Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Loes Hinse Designs: 5005 (Skirt Trio) thumbsup - Type:Skirts    printable version
Viewed 727 times 9 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 3 people   
Reviewed by:Denny1600
photo
About Denny1600star
AZ USA
Member since: 7/29/04
Reviews written: 19
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 1 people
patterns reviewed: 13
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/30/07 9:15 PM
Last Updated:4/30/07 9:15 PM


See other patterns in this category: Skirts    
Available for sale on PR: $16.00 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $16.00     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Sewn Square One
Patterns for Your Style.
Web site
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
5 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Helen near Sydney said...
This looks like a really handy skirt pattern, you've done a wonderful job with it - well done.
5/1/07 4:47 AM
Frozzy said...
Very nice. I work in an accountant's office in Colorado, which is very casual, but still you do want to look good. I have been looking at skirt patterns, and your review is making me look at this one. Yours looks great, do you think it would work out on a figure with a small waist and a little bigger hip with the elastic waist? Sometimes that gets a little bunchy, and with spending more $ on a pattern, it would be nice to have an opinion. Thanks a bunch!
5/6/07 6:35 PM
AnneM said...
Nice skirt style. This seems like a good one for your nice fabrics.
5/8/07 7:21 AM
Denny1600 said...
Frozzy--I think this would work for you. This design doesn't have so much fabric in it to make it all bunchy around the waist. Loes Hinse patterns sometimes run a bit small, so I traced out large and XL (and I think the pattern envelope said for my measurements that I would be medium) based on my measurements of the pattern piece. When I pin fit the pattern tissue, I still coudn't really tell, so I cut XL (made me decide to start on salads!). When I pin fit the pieces in fabric, XL was too big and I could see that it was more like a L for me. I sewed with 1" seam allowances, tried it on, liked it and trimmed the seam allowance to Loes Hinse's suggested 3/8" for less bulk. For your small waist, you might measure and look at cutting one size for your hips and a smaller size for your waist. This pattern does have some curve in it for hips and a smaller wait. It's not straight up and down so you might not get that bunchy look. However, if your waist is REALLY small in comparison to your hips, then you might look at going just one size smaller in the waist. It shouldn't emphasize your hips and will lessen any bunchy look. I like the look of Loes Hinse designs and the ease of construction. You just need to be sure the measurements of the pattern pieces are going to work for your body measurements because what is listed on the pattern envelope isn't always the case on the pattern itself. I'd try it if I were you. If it works for you, I'll bet you'll make several because it's so easy and looks so good.
5/9/07 11:01 AM
Susan J. said...
Thank you for the reminder to measure the pattern pieces. I made the 2 layer version of the skirt and it's so easy. I am pleased with the fit too.
8/3/07 5:08 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Online Sewing Classes
Leather 101
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Leather 101

Kwik Sew 2971 Blanket, Bibs
photo
Review by spankachut... on 3/27/11
Read Review

Moss Mini Skirt
Moss Mini Skirt

Details
Price: $8.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Harper Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Harper Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

New Look 6660
photo
Review by Poppycat22... on 1/16/11
Read Review

Sewing Workshop Quincy Top and Pants
Sewing Workshop Quincy Top and Pants

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

8 1/2 inch LEFTY Dressmaking Shears
8 1/2 inch LEFTY Dressmaking Shears

Details
Price: $22.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 3664 Pattern
Kwik Sew 3664 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1733 Pattern ( Size 20W-28W )
Simplicity 1733 Pattern ( Size 20W-28W )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us