SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 03-2007-113 (Jacket)

4 more reviews
Viewed 1645 times 
Reviewed by:Nata
photo

 
 
About Natastar
USA
Member since: 8/20/02
Reviews written: 67
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 14 people
patterns reviewed: 62
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/28/07 10:00 PM
Last Updated:2/10/08 8:55 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 22 people   
NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
53 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Puppy said...
Let me be the first to say, and I'm sure many will agree, that this is a very classy looking RTW-like top. The kind that when you ask yourself if you would buy it if you saw it in a store, the answer would surely be yes!
4/28/07 10:16 PM
quilter55 said...
I agree your top looks very much like RTW and is just beautiful. And very expensive looking!
4/28/07 10:29 PM
quilter55 said...
I agree your top looks very much like RTW and is just beautiful. And very expensive looking!
4/28/07 10:29 PM
pinemeadows said...
This is stunning! I love the neckline - and the fabric!
4/28/07 10:34 PM
MelissaB in WA said...
Gorgeous! I love the color and the style both. Thank you for the detailed review, you should be proud of your work! :-)
4/28/07 10:55 PM
Lilibet said...
Very swish looking. I like your sleeve treatment.
4/28/07 11:06 PM
SandraB said...
Very nice Jacket. The colour and style are gorgeous.
4/28/07 11:09 PM
Annika said...
Wow!
4/28/07 11:51 PM
ribbit2jen said...
Very nice, love it!!!
4/29/07 0:26 AM
MichelleE said...
Gorgeous version of this jacket!
4/29/07 0:39 AM
KarmenG said...
Beautiful Nata! Your garment is wonderful. I like it as a blouse. And the sleeves look very nice.
4/29/07 0:53 AM
Liana said...
Very pretty, and I like your changes very much! Enjoy wearing it.
4/29/07 1:49 AM
jlg said...
This is so beautiful and beautifully made.
4/29/07 5:18 AM
Katharine in BXL said...
Very, very clever sewing and a breathtaking garment. Bravo!
4/29/07 6:04 AM
MissCelie said...
that color is stunning. it looks very expensive and really well done.
4/29/07 6:52 AM
Marji said...
Really nice interpretation of that design Nata.
4/29/07 7:32 AM
Seamingly Simple said...
Your fabric is gorgeous and well suited for this pattern. I agree that the split cuffs better suit this design than shirt jacket cuffs. This is a very attractive top.
4/29/07 8:21 AM
carolynw said...
Lovely - I am one of those who would drop my money in a store without a second thought if this was RTW. Lovely color and beautiful style - very, very classy!
4/29/07 9:35 AM
Debbie Cook said...
Very pretty! Great fabric color and your pattern & style changes are perfect.
4/29/07 9:50 AM
blue mooney said...
Really nice! I like this better as a top than a jacket, and I think the split cuff is a really good idea, too. Wear it and love it!
4/29/07 10:12 AM
Em's Summer said...
What a classic blouse! It's just beautiful!
4/29/07 11:22 AM
Vonnevo said...
Fabulous Nata !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
4/29/07 11:49 AM
maryfrana said...
Stunning design and fabric choice. Just gorgeous
4/29/07 12:53 PM
Nancywin said...
I have loved this jacket ever since I first saw it in BWOF. Yours turned out beautifully. Since this jacket couldn't really be worn unbuttoned, dupioni is a perfect choice and you can wear it as a blouse.
4/29/07 2:09 PM
slanden99 said...
Beautiful jacket! You did a fantastic job on it
4/29/07 3:11 PM
HawkeMorningStar7 said...
WOW, stunning jacket. Love the dupioni. Great special touches.
4/29/07 3:18 PM
Heatherrique said...
Luscious and lovely, Nata!
4/29/07 3:22 PM
Erica B. said...
Beautiful! I love the cut of this jacket and the fabric.
4/29/07 4:13 PM
Sew4Fun said...
Nice blouse. It's nice to see it sewn up as I have my eye on this pattern.
4/29/07 7:18 PM
Elemenopeo said...
All your work paid off in spades on this beauty. I like it so much in that color.
4/29/07 8:44 PM
Linda G said...
Looks great. I like yours better than mine. I have one started and I am having a heck of a time getting the sleeves to ease in to much ease in the front and not enough in the back...not sure why....i have double checked my markings did you have that problem?...Yours looks absolutely wonderful. You are right I wish i would have raised the neckline just a little....Burda is getting pretty brave with the necklines in the last few issues.
4/29/07 9:25 PM
pterion said...
This is stunning, Nata!
4/29/07 10:16 PM
yorkshire lass said...
wow, stunning. Much nicer than the one in the magazine. It looks a million dollars.
4/30/07 3:26 AM
jenka said...
I'm working on this one right now - the directions concerning the front tabs (below the collar) are very confusing - how did you do that part?
4/30/07 7:44 AM
Jane S said...
Wow, this looks terrific! Unique and classy and I love the sleeve style change.
4/30/07 8:08 AM
Nata said...
Wow, thanks everybodey for nice comments! Linda, I forgot to mention this part. I added a paragraph about the sleeves in the review. I ended up narrowing the sleeve because it looked wide on my arm and there was too much ease in the cap. I didn't have a problem with insufficient ease, however. Is there any chance you are aligning front sleeve seam with the side bodice seam? They shouldn't match; side seam falls somewhere in-between the two sleeve seams.
4/30/07 1:09 PM
Nata said...
Jenka, The front band is a little tricky. First, I finished the short slanted edge of the band, turn it right side out and press. Next I laid the band on the front piece on the right side; slanted edge of the band starting at the front center line, band facing downwards. Then I laid facing on top of the front piece right sides together. Band will be sandwiched between the front and the facing. I stitched horizontal seam exactly to the corner where neckline starts going up. Next I slashed seam allowances of the front and of the facing (separately) almost to where your stitching ended so the finished corner will not pucker. I grab the band short unfinished edge (the one opposite to the slanted edge) and turned it 90 degrees upwards; the short edge of the band should align with the neckline. I basted the band to the front first, starting at the corner and going up. Next I basted it again to the facing in the same manner. Then I stitched the neckline starting from the corner exactly at the point where the previous seam ended. It will look all puckered, but it will look nice after you turn the facing inside. Then I serged SA very narrow, and turned facing to the inside. Press and topstitch. I topstitched along both long and short sides (around the corner) because I was afraid the silk will fray in the corner from clipping.
4/30/07 1:42 PM
Elaray said...
I love the way dupioni looks, but I've never used it. I always thought it was much more difficult. Your top is really beautiful.
4/30/07 2:06 PM
nicegirl said...
Gorgeous! Your neckline is perfect.
4/30/07 4:26 PM
Sherril Miller said...
I loved this pattern and it sewed up beautifully.
4/30/07 5:54 PM
lmg said...
I missed this earlier. Beautiful jacket. Thanks for the tips on the front bands and the sleeves
4/30/07 5:59 PM
OP Gal said...
Your jacket is just gorgeous. What an interesting design. It looks very well executed and I'm sure you look wonderful in it.
4/30/07 8:09 PM
Silvie said...
WOW!!! absolutely stunning jacket....great work
5/1/07 2:59 AM
Dmd4106 said...
fabulous, silk dupioni, what a treat to sew with. Great job on the review too !
5/2/07 10:34 PM
Modiste Madness said...
I love it! Thanks for reminding me of this pattern. It caught my eye too and I had forgotten about it.
2/10/08 9:37 AM
Lori V said...
Gorgeous.
2/10/08 2:20 PM
Annette1 said...
"EXQUISITE," is the only word I can come up with, and I'm not so sure that's good enough!
2/10/08 3:51 PM
cathy45 said...
Beautiful! Just beautiful. The split cuff with this fabric was perfect.
2/10/08 5:05 PM
hongkongshopper said...
Love this pattern and have it earmarked to make up soon. Your version is lovely.
2/10/08 6:59 PM
blue mooney said...
great style, great fabric, LOVE the fuschia and orange!
2/11/08 9:00 AM
lilyofthevalley said...
This creation requires a moment of silence ... as well as a courtly bow! Killer chic! Your sleeve cuff and other changes were inspired. And superb review, as well. Thanks (digging out my BWOF 3/07 issue). - Lily
2/11/08 1:58 PM
Koushite said...
Formidable! If you don't sew professionally, you certainly should begin.....for all those lost souls out there who keep paying out money for poorly fitting, expensive RTW and have no idea what a really beautiful well made jacket is supposed to look and feel like.
7/8/08 2:55 PM
alviana said...
nice top! i love how u arrange the button. so creative. love the color too..
12/23/08 3:03 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Bust Adjustments
Bust Adjustments

Register

Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Register

Vogue Patterns 9949 OOP

photo
by: FreyaStark

Review
Simplicity 2364

photo
by: facesunder...

Review
THE SKIRTS - A CD Book By Kenneth King

THE SKIRTS - A CD Book By Kenneth King

Buy Now
Sewing Workshop Haiku Two Pattern

Sewing Workshop Haiku Two Pattern

Buy Now