SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> 4914 (Maggy London Dress)

20 more reviews
Viewed 4233 times 
Reviewed by:Marji
photo

 
 
About Marjistarstarstarstar
MO USA
Member since: 9/19/06
Reviews written: 62
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 95 people
patterns reviewed: 45
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/7/07 9:19 PM
Last Updated:1/14/08 5:59 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 28 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
32 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
didda said...
i likeit. real nice color on you. i wouldn't have given this pattern a second thought, but seeing it made up insteadof just a sketch, well, i'm going to have to consider that now. i like it better sleeveless.
5/7/07 9:33 PM
Pinkytoo said...
Gorgeous as always! I saw a pattern similar to this (I think it was a Vogue) but I passed on it, might have to take another look!
5/7/07 9:44 PM
quilter55 said...
What a great looking dress and the fit is perfect! Since you left off the sleeves did you have to modify the armhole to get it to fit so nicely??
5/7/07 9:48 PM
Kiwi Girl said...
I am thrilled to see your review - I have just walked in after shopping in town and bought this exact pattern. Thanks for the great tips.. It looks beautiful on youboth fit and colour. It looks great with sleeves too, I would not have thought to do that. Great job
5/7/07 9:55 PM
Vonnevo said...
Love it Marji !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
5/7/07 10:09 PM
Heatherrique said...
Marji, you're a knockout in this cute dress!
5/7/07 10:12 PM
Nancywin said...
Hey Marji - your dress looks great, and I LOVE your fabric. So, you're shopping in France, now are you?
5/7/07 11:03 PM
heatherst said...
Love your dress.
5/7/07 11:08 PM
Celeste said...
Beautiful job!! Love the color too! I also love to put wooly nylon in both loopers for stretchy stuff--it makes the seams so resilient.
5/7/07 11:13 PM
Em's Summer said...
What a cool dress! I love the style, the colors, the print! It's a gorgeous dress! Great job!
5/7/07 11:45 PM
Jennifer shaw said...
Your dress is so gorgeous and special!! Thanks for sharing this glorious dress. Where do you find your fabric?? Or is it a secret?
5/8/07 0:08 AM
Larkin said...
What a great dress! It looks wonderful on you - light and breezy.
5/8/07 0:32 AM
LiZ said...
Both the dress and the fabric are absolutely gorgeous.
5/8/07 0:34 AM
hongkongshopper said...
It looks so comfy! Love the fabric and style on you. Nice!
5/8/07 1:21 AM
Christina Sonja said...
Your sleeveless version turned out great. I *love* it when dresses are so comfortable you don't want to take them off!
5/8/07 2:37 AM
Tany said...
That's a great dress! Wow!
5/8/07 3:18 AM
CarolynGM said...
I love the way the bodice fits so smoothly. The lining and clear elastic were very successful techniques. This is a great pattern for you.
5/8/07 6:21 AM
Jane S said...
What a wonderful color and flattering style on you. I just tried this dress on in a store this weekend and thought, I know this is a pattern somewhere, so thanks for the timely review.
5/8/07 6:58 AM
cindy-lou said...
You look DYNAMITE in this dress! Beautiful-- but I wouldn't expect anything else. :) Thanks for the great review-- I'll bookmark it for when I make a dress like this.
5/8/07 6:59 AM
Beve said...
That is a lovely dress! And so becoming to you. Thanks for the review..
5/8/07 8:04 AM
carolynw said...
Lovely dress - the color is wonderful on you and it looks like it must be very comfortable.
5/8/07 8:43 AM
Bonnie O said...
Very flattering dress. Knit dresses are awesome!
5/8/07 8:54 AM
cindyann said...
Awsome dress!! I'm so bummed that the fabric is from France........I want some. What a great pattern. Thank you for the tip on the wooly nylon.
5/8/07 9:10 AM
AuntieShel said...
Please let me add my kudos--absolutely fabulous dress, looks wonderful on you.
5/8/07 2:06 PM
Ody said...
Marji--so cute! So fresh for summer and I know you will live in that dress this year.
5/8/07 3:27 PM
Sigrid. said...
Sparkling, special dress. I love the pattern. Will put it on my wish list.
5/8/07 5:09 PM
AnneM said...
Love your version. I bought this pattern after seeing the previous reviews. You'll have to wear your dress when you go to France.
5/14/07 6:44 PM
Kaitlinnegan said...
Wow - reading the update (not very carefully), I assumed the picture was your 18 year old daughter... Are you sure that's you? You do not look old enough to have an 18 year old. :) You look smashing! And the dress is fab too!
1/14/08 6:21 PM
Leora said...
That looks like a nice print. Glad she likes it (finally) after all that work.
1/14/08 7:23 PM
rivergum said...
Very pretty dress, marji!
1/14/08 8:29 PM
Cheryl Reeves said...
Beautiful job, as always.
1/15/08 8:35 AM
MelissaB in WA said...
Looks like you lemonade out of a lemon - great work and what a high compliment that your daughter loves it!
1/15/08 11:52 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Register

Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Register

BurdaStyle Magazine 08-2009-127

photo
by: Maree P

Review
Sew Liberated Mischievous Gnome Messenger Bag

Sew Liberated Mischievous Gnome Messenger Bag

Buy Now
Sewing Workshop Tosca Dress

Sewing Workshop Tosca Dress

Buy Now
KnipMode Magazine 01-2011-6

photo
by: treefrog

Review