SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 4092 (ElizabethSwann/MarieAntoinette)

19 more reviews
Viewed 1936 times 
Reviewed by:Costume Queen
photo

 
 
About Costume Queenstar
Member since: 1/18/06
Reviews written: 10
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 1 people
patterns reviewed: 10
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/4/07 9:16 AM
Last Updated:3/29/09 4:14 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 12 people   
See other patterns in this category: Costumes    
Available for sale on PR: $17.95 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $17.95 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 

Merchants on PR

Budo Bear Designs


Asian Designs
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
16 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
cindy-lou said...
Beautiful results! However, I can only see the gallery pic. Can you post bigger pictures??
5/4/07 2:08 PM
AnneM said...
Big project. Sounds like it came out very well after you adjustments. (Remember - flat pattern measure! ) As a bonus, you get exercise wearing this because it must weigh a fair amount with all that fabric!
5/13/07 9:00 AM
lilyofthevalley said...
The kids must have been shocked to receive candy from Royalty. The costume looks fabulous, simply fabulous. What beautiful choices you've made and your workmanship is superb. -Lily
2/8/08 11:58 PM
U. Chicago said...
Wow, that is gorgeous! You must be REALLY into Halloween to put that much effort into a costume for passing out candy! What a great job you did, and thanks for strongly recommending a muslin (I never make them either, even when I should).
2/9/08 8:55 AM
Luckylibbet said...
Looks very authentic - terrific job!
2/20/08 2:30 PM
jeanyus said...
Impressive, I was just wishing you had a back view in your photo album. You might want to post it at the POTC costume yahoo group, its a site for people interested in making any POTC costume.
2/20/08 4:33 PM
chirogrrl said...
Just gorgeous!! I think it looks just like Elizabeth Swann's Dress :) Thanks for the review!
4/20/08 6:28 PM
Gelbean said...
This dress is incredible. What a great and unique Halloween costume. I bet you didn't run into anyone wearing the same costume.
5/8/08 9:19 PM
Costume Queen said...
Thanks, everyone, for the wonderful comments! I have a huge Marie Antoinette style wig that I wore with this. It was so much fun. I love dressing up! This year, I'm thinking of making Giselle's Wedding Dress from the movie Enchanted. =)
5/8/08 9:22 PM
Annette1 said...
What a fabulous costume, and impeccable work! :o)
8/28/08 1:23 AM
nicegirl said...
Nice! It's so fun to make this kind of crazy costume.
8/28/08 10:10 AM
Ellee said...
Lovely, lovely dress!! How did making the panniers go?
8/28/08 10:52 AM
Costume Queen said...
Ellee, the panniers were actually quite easy to make. I was surprised. I know a lot of people don't like working with boning, but I really have no problem with it. It's zippers that get me. :)
8/29/08 7:55 PM
Kem P. said...
Great job! I have bought fabric to make this dress and will definitely make a muslin at your suggestion. I too think the zipper might not go with the look of the dress, so I might try hooks and eyes for a change. Again, fantastic job, I can't wait to get started!
1/21/09 6:46 PM
Kem P. said...
Great job! I have bought fabric to make this dress and will definitely make a muslin at your suggestion. I too think the zipper might not go with the look of the dress, so I might try hooks and eyes for a change. Again, fantastic job, I can't wait to get started!
1/21/09 6:48 PM
Ligeia said...
This is gorgeous.What a beautiful dress.
4/1/09 3:23 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Register

Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Register

Other Refashion Contest

photo
by: Mikgirl

Review
BurdaStyle Magazine 08-2009-110

photo
by: mkruszewsk...

Review
Shapes Nine Lives Vest Pattern

Shapes Nine Lives Vest Pattern

Buy Now
Petite Plus 104 Pattern

Petite Plus 104 Pattern

Buy Now