Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Marfy: 1214 (fitted dress) - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 1793 times 1 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 12 people   
Reviewed by:Nancywin
photo
Friend of PR
About Nancywinstarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 7/25/06
Reviews written: 267
Favored by: 121 people
patterns reviewed: 224
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/6/07 1:00 AM
Last Updated:5/13/07 3:57 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
35 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
MissCelie said...
Wow. That's just gorgeous. I looove those princess seams. The fit must be spectacular.
5/6/07 6:39 AM
Nancy K said...
The photos are being blocked with a FORBIDDEN comming up The photos within your review show up and they look great. It looks great and a great beginning to your swap.
5/6/07 7:39 AM
marjenann said...
Great looking dress! Definitlely a "keeper" pattern!
5/6/07 7:50 AM
yummymummy38 said...
love your swap board, Nancy! yummy colours
5/6/07 8:57 AM
Nancywin said...
Sorry about the pix. They're fixed now
5/6/07 9:16 AM
Luckylibbet said...
Great dress with terrific style lines. Love it!
5/6/07 9:33 AM
cathy45 said...
Beautiful dress! I know it's not part of your SWAP, but any plans for the jacket, too? It's really cute with the dress on the covershot.
5/6/07 9:57 AM
Diana M said...
What a great looking dress -- and fabric from WalMart, yet! Inspriational start on your SWAP.
5/6/07 10:42 AM
Heatherrique said...
Simple, but very alluring dress! As always, I look forward to your reviews and especially your creations, Nancy!
5/6/07 10:56 AM
Sherril Miller said...
Very pretty. I love the hem treatment. Congrats on finishing your first SWAP item.
5/6/07 10:56 AM
Bonnie O said...
Adorable! Love the ribbon on the bottom.
5/6/07 11:32 AM
mochalover said...
Gorgeous dress. I can't wait to see the jacket. Wonderful job!
5/6/07 12:03 PM
Talleymom said...
I used the same feyelet to make the McCall's 5094. It had been in my stash for around 10 years. It was very stiff on the bolt, but after washing was just lovely. I like the clean lines of your very classic sheath with a twist.
5/6/07 12:44 PM
Tiner W said...
Beautiful, beautiful dress!
5/6/07 1:08 PM
OP Gal said...
Very pretty dress. My hat is off to anyone who can tackle a Marfy pattern. Wonderful outcome!
5/6/07 1:46 PM
Erica B. said...
Just gorgeous!
5/6/07 2:32 PM
SandraB said...
Your dress is so very pretty.
5/6/07 3:03 PM
CarolynGM said...
It came out great. Very interesting design and shaping details.
5/6/07 3:19 PM
HawkeMorningStar7 said...
Beautiful lines, love the lace. So pretty !
5/6/07 6:34 PM
hongkongshopper said...
This has come out very nice indeed. Congratulations on your first Marfy.
5/7/07 1:51 AM
Liana said...
This looks so nice! I've been thinking of trying this dress as well. Thanks for the great review!
5/7/07 2:34 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Excellent job! Lovely dress.
5/7/07 5:17 AM
Elaray said...
The dress is absolutely lovely. I'm a little intimidated by Marfy, but you may have sparked my interest in this pattern company.
5/7/07 7:44 AM
piggyannie said...
This is a beautiful dress that you made! So, you said that it was somewhat difficult, but it sounds like it's actually not that bad. Was it the fit that was hard to alter then? I am asking this because I am a Vogue size 8, and Marfy patterns does not come any smaller than size 42. I really want to start making garments with Marfy patterns, but i am afraid that I will have a hard time adjusting the sizes down. thanks. :)
5/7/07 8:36 AM
Nancywin said...
I wear a vogue size 10 in the top, so one size up from you. I guess it would depend on the pattern. If you have a good fit book, it shouldn't be hard to make it smaller. for basic shaped pieces, its easy to pinch out 1/2" or more from the pattern, but when you get into pieces that run from the front to the back, it gets more complicated. The 3 fit books I use the most are Fitting Finesse by Nancy Zeiman Fast fit by Sandra Betzina and Fit for Real People by Palmer and Pletsch The dress I made would not be hard to size down, BUT you really need quite a bit of pattern experience (or an adventurous spirit) to know how to put the pieces together since they come with no directions. That's why I decided to try the "free" ones that come in the catalog before ordering any. It is a fun challenge.
5/7/07 11:33 AM
cmarie12 said...
Beautiful dress - I love the lace trim!
5/7/07 12:20 PM
jess12 said...
Love the dress, Wha a great start for the SWAP!!
5/7/07 12:21 PM
Re Becca said...
Very pretty. The lace trim is a nice touch. Can you tell me about how much fabric this took? I was looking at this for a nice print.
5/7/07 2:28 PM
Nancywin said...
This dress only used about 1.5 yards. The pattern calls for 1-1/8 of 55" My fabric was 45" and the pieces layed together so nicely that I didn't use much fabric at all. If you're going to use expensive fabric and don't want to buy extra, I would suggest laying it out on scrap fabric of the desired width and see what you come up with.
5/7/07 5:29 PM
Marji said...
Darling dress. Love the design lines and the fabric.
5/7/07 6:58 PM
jhansby said...
Love this dress!! A simple line but the lace hem makes it so special! Nice dress!
5/8/07 7:10 AM
Robin Denning said...
beautiful!
5/10/07 8:47 PM
Schnauzer said...
Absolutely gorgeous!
5/13/07 6:50 PM
AnneM said...
Lovely dress, great style lines. (Hey - who's that in the pictures with no neck brace?) The dress is nice on it's own, and the jacket is a great addition as well.
5/14/07 10:33 AM
Birgitte said...
You look so beautiful on Mother's Day... hard to believe you have two college age children! The dress is wonderful!
6/16/07 3:58 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Altering Jackets
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Jackets

Online Sewing Classes
Sewing Facings and Developing Facing Patterns
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $29.00)
Sewing Facings and Developing Facing Patterns

New Look 6953 Misses Skirts
photo
Review by katlew03 on 12/12/11
Read Review

McCalls 6225 Pattern ( Size MED-LRG-XLG )
McCalls 6225 Pattern ( Size MED-LRG-XLG )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6530 Pattern ( Size 6-7-8 )
McCalls 6530 Pattern ( Size 6-7-8 )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Other Reisebegleiter
photo
Review by GlobalMom on 2/19/11
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Harper Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Harper Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sis Boom Patricia Tunic Digital Pattern
Sis Boom Patricia Tunic Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $10.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Christine Jonson Swing Shirt
Christine Jonson Swing Shirt

Details
Price: $18.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

SewBaby Comfy-Alls and Knit Shirt Pattern
SewBaby Comfy-Alls and Knit Shirt Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us