SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Kwik Sew> 3049 (Dress)

5 more reviews
Viewed 905 times 
Reviewed by:moss
photo

 
 
About mossstar
Member since: 8/23/06
Reviews written: 30
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 1 people
patterns reviewed: 26
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/7/07 8:44 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    Formalwear    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns


Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
6 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Soliel said...
Yeah, the pattern looks like it has an upswing at the hem. Maybe that is from a particular fabric? Congratulations on your dress! I was always curious about this one.
5/7/07 9:43 AM
marjenann said...
Great job on your very cute dress!! The stripes look terrific!
5/7/07 6:17 PM
Larkin said...
Congratulations on getting such good fit on your most fitted thing EVER! I think that you'd do it again and that you consider it a quick dress shows you've really mastered it. Thanks for the review.
5/8/07 0:27 AM
aunt saidee said...
What a gorgeous stripe and you featured it nicely with this pattern. I have to look so hard at the line drawings and the shape of the pattern pieces to verify whether the swing shown in a drawing is really as pronounced as it seems... I'm wondering whether you might have lost some of it if you had to shorten the dress. Do you still sew everything BY HAND??? The detail you put into this says "please hem me," but that is my own bias showing--pun intended!! Bias hems need to 'rest' by hanging at least overnight, I've been told. I'm too chicken to sew bias! Thanks for the review.
5/8/07 1:34 AM
moss said...
Aunt saidee.. don't be afraid of bias! It is not at all hard. :) I think I will hem it. It will look better. I didn't shorten the dress ... I cut it on the cutting line for view C (knee length). And I would definitely say that there is not as much swing as the line drawing makes it look. Maybe if both layers were rayon, maybe. The skirt is not full, just somewhat flared. Anyway, thanks everybody for your nice comments!
5/8/07 7:52 AM
AnneM said...
Very nice - I love the double layer look. Congratulations on your dress.
5/14/07 8:26 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Register

Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Register

Kwik Sew 2821

photo
by: LoriB

Review
Marfy 2733

photo
by: clothingen...

Review
You Sew Girl Panel Bag

You Sew Girl Panel Bag

Buy Now
A-Door-Ables

A-Door-Ables

Buy Now