SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 3835 (Built By You Tie-sleeve Dress)

85 more reviews
Viewed 1402 times 
Reviewed by:choochie
photo

 
 
About choochie
TX USA
Member since: 10/19/06
Reviews written: 6
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
patterns reviewed: 5
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review

Best Patterns of 2007
Hall of Fame 2009
Posted on:5/5/07 11:52 PM
Last Updated:5/5/07 11:53 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 4 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
12 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Lisa Merry said...
Very cute fabric choice!
5/6/07 0:43 AM
MissCelie said...
I quite like your fabric. It gives it a very mod look.
5/6/07 7:03 AM
marjenann said...
Love your choice of pattern and fabric! Very fashion forward!
5/6/07 7:57 AM
Bonnie O said...
Adorable, fun dress!
5/6/07 8:31 AM
strasfamily said...
Very cute and I just LOVE the fabric! Thanks for a great review, I just may be brave enought to sew this one!
5/6/07 10:22 AM
BJ1400 said...
Very cute & I love your fabric!
5/6/07 10:57 AM
Soliel said...
Yes, the fabric does wonders. I am curvy and it seemed like Built by You patterns were made for very stick like people...with no thighs! Cute dress.
5/6/07 11:31 AM
choochie said...
Soliel - I definitely have THIGHS and a butt! lol... I've got lots of curves right now as I have a nursing baby here, and this style is very flattering on me (with the leggings I mentioned needing underneath the very mini-dress)
5/6/07 3:00 PM
CrescentaLuna said...
I really like this version - like everyone else, I think it's the fabric that really sings! I love quilter's cottons too but they can be stiff - did you cut on the bias? Does it drape well?
5/6/07 9:49 PM
choochie said...
CrescentaLuna - This fabric isn't stiff at all and it drapes very nicely. I really need to put it on and get my husband to snap a picture, don't I? lol I didn't cut anything on the bias except for the sleeve ties (which was specified in the pattern). It was my first time cutting on the bias so it was interesting to see what a difference it makes. Those suckers were stretchy! I decided to use this particular fabric after I read one of the reviewer's comments that the pattern would work well with a print like this. Otherwise I don't think I would have been so bold.
5/6/07 11:46 PM
AuntieShel said...
How cute--LOVE the fabric.
5/8/07 2:14 PM
AnneM said...
Cute trendy dress. This isn't a style I wear, but I really like the neck line. I think your softer fabric is what makes it.
5/13/07 9:12 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Register

Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Register

SewBaby Petal Jacket Pattern

SewBaby Petal Jacket Pattern

Buy Now
Victory Ava Paper Pattern

Victory Ava Paper Pattern

Buy Now
StyleArc Becky Yoga Pant

photo
by: Knitz

Review