SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 4092 (ElizabethSwann/MarieAntoinette)

18 more reviews
Viewed 1934 times 
Reviewed by:Costume Queen
photo

 
 
About Costume Queen
Member since: 1/18/06
Reviews written: 10
Sewing skills:Advanced
patterns reviewed: 10
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/4/07 9:16 AM
Last Updated:3/29/09 4:14 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 12 people   
See other patterns in this category: Costumes    
Available for sale on PR: $17.95 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $17.95 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
16 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
cindy-lou said...
Beautiful results! However, I can only see the gallery pic. Can you post bigger pictures??
5/4/07 2:08 PM
AnneM said...
Big project. Sounds like it came out very well after you adjustments. (Remember - flat pattern measure! ) As a bonus, you get exercise wearing this because it must weigh a fair amount with all that fabric!
5/13/07 9:00 AM
lilyofthevalley said...
The kids must have been shocked to receive candy from Royalty. The costume looks fabulous, simply fabulous. What beautiful choices you've made and your workmanship is superb. -Lily
2/8/08 11:58 PM
U. Chicago said...
Wow, that is gorgeous! You must be REALLY into Halloween to put that much effort into a costume for passing out candy! What a great job you did, and thanks for strongly recommending a muslin (I never make them either, even when I should).
2/9/08 8:55 AM
Luckylibbet said...
Looks very authentic - terrific job!
2/20/08 2:30 PM
jeanyus said...
Impressive, I was just wishing you had a back view in your photo album. You might want to post it at the POTC costume yahoo group, its a site for people interested in making any POTC costume.
2/20/08 4:33 PM
chirogrrl said...
Just gorgeous!! I think it looks just like Elizabeth Swann's Dress :) Thanks for the review!
4/20/08 6:28 PM
Gelbean said...
This dress is incredible. What a great and unique Halloween costume. I bet you didn't run into anyone wearing the same costume.
5/8/08 9:19 PM
Costume Queen said...
Thanks, everyone, for the wonderful comments! I have a huge Marie Antoinette style wig that I wore with this. It was so much fun. I love dressing up! This year, I'm thinking of making Giselle's Wedding Dress from the movie Enchanted. =)
5/8/08 9:22 PM
Annette1 said...
What a fabulous costume, and impeccable work! :o)
8/28/08 1:23 AM
nicegirl said...
Nice! It's so fun to make this kind of crazy costume.
8/28/08 10:10 AM
Ellee said...
Lovely, lovely dress!! How did making the panniers go?
8/28/08 10:52 AM
Costume Queen said...
Ellee, the panniers were actually quite easy to make. I was surprised. I know a lot of people don't like working with boning, but I really have no problem with it. It's zippers that get me. :)
8/29/08 7:55 PM
Kem P. said...
Great job! I have bought fabric to make this dress and will definitely make a muslin at your suggestion. I too think the zipper might not go with the look of the dress, so I might try hooks and eyes for a change. Again, fantastic job, I can't wait to get started!
1/21/09 6:46 PM
Kem P. said...
Great job! I have bought fabric to make this dress and will definitely make a muslin at your suggestion. I too think the zipper might not go with the look of the dress, so I might try hooks and eyes for a change. Again, fantastic job, I can't wait to get started!
1/21/09 6:48 PM
Ligeia said...
This is gorgeous.What a beautiful dress.
4/1/09 3:23 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Register

Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Register

Laughing Moon Mercantile 111

photo
by: SewEccentr...

Review
Sewing Workshop Quincy Top and Pants

Sewing Workshop Quincy Top and Pants

Buy Now
Sew Liberated Brynna Dress Pattern

Sew Liberated Brynna Dress Pattern

Buy Now
Simplicity 2927

photo
by: yummymummy...

Review