SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> HotPatterns> HP-104 (Cowl Butterfly Top)

14 more reviews
Viewed 1208 times 
Reviewed by:Ann Smith
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Ann Smithstarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 348
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 390 people
patterns reviewed: 345
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/2/07 3:17 PM
Last Updated:5/2/07 3:16 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 5 people    Very Helpful by 9 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Deals!

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
21 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Jennifer Young said...
Beautiful! Your projects are always inspiring. Thanks for calling our attention to this fun pattern and for your great review.
5/3/07 11:32 PM
carolynw said...
Ann with yur smile the word "frumpy" cannot be applied to you and it definitely does not apply to this top. Nice looking top!
5/3/07 9:29 AM
Skymom said...
You never look less than wonderful in the garments you sew--I can't imagine anyone EVER thinking you look frumpy! I love this and the cape top.
5/3/07 9:12 AM
marjenann said...
Stunning and sophisticated!!
5/3/07 7:47 AM
majnets3s said...
I like it
5/3/07 6:43 AM
KarmenG said...
Not seeing Frumpy in this one Ann - I like it!
5/3/07 0:32 AM
Soliel said...
I really think it's Okay. I know I would not be used to big cowl neck...sometimes it just takes getting used to.
5/2/07 11:50 PM
hongkongshopper said...
I think you look lovely too! But if you are not happy then it is probably the busy - ness of the bust, print and the cowl. But in the photos it looks fine. Very pretty!
5/2/07 11:39 PM
Karen8320 said...
Ann, you certainly don't look matronly or frumpy in this. I think it looks quite lovely. The drape of the sleeves looks as though they might have some movement in them which I think always adds a bit of femininity to garments. At the end of the day, only you know whether you feel good in something you've made.
5/2/07 8:50 PM
Diane E said...
Ann, this is a lovely top! Great inspiration!
5/2/07 7:38 PM
Debbie Cook said...
Ann, I think it's the length of the sleeves that are making it look frumpy. I do like the other version much better on you, but this one is certainly not ugly or unwearable!!
5/2/07 7:37 PM
kim*brown said...
Wonderful!
5/2/07 6:46 PM
gabrielle said...
Both tops look lovely on you, and vice versa. It's a very graceful look, not at all matronly. You should be the HP model!
5/2/07 6:32 PM
Dmd4106 said...
Another winner, I luv the print too. I will hv to add to pattern stash.
5/2/07 6:05 PM
OP Gal said...
I don't think you look a bit frumpy in this top. The fabric is wonderful--such a beautiful color.
5/2/07 5:58 PM
CarolynGM said...
I would love to try this, but if it drapes that much on someone who normally does an FBA, I fear it would hang to the knees on flat-chested me. Actually, I think it looks better on you than you think it does. Maybe the look will grow on you.
5/2/07 3:43 PM
Ann Smith said...
Stacey: I purchased the pants, at Cosco of all places!
5/2/07 3:35 PM
STACEYWILSON said...
Great top! Did you make the pants also? If so, what is the pattern #.
5/2/07 3:07 PM
MissCelie said...
I totally disagree. I think it looks marvelous.
5/2/07 3:02 PM
Hilary said...
I like it too! Very pretty.
5/2/07 2:47 PM
Kathy_AZ said...
I disagree - I think you look lovely in this top. Beautiful job as usual.
5/2/07 2:18 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Understanding Interfacings
Understanding Interfacings

Register

Leather 101
Leather 101

Register

BurdaStyle Magazine 03-2012-104

photo
by: slmstyle

Review
Sewing Workshop Tahoe Pants Pattern

Sewing Workshop Tahoe Pants Pattern

Buy Now
You Sew Girl 200mm Chunky Frame Purse Pattern

You Sew Girl 200mm Chunky Frame Purse Pattern

Buy Now