Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Simplicity: 4109 (Built By Wendy Jacket) thumbsup - Type:Coat/Jacket    printable version
Viewed 1409 times 9 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 6 people   
Reviewed by:mlt
photo
Friend of PR
About mltstar
NC USA
Member since: 5/25/04
Reviews written: 50
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 24 people
patterns reviewed: 40
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/9/07 8:51 PM
Last Updated:5/17/07 10:09 PM


See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
29 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
touran said...
That is adorable on you. It's a great look.
5/9/07 9:19 PM
Sherril Miller said...
I think that the sleeves need to be either shorter or longer. They hit you at the same length as the jacket essentially cutting you in half in a not so flattering place. The fit on your jacket turned out great and I really like the pattern. Just shorten the sleeves and you'll have one great jacket. Thanks for the info about your FBA.
5/9/07 11:25 PM
frame said...
Your jacket looks great. Great fit.
5/10/07 1:12 AM
quiltsammon said...
I love this combination!!! So pretty! I wonder though, if you were to bring the jacket, instead of the sleeves, up a couple of inches if we would notice your beautiful curvy waist. Hmm... I think something needs to hit you at the waist, whether it be the sleeves or the jacket. Boy you look good in that dress!!! And those colors look sooo good. You should go out this weekend! And then could you bring your good taste to my house and help me pick out colors and patterns!
5/10/07 1:33 AM
Irene Q said...
Really cute outfit! I agree that the sleeves probably shouldn't be the same length as the jacket, although that may be something only people on PR notice. :-)
5/10/07 8:56 AM
carolynw said...
This looks very nice on you but I do agree with the suggestion that you shorten the sleeves - I think on any size person having the darktop portion cut all at the same level is not the best as your eye will automatically follow the horizontal line created.
5/10/07 9:08 AM
FloraNature said...
That is a beautiful jacket - I would not have given this pattern a second look. Those fabrics go very well together! It would be even more flattering if the hem and sleeves were at different lengths. I'd go for the easiest option on this one, shortening the sleeve. If you were to make another, I'd consider shortening the hemline to about waist level (as another reviewer has already suggested), and also finding some nice larger buttons, they are so *in* this year, and would really give the jacket a designer look.
5/10/07 1:08 PM
fuzzygalore said...
Mmm. I think I'm going to vote against the pack, and say how much I like the jacket and sleeves the same length, that it gives a nice capelet effect. But if you disagree, I'd go with shortening the sleeves instead of the body, to keep to the spirit of the original. However I second the suggestion to enlarge the buttonholes and use larger buttons, I think that's an essential part of the look. But you know what? It's all nitpicking - the jacket looks great on you, it's great with the dress, you look smashing.
5/10/07 2:10 PM
mlt said...
Thanks for all the opinions! I think I'm going to shorten the sleeves soon and I'll post a comparison pic.
5/10/07 2:55 PM
moss said...
that jacket looks FABULOUS on you!
5/11/07 3:20 PM
AnneM said...
Congrats on your jacket, and thanks for the greaet review. I think the length of the sleeves, being the same as the jacket bottom, add width, which is probably not what you are looking for. However, IRL you won't be standing still, so other than posing for a picture I doubt it really matters.
5/16/07 6:12 AM
ladykicks said...
Did you make any other changes besides shortening the sleeves? I think the entire jacket looks much more fitted now--very attractive. Funny how much difference a couple of inches can make!
5/17/07 10:19 PM
carolynw said...
I liked it before but now I REALLY LIKE THIS! Did you only change the sleeves? Looks so different. You look so nice in this outfit.
5/17/07 10:25 PM
Melody said...
This is a great outfit and it's very flattering. I have to agree with those who suggest shortening the sleeves. Beautiful job on both pieces.
5/17/07 10:38 PM
MissCelie said...
Wonderful difference in the sleeve length. Looking good!
5/17/07 11:39 PM
Dmd4106 said...
Its amazing how a small alteration made a nice outfit better. Very flattering! Good review
5/18/07 0:26 AM
FloraNature said...
Wonderful - what a difference a couple of inches make!
5/18/07 3:09 AM
Suesews said...
I vote for the shorter sleeves. Absolutely wonderful outfit!
5/18/07 5:11 AM
fuzzygalore said...
OK, I liked it with the original sleeves, but I eat my words - it's better with the shorter ones. In fact, it's totally fabulous :-). Good for you!
5/18/07 5:34 AM
mlt said...
Thanks for the compliments ladies. Yep, the one and only change I made was sleeve length. Even DH understood when he saw the pics side by side :)
5/18/07 8:21 AM
cindyann said...
That made such a difference! Looked great before, looks fabulous now.
5/18/07 9:19 AM
nicegirl said...
Shortening the sleeves does make a difference. Looks so cute!
5/18/07 12:44 PM
quiltsammon said...
Looks great!!! Funny how just one simple change can make such a difference!! Enjoy wearing your beautiful outfit!!
5/18/07 2:20 PM
Sewingmi said...
That is a beautiful jacket! Very inspiring!
5/18/07 2:30 PM
Mandolin82 said...
I think this is a real lesson on how a small change can make a huge difference. Way to go, it looks great!
5/18/07 4:31 PM
Sherril Miller said...
You got the sleeve length just right. It's a very flattering jacket and I think you should make more.
5/18/07 6:41 PM
SewTwin said...
Forget the dress, WHAT a charming smile! The jacket is "Perfecto" now, though.It helps to have 10-15 extra opinons, huh? This would "make" a SWAP outfit..You go, girl!
6/6/07 4:32 PM
SewTwin said...
Forget the dress, WHAT a charming smile! The jacket is "Perfecto" now, though.It helps to have 10-15 extra opinons, huh? This would "make" a SWAP outfit..You go, girl!
6/6/07 7:31 PM
AnneM said...
Just saw your new & improved jacket. What a fantastic before & after shot. I'm totally impressed. Makes me think I really should hem that skirt that's the wrong length. (I agree w/ SewTwin on the smile as well. :) )
8/27/07 8:59 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Put it on the Bias
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
Put it on the Bias

Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Kwik Sew 3693 Cardigans
photo
Review by pfaffkj on 2/13/10
Read Review

Vogue 1348 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )
Vogue 1348 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )

Details
Price: $32.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1550 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )
Simplicity 1550 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Other UFO Contest 2009
photo
Review by Meggie LuL... on 1/31/09
Read Review

Peek-A Boo La Jolla Swimsuit Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )
Peek-A Boo La Jolla Swimsuit Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Angela Osborn Daisy Top Digital Pattern (SS10-11-104)
Angela Osborn Daisy Top Digital Pattern (SS10-11-104)

Details
Price: $9.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

SewBaby Reversible Skirt Pattern
SewBaby Reversible Skirt Pattern

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sew Chic Valentine Slip Pattern (ln1207)
Sew Chic Valentine Slip Pattern (ln1207)

Details
Price: $14.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us