Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
HotPatterns: HP-104 (Cowl Butterfly Top) thumbsup - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 1206 times 14 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 5 people    Very Helpful by 9 people   
Reviewed by:Ann Smith
photo
Friend of PR
About Ann Smithstarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 347
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 381 people
patterns reviewed: 344
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/2/07 3:17 PM
Last Updated:5/2/07 3:16 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
21 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Kathy_AZ said...
I disagree - I think you look lovely in this top. Beautiful job as usual.
5/2/07 2:18 PM
Hilary said...
I like it too! Very pretty.
5/2/07 2:47 PM
MissCelie said...
I totally disagree. I think it looks marvelous.
5/2/07 3:02 PM
STACEYWILSON said...
Great top! Did you make the pants also? If so, what is the pattern #.
5/2/07 3:07 PM
Ann Smith said...
Stacey: I purchased the pants, at Cosco of all places!
5/2/07 3:35 PM
CarolynGM said...
I would love to try this, but if it drapes that much on someone who normally does an FBA, I fear it would hang to the knees on flat-chested me. Actually, I think it looks better on you than you think it does. Maybe the look will grow on you.
5/2/07 3:43 PM
OP Gal said...
I don't think you look a bit frumpy in this top. The fabric is wonderful--such a beautiful color.
5/2/07 5:58 PM
Dmd4106 said...
Another winner, I luv the print too. I will hv to add to pattern stash.
5/2/07 6:05 PM
gabrielle said...
Both tops look lovely on you, and vice versa. It's a very graceful look, not at all matronly. You should be the HP model!
5/2/07 6:32 PM
kim*brown said...
Wonderful!
5/2/07 6:46 PM
Debbie Cook said...
Ann, I think it's the length of the sleeves that are making it look frumpy. I do like the other version much better on you, but this one is certainly not ugly or unwearable!!
5/2/07 7:37 PM
Diane E said...
Ann, this is a lovely top! Great inspiration!
5/2/07 7:38 PM
Karen8320 said...
Ann, you certainly don't look matronly or frumpy in this. I think it looks quite lovely. The drape of the sleeves looks as though they might have some movement in them which I think always adds a bit of femininity to garments. At the end of the day, only you know whether you feel good in something you've made.
5/2/07 8:50 PM
hongkongshopper said...
I think you look lovely too! But if you are not happy then it is probably the busy - ness of the bust, print and the cowl. But in the photos it looks fine. Very pretty!
5/2/07 11:39 PM
Soliel said...
I really think it's Okay. I know I would not be used to big cowl neck...sometimes it just takes getting used to.
5/2/07 11:50 PM
KarmenG said...
Not seeing Frumpy in this one Ann - I like it!
5/3/07 0:32 AM
majnets3s said...
I like it
5/3/07 6:43 AM
marjenann said...
Stunning and sophisticated!!
5/3/07 7:47 AM
Skymom said...
You never look less than wonderful in the garments you sew--I can't imagine anyone EVER thinking you look frumpy! I love this and the cape top.
5/3/07 9:12 AM
carolynw said...
Ann with yur smile the word "frumpy" cannot be applied to you and it definitely does not apply to this top. Nice looking top!
5/3/07 9:29 AM
Jennifer Young said...
Beautiful! Your projects are always inspiring. Thanks for calling our attention to this fun pattern and for your great review.
5/3/07 11:32 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Leather 101
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Leather 101

Online Sewing Classes
Bust Adjustments
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Bust Adjustments

Cake patterns 0144
photo
Review by thecurious... on 8/5/13
Read Review

McCalls 6062 Pattern ( Size 2-3-4-5 )
McCalls 6062 Pattern ( Size 2-3-4-5 )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1651 Pattern ( Size 4-6-8-10-12 )
Simplicity 1651 Pattern ( Size 4-6-8-10-12 )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Self Drafted Pattern 70883-1002
photo
Review by jannw on 2/10/10
Read Review

Lily Bird Studio Overall / Romper/ Jumpsuit Digital Pattern
Lily Bird Studio Overall / Romper/ Jumpsuit Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.90
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Blank Slate Rose T Shirt Digital Pattern
Blank Slate Rose T Shirt Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop L2 Bag Pattern
Sewing Workshop L2 Bag Pattern

Details
Price: $12.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl 90mm Barrel Purse Pattern
You Sew Girl 90mm Barrel Purse Pattern

Details
Price: $25.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us