SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 2842 (Vogue Bridal Original)

4 more reviews
Viewed 2889 times 
Reviewed by:jhansby
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About jhansbystar
CA USA
Member since: 1/9/05
Reviews written: 18
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 3 people
patterns reviewed: 13
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/4/07 8:31 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 22 people   
See other patterns in this category: Formalwear    
Available for sale on PR: $27.50 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $27.50 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
41 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Princess Jenny said...
Absolutely gorgeous. She will be lovely at the Prom.
5/4/07 8:48 AM
SewVeryTall said...
I love it! My absolute favorite shade of red. She's going to love this dress!
5/4/07 8:58 AM
moss said...
So pretty! Wow!
5/4/07 9:01 AM
jewelsfashions said...
Oh my gosh!!!! that is so gorgeous. You did a fantastic job. Love the design of the dress and roses and how you placed them in the places you did. Just lovely.
5/4/07 9:11 AM
Elemenopeo said...
Georgeous! I love the embroidery and the handbag really tops it off. Can't wait to see pix of it being worn if it looks so good on the hanger.
5/4/07 9:49 AM
Leslie in Austin said...
Beautiful--such a fabulous red. Can't wait to see pictures of prom girl wearing it. The purse is adorable, too! Bravo.
5/4/07 10:05 AM
Lynngray said...
Wow it's just gorgeous. Lucky girl.
5/4/07 10:10 AM
jamierhea said...
So pretty! I love the roses!
5/4/07 10:36 AM
Tipseysmum said...
wow wow wow... id be very intreested in seeing the procedure photos as i have this pattern.... wow
5/4/07 10:40 AM
Soliel said...
What a great dress! What a wonderful thing you did for her!!!
5/4/07 11:25 AM
cindyann said...
Beautiful! That fabric is wonderful.
5/4/07 12:49 PM
Pinkytoo said...
Beautiful, beautiful, beautiful!!!!! I'd love to see the smile on the face of the wearer.
5/4/07 12:52 PM
Ann Smith said...
What a lucky girl! This is so beautiful. I love all the embroidery. The bag is perfect. And even matching things for her date. They will look spectacular. Eagerly awaiting more photos...
5/4/07 1:13 PM
carolynw said...
Just absolutely stunning. What alucky girl to hav eyou ake somethign so truly beautiful fo rher - I am sure she will turn every head when she wear it
5/4/07 2:03 PM
Stephanie C. said...
That is gorgeous!
5/4/07 2:31 PM
Reggies Mom said...
What a magical shade of red. No doubt she'll be a knock-out, and have such wonderful memories. How sweet of you to do so much work to make it happen.
5/4/07 3:42 PM
sew obsessed said...
This is just stunning. What a beautiful prom dress- the color makes it look so rich (love that shade of red). Do post a picture of the young lady in her dress. I'm sure she will be gorgeous.
5/4/07 6:49 PM
GwenC said...
Truly beautiful! I also would be very interested in seeing the rest of your pictures - I think this pattern is probably too difficult for me, but maybe not (and if not now, maybe someday...) ;) Thanks so much for the review!
5/4/07 6:53 PM
Vonnevo said...
Totally fabulous !!!!! I would also like to see additional photos :)) The matching bag is perfect too !!
5/4/07 7:51 PM
jhansby said...
I will post the additional construction pics soon. Thanks so much for the positive comments!
5/4/07 8:10 PM
coolobreeze said...
This is so gorgeous; I look forward to more pictures!
5/5/07 0:10 AM
Sew4Fun said...
Divine dress. I can't wait to see it on your god-daughter.
5/5/07 5:41 AM
Karla Kizer said...
LOL. My DD's prom dress was strapless, red/black dupionni and lined with a batiste - nothing slippery or sticky. The version you made is gorgeous...but then, I would be prejudiced, wouldn't I? I'm betting that in the years ahead your god-daughter will "visit" the dress where it hangs in the closet, just to admire it all over again. Congratulations on a beautiful dress.
5/5/07 7:53 AM
Jane S said...
Wow, spectacular dress, she could be on the red carpet in this one.
5/5/07 8:10 AM
Kitty Couture said...
Wow, this is absolutely stunning. You have one lucky god-daughter. Can't wait to see the pictures of her in the dress.
5/5/07 9:08 AM
Celeste said...
Breathtaking!
5/5/07 10:35 AM
MissCelie said...
Wow. Amazing dress and an adorable bag.
5/5/07 4:06 PM
Marji said...
Fabulous!!!! That turned out incredible. Love the embroidery, your pleats hang beautifully, it is overall just a stunning dress.
5/8/07 8:06 AM
Jwilson said...
It's a real pleasure to see this dress in that beautiful red, and OHHHH the embroidery!! This is the pattern I started with for my daughter's wedding dress; we ended up incorporating a built in corselette, which was a real improvement in convenience! I know you loved making it! I can't imagine anything more satisfying! Jacque
5/8/07 6:51 PM
AnneM said...
Lovely, just lovely. The embroidery is a wonderful addition, and elegant.
5/13/07 9:04 AM
ELizabeth_Atl said...
Stunning. I am in awe. And the litte bag is too cute. Your God-daughter will be breaking all the boys' hearts!
8/15/07 9:04 PM
angldst said...
Thanks for reviewing this pattern. I'm actually making the version with sleeves for a bride very soon in white & silver dupioni. Your god daughter's dress turned out just.gorgeous. :)
9/2/07 10:25 PM
rozzybabe said...
I'm just finishing this dress as my first ever formal gown. I'm going to give a go at a home dressmaking business, specializing in bridal/formalwear. I've never done a muslin before, but have realized after this gown how ABSOLUTELY essential one is. I also found the pleats needed altering; they didn't drape properly. Your detailed pictures are fabulous, thanks so very much. I did a lace overlay on the bodice & godet, (beaded the bodice only). Also, something I've never done before! I noticed you put an invisible zipper in the back instead of the button/loop closure. I've done a lapped zipper, & will "cheat" & sew satin covered buttons on the lapped side. I agree it should offer a zipper closure option. A technique in S. Andriks book "How to make the wedding dress of your dreams", on pg.113, explains how to put a zipper & button/loop closure in in one unique technique. I'll give it a try if my business takes off; shall be doing a presentation where I live on March 9/08 to get exposure. If the gown looks as stunning as yours, success will be mine! ] ]Thanks for a super review.
2/2/08 6:51 PM
Charmtrollet said...
I Realy love this dress! The plan is that im gonna sew 3 dresses for my sisters wedding and i guess that this dress will be the model. I loooove this dress. Do you have any pictures when someone is wearing the dress? Best regards Caroline
3/11/08 8:54 AM
jhansby said...
Caroline, I do have pics of my god-daughter in the dress...buried somewhere but I'll try to find them. You may also want to look at this blog...she just finished it as a wedding gown for her friend: http://www.weddingdresssaga.blogspot.com/ The seamstress is Gwen...she's a member here and did a great job!!
3/12/08 3:27 PM
JohveStockholm said...
Beautiful! You are very good at sewing and a nice good mother!!
8/18/08 2:52 PM
sfgb said...
Truly stunning. The embroidery takes it to a very professional level.
5/8/10 9:45 PM
Rebecca B said...
This is an amazing dress and it looks stunning...I am just sewing it as a wedding dress and wondered if you had any probs with the front pleats looking 'baggy'???
7/26/10 2:29 PM
Pattycakes60 said...
I love red! What a beautiful gown! My daughter and I selected this pattern for her wedding dress. I'd love to see the pix of your muslins. Here is my email: dpvarg@msn.com. Pat
11/11/10 10:16 AM
jhansby said...
Rebecca, I did have trouble with the muslin on that issue, and realized some of pieces just weren't matching right. Your drapes of these pleats will also be effected by the fabric type, as I'm sure you know. I just "fudged with it" until I got the look I liked :)
11/12/10 9:09 AM
jhansby said...
Patticakes-I will email you directly :)
11/12/10 9:10 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Register

Altering Jackets
Altering Jackets

Register

Butterick 5490

photo
by: sewdc

Review
Vogue Patterns 1166

photo
by: dizzle

Review
Sew Chic Starter Skirt Pattern (ln1000)

Sew Chic Starter Skirt Pattern (ln1000)

Buy Now
Jamie Christina Palooza Apron Pattern (JC309PA)

Jamie Christina Palooza Apron Pattern (JC309PA)

Buy Now