Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 8353 (Divine Details) thumbsup - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 1981 times 8 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 27 people   
Reviewed by:Ann Smith
photo
Friend of PR
About Ann Smithstarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 347
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 381 people
patterns reviewed: 344
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/1/07 12:41 PM
Last Updated:5/1/07 12:48 PM


See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
39 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
SueV said...
very nice; I'm glad you reviewed this. I have the checked fabric, and recently ordered the pattern from Vogue's sale. I think I have some black lace too. Thanks for the heads up on the waist! Looks very nice and summery on you.
5/1/07 1:05 PM
ladybegood said...
Thanks for the info on the sizing. I was considering sewing a size smaller than usual, because there is so much ease in this, but now I know not to.
5/1/07 1:07 PM
cindyann said...
That is such a great dress. Very flattering on you. Such a cool design.
5/1/07 1:33 PM
nicegirl said...
So happy to see this one made up! It looks great on you. As a flat chested girl, I can't wear this, sadly, so I have to live vicariously.
5/1/07 1:38 PM
HawkeMorningStar7 said...
Wondeful dress, thanks so much for writing review. I have pattern and B/W 1" check fabric but confused as to how to lay out patterns as from one end of row of tucks to end of them , they do NOT match the checks, ie last row is off some. Fabric is not off grain, I'll have to pucker the pattern. Thanks for tips on it being snug
5/1/07 1:44 PM
pterion said...
What a fun interesting style! I love how the tucks work with the gingham. Lovely!
5/1/07 1:50 PM
Erica B. said...
Even if you say it's a muslin, I think it's adorable and looks great on you.
5/1/07 2:05 PM
marjenann said...
You look terrific in your new dress! The shoes are great too!! Loved the review!
5/1/07 2:15 PM
Skymom said...
I like this a lot better on you than on the beanpole in the Vogue photo. Thanks for the review--I thought this looked really tedious and complicated, but now I'm thinking it might be OK to sew after all!
5/1/07 2:35 PM
cindy-lou said...
I covet this dress. Thanks for the great review!
5/1/07 2:50 PM
CarolynGM said...
I thought I could pass on this pattern until I saw your dress and review. It looks so cute on you! It sounds like it is easier to make than it looks too. It's on my list now for the next Vogue sale.
5/1/07 3:04 PM
MissCelie said...
Muslin? Wow. I've got to get away from plain old, well, muslin. It's an adorable look and neat use of the fabric to get the waist effect.
5/1/07 3:11 PM
Christina Sonja said...
Wow, the finished effect is beautiful, I can't stop looking at it!
5/1/07 4:53 PM
hongkongshopper said...
This looks really good on you.
5/1/07 5:36 PM
Carolyndh said...
You look so lovely in this pattern. I love the way your dress turned out. Others will follow your lead for sure.
5/1/07 5:37 PM
Sharon M said...
Cute dress. I have this one almost completed and ran into the same problem with the ease at the waistline. If you are off just a tiny bit when sewing those tucks it really adds up! Now that the weather is finally warming up, I guess I should pull mine out and finish it.
5/1/07 6:37 PM
ALY said...
Thanks for the review. The dress looks great. I have this cut out and plan to sew it up this weekend. I had the same problems finding natural fabric. Only 1" check I could find was yellow and red silk at FFC. Too bright. I ended up using some p/c teal/black check in my stash.
5/1/07 8:12 PM
DeAnna said...
It's a beautiful dress and I love your giant companion too.
5/1/07 8:57 PM
Schnauzer said...
Really lovely dress Ann!
5/1/07 9:15 PM
Kelly D. said...
This dress is as flattering on you as I suspected it would be! I'll keep looking for the pattern. It was sold out at Hancock's last week.
5/1/07 10:16 PM
Lori V said...
This is so stunning, great job.
5/1/07 10:33 PM
cnp71203 said...
I love it! I have this pattern but was looking for a vertical stripe that will work instead of a check. I love yours in the gingham, though, so I may not wait much longer!
5/2/07 3:31 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Really nice looking dress. Even the adjustments you made for waist seem to work and not take away from the look. Great job.
5/2/07 5:17 AM
Leora said...
Lovely dress on you! Thank you for the detailed review.
5/2/07 9:11 AM
Modiste Madness said...
I wander if that dress turns out like the picture. I like it on you and the side seams don't make a difference at all. I think it adds an interesting design touch to end the horizontal stripes there instead of them continuing all the way around.
5/2/07 9:19 AM
Cecile Owens said...
As usual, a fabulous result and very becoming--and I love that in each review that you produce, there are shoes to match. I think you must have a secret room only for shoes. Keep up the great work and thank you.
5/2/07 9:31 AM
suzyQ said...
Great review and dress. I've been admiring this and now am not afraid to tackle it.
5/2/07 9:57 AM
Barbara at Cat Fur Studio said...
Ann, you did a wonderful job making this fit you, and the checks are perfect. A great fresh spring look!
5/2/07 10:34 AM
OP Gal said...
Easy? It sounds difficult to me. The end result looks wonderful, though, and you look lovely in it.
5/2/07 11:07 AM
Soliel said...
WOW What a FABULOUS DRESS!!! I looked at this one a long time...but could not believe it was "easy"...so I did not buy. But it is really cute, very special and you did a good job. Love it.
5/2/07 11:28 AM
suzanrossi said...
Beautiful dress and you look lovely in it.
5/2/07 11:37 AM
Msews2 said...
Thank you so much for this review! I have been searching everywhere for brown lace, since I also want to do it in brown. Your comments are very helpful. I love how it looks on you--if I find a source for the dark brown lace, I'll let you know.
5/2/07 12:14 PM
Laurie Lou said...
Thanks for the helpful review. I also bought this pattern and have not made it up because I can only find the picnic gingham. But I thought it ws such a clever idea and your detaileed review has given much needed insite to what to expect. Thanks for sharing!
5/2/07 4:43 PM
Dmd4106 said...
Wow! so u say its a muslin. Plenty wearable i would say. Very flattering. Thx for the review.
5/2/07 5:51 PM
JDpenelope said...
It's a great result and I think you've inspired or maybe liberated a lot of folks to get busy! It may be easy for you, but I don't think I'm ready for those tucks or the fitting issues, yet.
5/2/07 5:58 PM
AnneM said...
Neat. It does look complex. It makes a great dress. Great information on the sizing info & tuck info. I might have to get this pattern; it is just too cool of a dress when done up in a gingham.
5/9/07 4:34 PM
Sherril Miller said...
Ann, your dress is so cute! Thank you for reviewing it. Now I want to sew checks!
5/9/07 7:06 PM
AlexaNJ said...
This looks awesome! I remember admiring the pattern, and you did a great job!!
5/19/07 1:58 PM
wendlesue said...
Great job on the dress. It is adorable!
7/8/08 11:52 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Online Sewing Classes
Altering Pants
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Pants

Burda 9792 Start3: Shirt
photo
Review by U. Chicago on 7/21/07
Read Review

Oliver + S School Bus T-Shirt Digital Pattern (5-12)
Oliver + S School Bus T-Shirt Digital Pattern (5-12)

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Sophia Scallop Skirt Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Sophia Scallop Skirt Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Self Drafted Pattern 0004 Flounce Skirt
photo
Review by Deepika on 9/2/06
Read Review

JSM-Pant 1
JSM-Pant 1

Details
Price: $20.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Petite Plus 303 Pattern
Petite Plus 303 Pattern

Details
Price: $21.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Croquet Dress Pattern ( Size 6m-4 )
Oliver + S Croquet Dress Pattern ( Size 6m-4 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6783 Pattern ( Size 2-3-4-5 )
McCalls 6783 Pattern ( Size 2-3-4-5 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us