SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 3835 (Built By You Tie-sleeve Dress)

85 more reviews
Viewed 1403 times 
Reviewed by:choochie
photo

 
 
About choochie
TX USA
Member since: 10/19/06
Reviews written: 6
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
patterns reviewed: 5
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review

Best Patterns of 2007
Hall of Fame 2009
Posted on:5/5/07 11:52 PM
Last Updated:5/5/07 11:53 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 4 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
12 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
AnneM said...
Cute trendy dress. This isn't a style I wear, but I really like the neck line. I think your softer fabric is what makes it.
5/13/07 9:12 AM
AuntieShel said...
How cute--LOVE the fabric.
5/8/07 2:14 PM
choochie said...
CrescentaLuna - This fabric isn't stiff at all and it drapes very nicely. I really need to put it on and get my husband to snap a picture, don't I? lol I didn't cut anything on the bias except for the sleeve ties (which was specified in the pattern). It was my first time cutting on the bias so it was interesting to see what a difference it makes. Those suckers were stretchy! I decided to use this particular fabric after I read one of the reviewer's comments that the pattern would work well with a print like this. Otherwise I don't think I would have been so bold.
5/6/07 11:46 PM
CrescentaLuna said...
I really like this version - like everyone else, I think it's the fabric that really sings! I love quilter's cottons too but they can be stiff - did you cut on the bias? Does it drape well?
5/6/07 9:49 PM
choochie said...
Soliel - I definitely have THIGHS and a butt! lol... I've got lots of curves right now as I have a nursing baby here, and this style is very flattering on me (with the leggings I mentioned needing underneath the very mini-dress)
5/6/07 3:00 PM
Soliel said...
Yes, the fabric does wonders. I am curvy and it seemed like Built by You patterns were made for very stick like people...with no thighs! Cute dress.
5/6/07 11:31 AM
BJ1400 said...
Very cute & I love your fabric!
5/6/07 10:57 AM
strasfamily said...
Very cute and I just LOVE the fabric! Thanks for a great review, I just may be brave enought to sew this one!
5/6/07 10:22 AM
Bonnie O said...
Adorable, fun dress!
5/6/07 8:31 AM
marjenann said...
Love your choice of pattern and fabric! Very fashion forward!
5/6/07 7:57 AM
MissCelie said...
I quite like your fabric. It gives it a very mod look.
5/6/07 7:03 AM
Lisa Merry said...
Very cute fabric choice!
5/6/07 0:43 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Register

Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Register

McCall's 6517

photo
by: Sue Parrot...

Review

Pattern

Sewing Workshop Origami Skirt Pattern

Sewing Workshop Origami Skirt Pattern

Buy Now
Fanny Pack or Purse

Fanny Pack or Purse

Buy Now