SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> 4914 (Maggy London Dress)

20 more reviews
Viewed 4239 times 
Reviewed by:Marji
photo

 
 
About Marjistarstarstarstar
MO USA
Member since: 9/19/06
Reviews written: 62
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 96 people
patterns reviewed: 45
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/7/07 9:19 PM
Last Updated:1/14/08 5:59 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 28 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
32 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
MelissaB in WA said...
Looks like you lemonade out of a lemon - great work and what a high compliment that your daughter loves it!
1/15/08 11:52 PM
Cheryl Reeves said...
Beautiful job, as always.
1/15/08 8:35 AM
rivergum said...
Very pretty dress, marji!
1/14/08 8:29 PM
Leora said...
That looks like a nice print. Glad she likes it (finally) after all that work.
1/14/08 7:23 PM
Kaitlinnegan said...
Wow - reading the update (not very carefully), I assumed the picture was your 18 year old daughter... Are you sure that's you? You do not look old enough to have an 18 year old. :) You look smashing! And the dress is fab too!
1/14/08 6:21 PM
AnneM said...
Love your version. I bought this pattern after seeing the previous reviews. You'll have to wear your dress when you go to France.
5/14/07 6:44 PM
Sigrid. said...
Sparkling, special dress. I love the pattern. Will put it on my wish list.
5/8/07 5:09 PM
Ody said...
Marji--so cute! So fresh for summer and I know you will live in that dress this year.
5/8/07 3:27 PM
AuntieShel said...
Please let me add my kudos--absolutely fabulous dress, looks wonderful on you.
5/8/07 2:06 PM
cindyann said...
Awsome dress!! I'm so bummed that the fabric is from France........I want some. What a great pattern. Thank you for the tip on the wooly nylon.
5/8/07 9:10 AM
Bonnie O said...
Very flattering dress. Knit dresses are awesome!
5/8/07 8:54 AM
carolynw said...
Lovely dress - the color is wonderful on you and it looks like it must be very comfortable.
5/8/07 8:43 AM
Beve said...
That is a lovely dress! And so becoming to you. Thanks for the review..
5/8/07 8:04 AM
cindy-lou said...
You look DYNAMITE in this dress! Beautiful-- but I wouldn't expect anything else. :) Thanks for the great review-- I'll bookmark it for when I make a dress like this.
5/8/07 6:59 AM
Jane S said...
What a wonderful color and flattering style on you. I just tried this dress on in a store this weekend and thought, I know this is a pattern somewhere, so thanks for the timely review.
5/8/07 6:58 AM
CarolynGM said...
I love the way the bodice fits so smoothly. The lining and clear elastic were very successful techniques. This is a great pattern for you.
5/8/07 6:21 AM
Tany said...
That's a great dress! Wow!
5/8/07 3:18 AM
Christina Sonja said...
Your sleeveless version turned out great. I *love* it when dresses are so comfortable you don't want to take them off!
5/8/07 2:37 AM
hongkongshopper said...
It looks so comfy! Love the fabric and style on you. Nice!
5/8/07 1:21 AM
LiZ said...
Both the dress and the fabric are absolutely gorgeous.
5/8/07 0:34 AM
Larkin said...
What a great dress! It looks wonderful on you - light and breezy.
5/8/07 0:32 AM
Jennifer shaw said...
Your dress is so gorgeous and special!! Thanks for sharing this glorious dress. Where do you find your fabric?? Or is it a secret?
5/8/07 0:08 AM
Em's Summer said...
What a cool dress! I love the style, the colors, the print! It's a gorgeous dress! Great job!
5/7/07 11:45 PM
Celeste said...
Beautiful job!! Love the color too! I also love to put wooly nylon in both loopers for stretchy stuff--it makes the seams so resilient.
5/7/07 11:13 PM
heatherst said...
Love your dress.
5/7/07 11:08 PM
Nancywin said...
Hey Marji - your dress looks great, and I LOVE your fabric. So, you're shopping in France, now are you?
5/7/07 11:03 PM
Heatherrique said...
Marji, you're a knockout in this cute dress!
5/7/07 10:12 PM
Vonnevo said...
Love it Marji !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
5/7/07 10:09 PM
Kiwi Girl said...
I am thrilled to see your review - I have just walked in after shopping in town and bought this exact pattern. Thanks for the great tips.. It looks beautiful on youboth fit and colour. It looks great with sleeves too, I would not have thought to do that. Great job
5/7/07 9:55 PM
quilter55 said...
What a great looking dress and the fit is perfect! Since you left off the sleeves did you have to modify the armhole to get it to fit so nicely??
5/7/07 9:48 PM
Pinkytoo said...
Gorgeous as always! I saw a pattern similar to this (I think it was a Vogue) but I passed on it, might have to take another look!
5/7/07 9:44 PM
didda said...
i likeit. real nice color on you. i wouldn't have given this pattern a second thought, but seeing it made up insteadof just a sketch, well, i'm going to have to consider that now. i like it better sleeveless.
5/7/07 9:33 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Create a Jacket Muslin
Create a Jacket Muslin

Register

Fit the Tee to a T
Fit the Tee to a T

Register

Sewing Workshop Tosca Dress

Sewing Workshop Tosca Dress

Buy Now
SewBaby Petal Dress Pattern

SewBaby Petal Dress Pattern

Buy Now