SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 2949 (Misses Topper)

Viewed 936 times 
Reviewed by:Brodie
photo

 
 
About Brodiestar
BC CANADA
Member since: 5/6/07
Reviews written: 2
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 1 people
patterns reviewed: 2
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/9/07 11:01 PM
Last Updated:5/9/07 11:04 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized 


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 12 people   
See other patterns in this category: Kids(boys & girls)    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
20 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Heatherrique said...
I just adore this upscale groovy jacket and scrumptious color! Super job on a classic that looks so fashionable today!
5/9/07 11:07 PM
Annika said...
Very very cool!
5/9/07 11:17 PM
Em's Summer said...
This is soo cute! You did a great job!
5/9/07 11:23 PM
Englebert said...
Love your jacket!!
5/9/07 11:33 PM
ladykicks said...
Wow...I really love the button placement. I am going to do this on something. Good job on thinking 'out of the box.'
5/9/07 11:52 PM
EveS said...
Ooooh my favorite color AND it's a fabulous jacket!!!!! Thanks for the heads up on the vintage patterns...I'm waiting for 3 1950-ish patterns to arrive in the mail. Considering my level of experience or lack thereof, I really appreciate (and will heed) your warning. And you win the prize for steal of the century! I'd have peed my pants if I found that fabric for $3/yd!! Again, beautiful work!!!
5/10/07 0:30 AM
Christina Sonja said...
I've never used one of these vintage patterns that has no printing so it is interesting to hear about it (how the grainline is marked with the largest holes, etc). Thanks for sharing.
5/10/07 1:24 AM
Sigrid. said...
Wonderful!!! Thanks for your great review.
5/10/07 2:45 AM
marjenann said...
What a journey!!! The results are well worth the trouble!!! The "topper" is to die for!
5/10/07 6:53 AM
MissCelie said...
Taht is just beautiful. I love the button placement. Clearly, I need to start going to my local thrift stores!
5/10/07 7:54 AM
carolynw said...
What a beautiful jacket! The colour is outstanding and I personally think you chose the right fabric for this.
5/10/07 9:04 AM
cathy45 said...
Wow! I love it. Love the color. Love the collar. Love, love the button placement. What a fun jacket!
5/10/07 10:11 AM
Sport said...
Gorgeous! I'd like to sign up as a recipient of your Sewing For Friends program! Indygo Junction's Trench Topper (IJ740) isn't exactly like your topper, but similar, and I'm inspired to give it a go. For information on old patterns, check this out on PR: twistedangel Working with unprinted patterns (Antique or Vintage) (Tip/Technique).
5/10/07 10:12 AM
tweedcurtain said...
Thanks for sharing. It strikes me as the type of jacket that someone with "a flair for dama" would be able to carry well. As for the assumption of sewing skills, BWOF must have taken their pattern instruction writing lessons from these folks!
5/10/07 11:17 AM
regine said...
I loved your review, thanks
5/10/07 1:45 PM
brrmm said...
Stunning, stunning jacket. Absolutely gorgeous colour and I can tell it's beautifully made. Wow an under $5 dramatic garment that looks like something from a boutique for over $800. Thanks for a peek and your review.
5/10/07 8:28 PM
MarieT said...
What a beautiful learning experience. I love the quirky buttonholes and the colour. It's all about the journey... and, if you're lucky, you end up with something you love (or someone loves!). Congratulations, it looks beautiful.... Kelly green, right??? Marie
5/10/07 8:48 PM
Sewbe said...
The jacket is gorgeous. Your friend is lucky to get it! Thank you also for the nice review. I really enjoyed reading it! I think you should write a novel that involves sewing/friendship/life etc.... I'd love to read it! Be well!
5/10/07 11:44 PM
MelissaB in WA said...
Gorgeous!!!
5/11/07 11:06 PM
AnneM said...
I just recently got my 1st vintage pattern and finally realized what they meant when they said "unprinted pattern". Great jacket, what a fun style. And such a nice gift. This sounds like a great learning experience. The buttonhole placement is a great design feature. Remember - they aren't mistakes, they are design opportunities. (I haven't dared do that vintage pattern I mentioned, not wanting to dive into that learning experience myself just yet.) Love those bound buttonhole instructions.
5/16/07 5:55 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Register

Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Register

Beginner Sewing Lab 102 - A downloadable Book by Shannon Gifford

Beginner Sewing Lab 102  - A downloadable Book by Shannon Gifford

Buy Now
Petite Plus 603 Pattern

Petite Plus 603 Pattern

Buy Now