Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Butterick: 4914 (Maggy London Dress) thumbsup - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 4227 times 19 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 28 people   
Reviewed by:Marji
photo
About Marjistarstarstarstar
MO USA
Member since: 9/19/06
Reviews written: 62
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 95 people
patterns reviewed: 45
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/7/07 9:19 PM
Last Updated:1/14/08 5:59 PM


See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
32 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
didda said...
i likeit. real nice color on you. i wouldn't have given this pattern a second thought, but seeing it made up insteadof just a sketch, well, i'm going to have to consider that now. i like it better sleeveless.
5/7/07 9:33 PM
Pinkytoo said...
Gorgeous as always! I saw a pattern similar to this (I think it was a Vogue) but I passed on it, might have to take another look!
5/7/07 9:44 PM
quilter55 said...
What a great looking dress and the fit is perfect! Since you left off the sleeves did you have to modify the armhole to get it to fit so nicely??
5/7/07 9:48 PM
Kiwi Girl said...
I am thrilled to see your review - I have just walked in after shopping in town and bought this exact pattern. Thanks for the great tips.. It looks beautiful on youboth fit and colour. It looks great with sleeves too, I would not have thought to do that. Great job
5/7/07 9:55 PM
Vonnevo said...
Love it Marji !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
5/7/07 10:09 PM
Heatherrique said...
Marji, you're a knockout in this cute dress!
5/7/07 10:12 PM
Nancywin said...
Hey Marji - your dress looks great, and I LOVE your fabric. So, you're shopping in France, now are you?
5/7/07 11:03 PM
heatherst said...
Love your dress.
5/7/07 11:08 PM
Celeste said...
Beautiful job!! Love the color too! I also love to put wooly nylon in both loopers for stretchy stuff--it makes the seams so resilient.
5/7/07 11:13 PM
Em's Summer said...
What a cool dress! I love the style, the colors, the print! It's a gorgeous dress! Great job!
5/7/07 11:45 PM
Jennifer shaw said...
Your dress is so gorgeous and special!! Thanks for sharing this glorious dress. Where do you find your fabric?? Or is it a secret?
5/8/07 0:08 AM
Larkin said...
What a great dress! It looks wonderful on you - light and breezy.
5/8/07 0:32 AM
LiZ said...
Both the dress and the fabric are absolutely gorgeous.
5/8/07 0:34 AM
hongkongshopper said...
It looks so comfy! Love the fabric and style on you. Nice!
5/8/07 1:21 AM
Christina Sonja said...
Your sleeveless version turned out great. I *love* it when dresses are so comfortable you don't want to take them off!
5/8/07 2:37 AM
Tany said...
That's a great dress! Wow!
5/8/07 3:18 AM
CarolynGM said...
I love the way the bodice fits so smoothly. The lining and clear elastic were very successful techniques. This is a great pattern for you.
5/8/07 6:21 AM
Jane S said...
What a wonderful color and flattering style on you. I just tried this dress on in a store this weekend and thought, I know this is a pattern somewhere, so thanks for the timely review.
5/8/07 6:58 AM
cindy-lou said...
You look DYNAMITE in this dress! Beautiful-- but I wouldn't expect anything else. :) Thanks for the great review-- I'll bookmark it for when I make a dress like this.
5/8/07 6:59 AM
Beve said...
That is a lovely dress! And so becoming to you. Thanks for the review..
5/8/07 8:04 AM
carolynw said...
Lovely dress - the color is wonderful on you and it looks like it must be very comfortable.
5/8/07 8:43 AM
Bonnie O said...
Very flattering dress. Knit dresses are awesome!
5/8/07 8:54 AM
cindyann said...
Awsome dress!! I'm so bummed that the fabric is from France........I want some. What a great pattern. Thank you for the tip on the wooly nylon.
5/8/07 9:10 AM
AuntieShel said...
Please let me add my kudos--absolutely fabulous dress, looks wonderful on you.
5/8/07 2:06 PM
Ody said...
Marji--so cute! So fresh for summer and I know you will live in that dress this year.
5/8/07 3:27 PM
Sigrid. said...
Sparkling, special dress. I love the pattern. Will put it on my wish list.
5/8/07 5:09 PM
AnneM said...
Love your version. I bought this pattern after seeing the previous reviews. You'll have to wear your dress when you go to France.
5/14/07 6:44 PM
Kaitlinnegan said...
Wow - reading the update (not very carefully), I assumed the picture was your 18 year old daughter... Are you sure that's you? You do not look old enough to have an 18 year old. :) You look smashing! And the dress is fab too!
1/14/08 6:21 PM
Leora said...
That looks like a nice print. Glad she likes it (finally) after all that work.
1/14/08 7:23 PM
rivergum said...
Very pretty dress, marji!
1/14/08 8:29 PM
Cheryl Reeves said...
Beautiful job, as always.
1/15/08 8:35 AM
MelissaB in WA said...
Looks like you lemonade out of a lemon - great work and what a high compliment that your daughter loves it!
1/15/08 11:52 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Fee: $34.00
(Regular $49.00)
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Online Sewing Classes
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Ottobre Design Magazine 01-2005-18 Tunic
photo
Review by Christas on 2/2/10
Read Review

Vogue 8333 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10 )
Vogue 8333 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10 )

Details
Price: $25.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Burda 7003 Pattern
Burda 7003 Pattern

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Colette Patterns 1010 Lady Grey
photo
Review by Lynnelle on 11/20/12
Read Review

You Sew Girl Belle Digital Pattern
You Sew Girl Belle Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $8.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sis Boom Frayed Rosette Digital Pattern FREE
Sis Boom Frayed Rosette Digital Pattern FREE

Details
Price: $0
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Favorite Things Lounge Around Pattern
Favorite Things Lounge Around Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Islander Sewing Systems Three Pattern Collection Pattern
Islander Sewing Systems Three Pattern Collection Pattern

Details
Price: $45.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us