SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> 3389 (top)

7 more reviews
Viewed 794 times 
Reviewed by:Nancywin
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Nancywinstarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 7/25/06
Reviews written: 273
Favored by: 121 people
patterns reviewed: 229
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/11/07 10:39 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 4 people    Very Helpful by 4 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
8 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
didda said...
your top looks nice, and fits you well. i really like that color. . . . . . i just sewed this pattern this week, i made the view with sleeves and no embellishment . . . . out of silk dupioni. i had no problems fitting it. i sewed the lining before i even cut the silk. it fit great with no adjustments. i plan to wear it to go out dancing tomorrow night. . . . . . . . . i agree that contrasting piping and buttons would look cute on this pattern.
5/12/07 0:29 AM
MissCelie said...
The color is great on you. But, I understand 'comfort' too.
5/12/07 5:55 AM
cindy-lou said...
Nancy, you and I have a psychic connection, b/c I just bought this pattern yesterday! I think sleeved with dupioni sounds lovely... but as a cami, I envisioned a stretch jaquard or lace (a THICKER one) with lace trim. Okay, this is not my idea... once again, it's Carol Anderson's (see here: http://www.cabionline.com/SPRING07/flash_index.asp and look for jaquard cami). Hers are gorgeous, just not big enough in the bust area :-( . You do such beautiful work, Nancy!
5/12/07 7:53 AM
Elaray said...
A very cute top! I think you may be right about the "low bust" syndrome. I made a top in which the bust didn't fit just right and it tended to rise up -- very uncomfortable. Maybe adjusting the princess seams so the bust ease is lower might help.
5/12/07 10:53 AM
suzanrossi said...
Looks great, Nancy. Let us know when/if/how you correct the bust pulling problem!
5/12/07 12:01 PM
Rhoda K said...
A very nice looking top and I, too, would like to know if/how you correct the fitting problem. I can relate on the "tugging" aspect.
5/12/07 1:26 PM
Nancywin said...
After I really analyzed this top, I think I need to make it smaller across the upper back, but make it larger in the bust and waist. I have taken out too much ease. There is more information on my blog Encue Creations
5/12/07 3:38 PM
AnneM said...
Excellent fit (at least as long as you don't move - looks perfectin the picture). Hopefully the additional adjustments you came up with will solve those problems.
5/19/07 9:34 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Register

Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Register

Bluegingerdoll The Ava Jacket Paper Pattern

Bluegingerdoll The Ava Jacket Paper Pattern

Buy Now
Jamie Christina Pretty Ditty Apron Pattern (JC303PD)

Jamie Christina Pretty Ditty Apron Pattern (JC303PD)

Buy Now
Simplicity 3643

photo
by: Just Barb

Review