SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Bernina
Bernina

Pattern Reviews> Kwik Sew> 3049 (Dress)

5 more reviews
Viewed 925 times 
Reviewed by:moss
photo

 
 
About mossstar
Member since: 8/23/06
Reviews: 30 (patterns: 26)
Skill level:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 1 people
more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/7/07 8:44 AM
Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    Formalwear    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Home Sewing Depot


Home Dec Sewing Supplies
Deals!

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
6 Comments      Login to Add a Comment    
AnneM said... (5/14/07 8:26 PM) Reply
Very nice - I love the double layer look. Congratulations on your dress.
moss said... (5/8/07 7:52 AM) Reply
Aunt saidee.. don't be afraid of bias! It is not at all hard. :) I think I will hem it. It will look better. I didn't shorten the dress ... I cut it on the cutting line for view C (knee length). And I would definitely say that there is not as much swing as the line drawing makes it look. Maybe if both layers were rayon, maybe. The skirt is not full, just somewhat flared. Anyway, thanks everybody for your nice comments!
aunt saidee said... (5/8/07 1:34 AM) Reply
What a gorgeous stripe and you featured it nicely with this pattern. I have to look so hard at the line drawings and the shape of the pattern pieces to verify whether the swing shown in a drawing is really as pronounced as it seems... I'm wondering whether you might have lost some of it if you had to shorten the dress. Do you still sew everything BY HAND??? The detail you put into this says "please hem me," but that is my own bias showing--pun intended!! Bias hems need to 'rest' by hanging at least overnight, I've been told. I'm too chicken to sew bias! Thanks for the review.
Larkin said... (5/8/07 0:27 AM) Reply
Congratulations on getting such good fit on your most fitted thing EVER! I think that you'd do it again and that you consider it a quick dress shows you've really mastered it. Thanks for the review.
marjenann said... (5/7/07 6:17 PM) Reply
Great job on your very cute dress!! The stripes look terrific!
Soliel said... (5/7/07 9:43 AM) Reply
Yeah, the pattern looks like it has an upswing at the hem. Maybe that is from a particular fabric? Congratulations on your dress! I was always curious about this one.
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Class Details

Online Class
Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Class Details

Self Drafted Pattern Luly Yang

photo
by: arianamani...

Review
SewBaby Comfy-Alls and Knit Shirt Pattern

SewBaby Comfy-Alls and Knit Shirt Pattern

Pattern Details
Jennifer Stern The Perfectly Fitted Shirt by the Cup-Full Pattern ( Size 16-24(Cup B-DD) )

Jennifer Stern The Perfectly Fitted Shirt by the Cup-Full Pattern ( Size 16-24(Cup B-DD) )

Pattern Details
Simplicity 1913

photo
by: BeckiP

Review