "pleats". Pleats are regular rather geometric folds in fabric (like the pleats in a Scotsman's kilt). Gathers are soft bunchings of the fabric usually done by running long basting stitches and then pulling the threads until the fabric has compresses and stands out a bit from the seam, like puffed sleeves. Similar words in meaning but...you know sewing and you know English both difficult and you do so well with both!
2/17/08 8:45 AM
Fabienne301 said...
Wonderful! And you are an intermediate sewer? And you successfully lengthened the midsection to make a bustier top? I would call you advanced now...beautiful job. Strapless garments are tough, combining two patterns is tough, silk is tough and you made a magnificent piece out of all of that. The color is grand on you as well. I am sorry I didn't see this before.
2/17/08 8:50 AM
carolynw said...
C'est magnifique - hope that's correct French - this is really beautiful and you did a wonderfull job.
2/17/08 8:52 AM
causticmuse said...
You did a wonderful job on blending two patterns together to get the look you wanted, and the dress fits you very well! The funny thing is that I own a vintage Vogue Givenchy pattern from the 80s that is very much like what you have made! :)
2/17/08 9:38 AM
cindyann said...
Very pretty. What a beautiful color!
2/17/08 11:42 AM
Kellie R. said...
That's so pretty! It has a touch of vintage with color and skirt. Great job.
2/18/08 7:24 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Bust Adjustments
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $39.99)
Bust Adjustments

Online Sewing Classes
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Fee: $34.00
(Regular $49.00)
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

BurdaStyle Magazine 06-2011-124
photo
Review by Heatherriq... on 7/24/11
Read Review

Lily Bird Studio Overall / Romper/ Jumpsuit Digital Pattern
Lily Bird Studio Overall / Romper/ Jumpsuit Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.90
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Yoga Girl Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )
Peek-A Boo Yoga Girl Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 2373
photo
Review by atymonw on 2/21/13
Read Review

SewBaby Easy Pieces Jumper Pattern
SewBaby Easy Pieces Jumper Pattern

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl Fan Bag Pattern
You Sew Girl Fan Bag Pattern

Details
Price: $18.15
Add to Bag Add to Bag

New Look 6873 Pattern
New Look 6873 Pattern

Details
Price: $4.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 1095 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10 )
Vogue 1095 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10 )

Details
Price: $30.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us