Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Other: Merckwaerdigh MIX4 (Bra, camisole and panties) - Type:Lingerie    printable version
Viewed 1365 times 1 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 9 people   
Reviewed by:Sigrid.
photo
Friend of PR
About Sigrid.starstarstarstar
NETHERLANDS
Member since: 11/14/06
Reviews written: 145
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 132 people
patterns reviewed: 140
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/25/07 8:50 AM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
23 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Lynngray said...
Great job. And great review. Thanks for all the information
4/25/07 9:10 AM
Elemenopeo said...
Maybe the skipped stitches are from the two layers of fabric interacting there? Did you lay them so the stretch was dissimilar there in the cups? It looks great - love the dotted fabric.
4/25/07 9:41 AM
kim*brown said...
Wonderful job, it's too cute, my teen daughter would love that one!
4/25/07 10:28 AM
khurtdvm said...
I love the fabric for a bra!
4/25/07 10:47 AM
MissCelie said...
I honestly never considered making my own bras, but this is just so pretty!!
4/25/07 11:48 AM
fuzzygalore said...
Maybe it's not the -kind- of needle (and I'd use a ballpoint rather than a microtex, which would puncture the elastic in the fabric too much I think) but the -size- of it. Is your thread smooth fine polyester? Anyway, great bra, although you'd have to be 13 indeed to wear anything with a single hook..
4/25/07 12:52 PM
squirrellypoo said...
I'm in awe. I've never attempted lingerie before because it looks so complicated. But the result you got here are fantastic - I honestly wouldn't have been able to tell that it wasn't RTW!
4/25/07 12:58 PM
Soliel said...
Wow very ambitious. Very cute bra.
4/25/07 1:21 PM
Annika said...
Ohhh, I have been to Kantje Boord! A bunch of us went for the 2004 Pattern Review European Weekend. Isn't it a remarkable place? Love your bra! Cute! Cute! Cute! Thanks also for the link to Merckwaerdigh's store!
4/25/07 4:15 PM
mastdenman said...
Beautiful bra. I can see spending lots of money at Kantje boord. Beautiful stuff.
4/25/07 10:13 PM
mastdenman said...
Beautiful bra. I can see spending lots of money at Kantje boord. Beautiful stuff.
4/25/07 11:24 PM
Barbara R said...
Too cute! Now I feel like making bras again!
4/26/07 1:34 AM
Sigrid. said...
Thanks for the compliments and tips on the needle. I'll try a ballpoint next time. The problem might have to do something with interacting fabric, as at this point of construction you have to topstitch four layers of difficult fabric and it has a curve! And Kantje boord is a really remarkable place, very small but fully packed with all sorts of lycra, lace and ALL notions you need. When I go there I always spend more then intended :-) They have cheap things and beautiful lace that you see in expensive RTW. And even that costs no more then 4 euro a meter.
4/26/07 3:00 AM
cindyann said...
What a cute bra! Your construction looks wonderful. Thanks for the links. I adore making lingerie.
4/26/07 9:05 AM
Puddin Pop said...
Sigrid, The bra is beautiful and I was wondering if you know if someone from United States could order sets on line from Kantje Boord? I have never seen fabric sets this beautiful.
4/26/07 1:12 PM
Sigrid. said...
Puddin Pop, I don't know if they send sets of fabric to the US, they do in Europe. If you want I'll phone them and ask for details.
4/26/07 2:59 PM
Puddin Pop said...
Sigrid, that would be wonderful if you could ask them. I would love to buy some of those sets. I don't have a clue how much they would cost in U.S. dollars. Also, could I buy patterns, such as yours?
4/26/07 10:28 PM
Sigrid. said...
Puddin Pop: Kantje boord deliveres packages of fabric worldwide (not separate notions). 1 packet (which is usually enough for 1 bra and 2 panties) costs 17 euro, which is approx. 23 $ at current exchange rate. Shipment costs have to be added. Minimum shipment charge is for a package up to 2 kilos. (the weight of 1 package of fabric is approx. 350 grams). If I can be of assistance (the owner is very friendly, but says his English is not so good) let me know, only from Saturday I'll be away a week with probably no internet access. As to the pattern: I also asked for English translations, but they are not available at the moment. This is "work in progress". You can see the patterns on the site mentioned in my review.
4/27/07 2:06 PM
Puddin Pop said...
Thank you so much. I am so excited. I think that is a very reasonable price. I can get patterns from sew sassy. You are the best!!
4/27/07 3:00 PM
cindyann said...
I would also like to order fabric from Kantje boord, but the owner and I have not been able to communicate very well. He said something about only being able to pay to the post office. If you could find out how we need to do this it would be just wonderful. The fabrics are wonderful.
5/1/07 4:02 PM
KathleenS said...
Thanks for the link to the patterns. I think I might try one. I have Dutch family who could help with the instructions if I have problems. The bra you made is very pretty.
5/2/07 7:21 AM
Puddin Pop said...
The comment from Cindyann goes for me, also.
5/2/07 5:23 PM
Sigrid. said...
For those who want to order at Kantje boord: mail me at isedl*@*yahoo.com (omit the asterix) and I'll mail you the details that I have. The owner has an account with the Postbank (this is not a post office, but the name of a bank here). If any of you might need a translation from a Dutch pattern, I'd like to help.
5/6/07 6:23 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Online Sewing Classes
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Simplicity 2377
photo
Review by Yoggod on 2/2/12
Read Review

Sewing Workshop Ann's Cardigan & Tank
Sewing Workshop Ann's Cardigan & Tank

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Favorite Things Ballet Slippers Pattern
Favorite Things Ballet Slippers Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver & S Forest Path Cape Digital Pattern ( Size 6m-4 )
Oliver & S Forest Path Cape Digital Pattern  ( Size 6m-4 )

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Skater Shoes Digital Pattern ( Size 0 mo -18 mo )
Peek-A Boo Skater Shoes Digital Pattern ( Size 0 mo -18 mo )

Details
Price: $3.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

No Pattern Used curtains curtains
photo
Review by Passion4Se... on 1/5/10
Read Review

McCalls 6283 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12 )
McCalls 6283 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12 )

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 8146 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12 )
Vogue 8146 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12 )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us