SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 4092 (ElizabethSwann/MarieAntoinette)

19 more reviews
Viewed 1938 times 
Reviewed by:Costume Queen
photo

 
 
About Costume Queenstar
Member since: 1/18/06
Reviews written: 10
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 1 people
patterns reviewed: 10
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/4/07 9:16 AM
Last Updated:3/29/09 4:14 AM




Buy Pattern
Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 12 people   
See other patterns in this category: Costumes    
Available for sale on PR: $17.95 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $17.95 Pattern Details
<< Previous      Next >>
16 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Ligeia said...
This is gorgeous.What a beautiful dress.
4/1/09 3:23 PM
Kem P. said...
Great job! I have bought fabric to make this dress and will definitely make a muslin at your suggestion. I too think the zipper might not go with the look of the dress, so I might try hooks and eyes for a change. Again, fantastic job, I can't wait to get started!
1/21/09 6:48 PM
Kem P. said...
Great job! I have bought fabric to make this dress and will definitely make a muslin at your suggestion. I too think the zipper might not go with the look of the dress, so I might try hooks and eyes for a change. Again, fantastic job, I can't wait to get started!
1/21/09 6:46 PM
Costume Queen said...
Ellee, the panniers were actually quite easy to make. I was surprised. I know a lot of people don't like working with boning, but I really have no problem with it. It's zippers that get me. :)
8/29/08 7:55 PM
Ellee said...
Lovely, lovely dress!! How did making the panniers go?
8/28/08 10:52 AM
nicegirl said...
Nice! It's so fun to make this kind of crazy costume.
8/28/08 10:10 AM
Annette1 said...
What a fabulous costume, and impeccable work! :o)
8/28/08 1:23 AM
Costume Queen said...
Thanks, everyone, for the wonderful comments! I have a huge Marie Antoinette style wig that I wore with this. It was so much fun. I love dressing up! This year, I'm thinking of making Giselle's Wedding Dress from the movie Enchanted. =)
5/8/08 9:22 PM
Gelbean said...
This dress is incredible. What a great and unique Halloween costume. I bet you didn't run into anyone wearing the same costume.
5/8/08 9:19 PM
chirogrrl said...
Just gorgeous!! I think it looks just like Elizabeth Swann's Dress :) Thanks for the review!
4/20/08 6:28 PM
jeanyus said...
Impressive, I was just wishing you had a back view in your photo album. You might want to post it at the POTC costume yahoo group, its a site for people interested in making any POTC costume.
2/20/08 4:33 PM
Luckylibbet said...
Looks very authentic - terrific job!
2/20/08 2:30 PM
U. Chicago said...
Wow, that is gorgeous! You must be REALLY into Halloween to put that much effort into a costume for passing out candy! What a great job you did, and thanks for strongly recommending a muslin (I never make them either, even when I should).
2/9/08 8:55 AM
lilyofthevalley said...
The kids must have been shocked to receive candy from Royalty. The costume looks fabulous, simply fabulous. What beautiful choices you've made and your workmanship is superb. -Lily
2/8/08 11:58 PM
AnneM said...
Big project. Sounds like it came out very well after you adjustments. (Remember - flat pattern measure! ) As a bonus, you get exercise wearing this because it must weigh a fair amount with all that fabric!
5/13/07 9:00 AM
cindy-lou said...
Beautiful results! However, I can only see the gallery pic. Can you post bigger pictures??
5/4/07 2:08 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Class Details

Online Class
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Class Details

Simplicity 4079

photo
by: Lori9999

Review
BurdaStyle Magazine 01-2013-123B

photo
by: dillyo

Review
You Sew Girl Sling Pattern

You Sew Girl Sling Pattern

More Info
Sewing Workshop Tahoe Pants Pattern

Sewing Workshop Tahoe Pants Pattern

More Info