Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Simplicity: 2949 (Misses Topper) - Type:Out of Print Classics    printable version
Viewed 935 times
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 12 people   
Reviewed by:Brodie
photo
About Brodiestar
BC CANADA
Member since: 5/6/07
Reviews written: 2
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 1 people
patterns reviewed: 2
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/9/07 11:01 PM
Last Updated:5/9/07 11:04 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized 


See other patterns in this category: Kids(boys & girls)    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Sewn Square One
Patterns for Your Style.
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
20 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Heatherrique said...
I just adore this upscale groovy jacket and scrumptious color! Super job on a classic that looks so fashionable today!
5/9/07 11:07 PM
Annika said...
Very very cool!
5/9/07 11:17 PM
Em's Summer said...
This is soo cute! You did a great job!
5/9/07 11:23 PM
Englebert said...
Love your jacket!!
5/9/07 11:33 PM
ladykicks said...
Wow...I really love the button placement. I am going to do this on something. Good job on thinking 'out of the box.'
5/9/07 11:52 PM
EveS said...
Ooooh my favorite color AND it's a fabulous jacket!!!!! Thanks for the heads up on the vintage patterns...I'm waiting for 3 1950-ish patterns to arrive in the mail. Considering my level of experience or lack thereof, I really appreciate (and will heed) your warning. And you win the prize for steal of the century! I'd have peed my pants if I found that fabric for $3/yd!! Again, beautiful work!!!
5/10/07 0:30 AM
Christina Sonja said...
I've never used one of these vintage patterns that has no printing so it is interesting to hear about it (how the grainline is marked with the largest holes, etc). Thanks for sharing.
5/10/07 1:24 AM
Sigrid. said...
Wonderful!!! Thanks for your great review.
5/10/07 2:45 AM
marjenann said...
What a journey!!! The results are well worth the trouble!!! The "topper" is to die for!
5/10/07 6:53 AM
MissCelie said...
Taht is just beautiful. I love the button placement. Clearly, I need to start going to my local thrift stores!
5/10/07 7:54 AM
carolynw said...
What a beautiful jacket! The colour is outstanding and I personally think you chose the right fabric for this.
5/10/07 9:04 AM
cathy45 said...
Wow! I love it. Love the color. Love the collar. Love, love the button placement. What a fun jacket!
5/10/07 10:11 AM
Sport said...
Gorgeous! I'd like to sign up as a recipient of your Sewing For Friends program! Indygo Junction's Trench Topper (IJ740) isn't exactly like your topper, but similar, and I'm inspired to give it a go. For information on old patterns, check this out on PR: twistedangel Working with unprinted patterns (Antique or Vintage) (Tip/Technique).
5/10/07 10:12 AM
tweedcurtain said...
Thanks for sharing. It strikes me as the type of jacket that someone with "a flair for dama" would be able to carry well. As for the assumption of sewing skills, BWOF must have taken their pattern instruction writing lessons from these folks!
5/10/07 11:17 AM
regine said...
I loved your review, thanks
5/10/07 1:45 PM
brrmm said...
Stunning, stunning jacket. Absolutely gorgeous colour and I can tell it's beautifully made. Wow an under $5 dramatic garment that looks like something from a boutique for over $800. Thanks for a peek and your review.
5/10/07 8:28 PM
MarieT said...
What a beautiful learning experience. I love the quirky buttonholes and the colour. It's all about the journey... and, if you're lucky, you end up with something you love (or someone loves!). Congratulations, it looks beautiful.... Kelly green, right??? Marie
5/10/07 8:48 PM
Sewbe said...
The jacket is gorgeous. Your friend is lucky to get it! Thank you also for the nice review. I really enjoyed reading it! I think you should write a novel that involves sewing/friendship/life etc.... I'd love to read it! Be well!
5/10/07 11:44 PM
MelissaB in WA said...
Gorgeous!!!
5/11/07 11:06 PM
AnneM said...
I just recently got my 1st vintage pattern and finally realized what they meant when they said "unprinted pattern". Great jacket, what a fun style. And such a nice gift. This sounds like a great learning experience. The buttonhole placement is a great design feature. Remember - they aren't mistakes, they are design opportunities. (I haven't dared do that vintage pattern I mentioned, not wanting to dive into that learning experience myself just yet.) Love those bound buttonhole instructions.
5/16/07 5:55 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Online Sewing Classes
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Colette Patterns 1013 Crepe
photo
Review by Stacie Thi... on 3/18/11
Read Review

Vogue 8759 Pattern ( Size 34-36-38-40 )
Vogue 8759 Pattern ( Size 34-36-38-40 )

Details
Price: $30.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Burda 7031 Pattern
Burda 7031 Pattern

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewaholic Patterns 1201 Renfrew Top
photo
Review by Byrdie on 2/4/14
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Surf's Up Board Shorts Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )
Peek-A Boo Surf's Up Board Shorts Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl Beret Digital Pattern
You Sew Girl Beret Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $11.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

J Stern Designs Ribbon Skirt Pattern
J Stern Designs Ribbon Skirt Pattern

Details
Price: $12.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sew Chic Fantasia Dress Pattern (ln9005)
Sew Chic Fantasia Dress Pattern (ln9005)

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us