SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Textile Studio> 1305 (Capri Jacket)

16 more reviews
Viewed 1864 times 
Reviewed by:Nancywin
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Nancywinstarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 7/25/06
Reviews written: 274
Favored by: 122 people
patterns reviewed: 230
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/24/07 2:03 AM
Last Updated:9/21/07 8:39 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 8 people   
See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    
Available for sale on PR: $16.00 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $16.00 Pattern Details
<< Previous      Next >>
23 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
amkws said...
I purchased the red fabric for the same jacket and found your review very helpful. I just finished it a couple days ago. I used Emma Seabrooke's fusible knit interfacing on the 2 fronts. I also used some poly mesh between fabrics on the buttonholes. It pretty much looks like yours and I am very happy. Thanks for doing the groundwork!!
9/23/07 7:42 PM
Heatherrique said...
Fabulous jacket!
9/21/07 11:21 PM
bunz said...
What an incredibly gorgeous knit!!
9/21/07 6:16 PM
AngieC said...
Love your jacket! I have the Garbo jacket pattern and it is very similar.
9/21/07 4:48 PM
Deepika said...
Gorgeous jacket. I have this pattern too and I have a similar knit fabric :)
9/21/07 1:36 PM
mmemagpie said...
The pattern and fabric are beautiful and you did a great job of putting them together. I'm still learning about the characteristics of various interfacings, so the comments in your review about LH not using it were interesting, but I wish you had given a bit more detail on your decision to use tricot and why sew-in interfacing would have given a better drape than fusible. I appreciate your mentioning the stay-stitching and needle size/type. Thanks.
9/20/07 5:09 PM
SewTwin said...
WOW Jacket! Great fabric, and sewing..
5/13/07 1:14 AM
AnneM said...
That is beautiful. Great pattern to show off yourl ovely fabric. Good info on your interfacing experience as well.
5/4/07 7:56 PM
Beve said...
Pretty, pretty! I have this pattern and thanks to you I am encouraged to use it..
4/25/07 12:50 PM
Karine said...
Great review and great jacket. I love your fabric - a perfect choice for this pattern!
4/25/07 11:04 AM
Sew4Fun said...
Nice jacket. I like the idea of using a sweater knit with this pattern.
4/25/07 8:31 AM
ryan's mom said...
Awesome jacket! I saw this fabric on their website and it didn't initially catch my eye, but it looks terrific with your jacket. I have this pattern in my stash so I must might have to pull it out soon :) .
4/25/07 6:53 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Nice jacket
4/25/07 5:23 AM
LBJ said...
Gorgeous!
4/24/07 4:57 PM
Jennifer shaw said...
Oooh, the fabric is such a perfect fit for the jacket. Thanks for sharing your review.
4/24/07 3:14 PM
j222b said...
I love it. I love it. A perfect marriage of a gorgeous fabric and a simple pattern style.
4/24/07 12:43 PM
nancymm said...
This is similar to Loes' Garbo pattern. When I was in her class, I made the Garbo and had a little gappage, as you did. She had me cut a piece of FO elastic down the middle line, one inch less than the "V" measurement, and stitch it along the edge, stretching slightly to fit the edge, just like a waistband, then turn and stitch down the edge as per the pattern instructions. That very delicate elastic kept the edge from gapping - a good technique for a generous (or not so generous) figure.
4/24/07 10:30 AM
Nancywin said...
I made view A, the shorter version. I would like to lengthen it a bit next time, but not as much as view b
4/24/07 9:54 AM
carolynw said...
Another beauty. I have made this several times too and like the fit. Nancy did you use the longer length? I have only done the shorter length so far - not sure if yours is the longer or an in-between.
4/24/07 8:57 AM
Marji said...
very pretty. Looks like a chenille yarn in that sweater knit. Thanks for the source, think I'll go have a look.
4/24/07 8:32 AM
cindy-lou said...
Nancy, just beautiful. I agree that with this beautiful a fabric, 'less is more' in pattern construction-- clean, simple lines. Beautiful!
4/24/07 7:43 AM
JudyP said...
Your jacket looks great! This pattern is perfect for a sweater knit. I made it in a very similar fabric and also interfaced the facings so that the buttons & button holes would have some support. The facings did seem to affect the drape of the front, but not so much as to ruin the jacket. I love the colors of your fabric!
4/24/07 7:24 AM
Doris Stewart said...
Nice - very nice. I really do have to try one of Loes Hinse's patterns - this could be the one.
4/24/07 6:28 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Class Details

Online Class
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Class Details

Carol's Zoo 1

photo
by: ssssdeb

Review
Favorite Things Little Belle Skirts Pattern

Favorite Things Little Belle Skirts Pattern

More Info
SewBaby Five Easy Booties Pattern

SewBaby Five Easy Booties Pattern

More Info