SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Marfy> 9829 (Free Top Pattern Spring 2006)

Viewed 1877 times 
Reviewed by:Liana
photo

 
 
About Lianastarstarstarstar
NE USA
Member since: 8/31/03
Reviews written: 94
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 125 people
patterns reviewed: 60
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/7/07 0:29 AM
Last Updated:5/8/07 2:47 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 18 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

So Vintage Patterns


Thank You for Joining!
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
26 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
hongkongshopper said...
This is really cute Liana, a bit different from a usual shell top. Like the tip on the binding. Thanks
5/7/07 1:44 AM
Nancywin said...
cute top. I'll have to try your binding technique
5/7/07 1:54 AM
Lilibet said...
Nicely shaped top. Love the binding too.
5/7/07 2:24 AM
MissCelie said...
I quite like that binding technique
5/7/07 6:11 AM
marjenann said...
Very smart looking top! The twisted binding is a great touch! Love it!
5/7/07 7:35 AM
carolynw said...
Very nice looking top - love the idea of twisted binding - does add interest for sure!
5/7/07 8:25 AM
cathy45 said...
Lovely top. Love the bias binding tip.
5/7/07 8:51 AM
cindyann said...
Very nice top. The neckline treatment is an interesting touch. How is this accomplished? I make a lot of tees and I'm always looking for ways to make them a little different.
5/7/07 9:04 AM
Liana said...
Thank you everyone! cindyann, there's a link to my Tip/Technique for the binding at the top of the review.
5/7/07 9:43 AM
Liana said...
duplicate
5/7/07 9:50 AM
cindy-lou said...
Ooooh, that's a slick trick with the twisted binding! A little detail that I'm sure takes a while, but is QUITE worth it.
5/7/07 11:50 AM
Re Becca said...
very cute! I may have to dig this one out. Yours turned out very well, the twisted binding is a nice decorative touch. Do you think this would work well in wovens?
5/7/07 2:26 PM
CarolynGM said...
I love that twisted binding finish. This looks like a great basic pattern.
5/7/07 2:38 PM
Rhoda K said...
Ditto all above - great top!
5/7/07 3:50 PM
Vonnevo said...
This is lovely Liana. Thanks for sharing the tip on the binding :))
5/7/07 4:32 PM
Linda G said...
Your top is wonderful...I really like the swooped up middle....thanks for the "twist" method tip on the binding.
5/7/07 6:08 PM
Danvillegirl said...
Cute top, like the twisted binding.
5/8/07 5:22 AM
Jane S said...
This is lovely top on you, simple but distinctive. Thanks for that binding tip, I just saw it on a RTW T shirt in aboutique and thought it looked like a nice way to upgrade a simple shirt.
5/8/07 6:38 AM
Liana said...
ReBecca, I think this would work just fine in a woven as well, but you would definitely want bias strips.
5/8/07 9:24 AM
Liana said...
duplicate, sorry.
5/8/07 10:32 AM
Barbara at Cat Fur Studio said...
Great style, and lovely fit! I like the hem shaping a lot. Thanks for going through the details of your fitting process. Very educational.
5/8/07 11:43 AM
Dmd4106 said...
Another winner, Luv the tip on the twisted binding. Less then a dollar a yd that's a double winner in my book.
5/8/07 3:32 PM
marjenann said...
What a really lovely top! Totally designer!
5/8/07 6:22 PM
AndSewOn said...
Liana, I love that binding. I'm wondering -- how wide were your bias strips? And how did you finish the binding on the inside? Thanks so much.
5/8/07 10:24 PM
Liana said...
AndSewOn, I cut them 2" wide, since that's the width of the ruler I was using, and it seemed to be okay. I didn't turn it under on the inside since it's a knit, and it won't ravel.
5/10/07 1:18 AM
AnneM said...
Lovely blouse, neat neckline.
5/14/07 8:20 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Register

Create a Jacket Muslin
Create a Jacket Muslin

Register

BurdaStyle Magazine 03-2012-121A

photo
by: evyline

Review
SewBaby "I Can Do It" Cloth Activity Book Pattern

SewBaby

Buy Now
Favorite Things Little Nightie Night Pattern

Favorite Things Little Nightie Night Pattern

Buy Now
BurdaStyle Magazine 11-2012-138

photo
by: squirrelly...

Review