Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Butterick: 4469 (Front Wrap-Side Tie Blouses) - Type:Easy to Sew    printable version
Viewed 1054 times 1 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 7 people   
Reviewed by:Talleymom
photo
Friend of PR
About Talleymomstar
TX USA
Member since: 10/11/06
Reviews written: 32
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 3 people
patterns reviewed: 14
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/8/07 2:25 PM
Last Updated:5/8/07 2:31 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized 


See other patterns in this category: Mens - Shirts    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
11 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Ody said...
Oh good, I am the first one to leave a comment! I read this review and the link to the other review. I liked the Butterick top so well on you that I wrote the number down. I agree with one of the commenters on the link review that you should try small shoulder pads, very slim ones. I like the fabric and I really like the blouse on you. You should go read Debbie Cooks comments to Sherill about her tops in the Plus spring sewing thread bc it truly applies to you. We are only seeing a picture of you chopped in half, which does not give a balanced perspective. I think you are too hard on yourself and the blouse is very nice. You are a beautiful woman and I just think this blouse could be a little larger at the bottom. I think you should know that you are better looking in your clothes than you think you are.
5/8/07 3:22 PM
Sherril Miller said...
I like wrap tops and for our body type they work very nicely. I think you should sew it again, just use a heavier fabric that won't sit into every roll. You did a great job on your alterations, I couldn't get this one to work for me but have on other wrap styles.
5/8/07 5:01 PM
squilts said...
Great color! I agree with Ody that seeing a full length view would give you better perspective of how other people would see it on you.
5/8/07 5:51 PM
moss said...
I am sorry you don't think it looks good, I think it looks really pretty on you. I hope you find something you are comfortable in, but your blouse (to an impartial observer!) is VERY nice!!
5/9/07 9:04 AM
kim*brown said...
I really like it too, the color and style look very flattering on you.
5/9/07 1:44 PM
mlt said...
Another vote for lovely :)
5/9/07 8:53 PM
Talleymom said...
I wore this top today, and I was shocked at the number of positive comments I received. I am a perfectionist, and my own worst critic. I discoved after wearing this for a period of time today, that the waistline is about 2 inches to high. I think I will make this again with the waist lower and see what happens. I will post the pictures when I get it done. Right now I must clean my sewing room before I begin another project.
5/9/07 10:32 PM
AnneM said...
Well, I have to disagree - I think it looks like a great style for you. I'm just reading the comments, and it looks like everyone else thinks so also! Glad you wore the top despite your misgivings. Great job.
5/15/07 10:46 AM
SewTwin said...
Talleymom, I agree with the others. We have to try different styles to find what works the best for your mind & body. Sherrill is right about the "Heavy" slinky. Look at the high-end stores, and they use the "heavy" slinky in the expensivc designs. I know the "Twiggy girls" are envious of your chest. Keep it up, you will get there....
6/6/07 1:07 AM
Mancity0327 said...
Thank you for your review. I find it really annoying when even the plus size patterns don't use a picture of a really plus size woman - its so hard to get an idea of its suitability.
4/13/08 9:57 AM
lbremers said...
I was planning to make this for my size 18 adult daughter. We are both full busted so I have to do a FBA on everything I sew. I hate the too low necklines and was wondering if anyone knew how I could raise the neckline so a cami isn't necessary. ALSO, I've lost the 2nd page of the pattern instructions. I would be willing to pay postage and a reasonable fee if anyone has this pattern and could help me out getting the instruction page I'm missing.
3/7/13 9:47 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Altering Pants
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Pants

Online Sewing Classes
Fit the Tee to a T
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Fit the Tee to a T

Simplicity 2588
photo
Review by jmwaddoups on 12/20/11
Read Review

Petite Plus 401 Pattern
Petite Plus 401 Pattern

Details
Price: $21.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Christine Jonson Swirl Skirt & Ruffle Top
Christine Jonson Swirl Skirt & Ruffle Top

Details
Price: $18.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

MariaDenmark Super Socks Digital Pattern
MariaDenmark Super Socks Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $3.75
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver S School Days Jacket & Coat Digital Pattern( Size 6m-3T )
Oliver   S School Days Jacket & Coat Digital Pattern( Size 6m-3T )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewaholic Patterns 1205 Cordova Jacket
photo
Review by carrie1858... on 8/27/13
Read Review

Vogue 8430 Pattern( Size ONE SIZE )
Vogue 8430 Pattern( Size ONE SIZE )

Details
Price: $25.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 2401 Pattern ( Size 12-14-16 )
McCalls 2401 Pattern ( Size 12-14-16 )

Details
Price: $13.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us