Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Marfy: 9864 (Pullover blouse) - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 984 times
Review rated Very Helpful by 15 people   
Reviewed by:Debra H
photo
About Debra Hstarstarstarstar
NC USA
Member since: 7/16/04
Reviews written: 194
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 213 people
patterns reviewed: 180
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/12/07 0:14 AM
Last Updated:5/12/07 0:14 AM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
14 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
said...
It's too bad you found the pattern lacking, but your tunic is beautiful. Putting a zipper in the side is a good idea if you like your garments fitted (I do this quite often). You have inspired me to dig out my TNT princess top pattern and knock this off. Lovely colors, too.
5/12/07 5:07 AM
marjenann said...
Very good looking top!! Thanks too for the super review!
5/12/07 6:49 AM
OP Gal said...
Too bad this pattern was so poorly designed. However, it looks beautiful. I especially like the blue color.
5/12/07 8:02 AM
blue mooney said...
It's a very nice-looking top. Thanks for the heads-up! You may have saved someone else some agony.
5/12/07 8:06 AM
cathy45 said...
I'm so sorry this didn't work better for you--it's still gorgeous--as always. The colors are so wonderful & I love that bias striping. You always inspire.
5/12/07 9:28 AM
MissCelie said...
It *is* quite lovely looking. I'm sorry the pattern was badly designed for you.
5/12/07 9:28 AM
carolynw said...
Such a beautiful looking top Debra as usual - am so sorry it won't be a favourite but can understand why. As far as ther bubbling in the interfacing - have run into the same problem with the same interfacing - cannot understand why. Eventually liberally sprayed the interfaced fabric with water and then applied a pretty hot iron and that helped a little but am still not 100% satisfied - like yours it was a cotton material so there should have been no problem.
5/12/07 9:33 AM
Linda G said...
Like everything you sew...Beautiful. Sounds like it was kind of a nightmare...though...did you have to take the seam out to get it off or was there just a struggle?
5/12/07 9:40 AM
Nancywin said...
Debra - you've done a beautiful job (as always) on this top. It is so disappointing when you have to struggle with a pattern. When it isn't comfortable to wear (or get off and on) it tends to sit in the closet. Hope yours will find a wonderful home.
5/12/07 10:44 AM
Em's Summer said...
Sorry it was a disappointment, but it looks lovely!
5/12/07 11:24 AM
Debra H said...
I had to get my husband to help me get the garment off when I realized that I could not do it myself. It was pretty funny!
5/12/07 3:40 PM
AnneM said...
Another great review. With your tips, the next person to make this will be able ti side-step the problems (stretch fabric, zipper). Interesting on the interfacing also. I don't very often test out my interfacing on scraps, but this is a reminder that it might be wise to do so. (I did just recently when using a heavier interfacing than usual; I was so proud of myself. ;) ) Rather funny that your husband had to help you take it off; at least you didn't have to cut yourself out of the top!
5/20/07 11:38 AM
hongkongshopper said...
Great top. Just a thought....should the buttons down on the tabs be in buttonholes so you can undo them?
5/23/07 6:43 PM
Debra H said...
A good question from Hongkongshopper...It would be a good design option to add buttonholes. Marfy did not mark these for buttonholes and so I guess that they left it up to the sewer to decide. I had no choice as I did not get my buttons in time to work buttonholes before the tabs were attached. Still not crazy about the ones that I ended up with, but I like her suggestion. It would at least look like there were real pockets under the tabs.
5/24/07 10:46 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Put it on the Bias
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
Put it on the Bias

Online Sewing Classes
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Kwik Sew 3921
photo
Review by Ann Smith on 4/17/12
Read Review

Miranda Day Bag
Miranda Day Bag

Details
Price: $9.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Stitch 'n' Flip Jacket Construction - A downloadable Book by Shannon Gifford
Stitch 'n' Flip Jacket Construction  - A downloadable Book by Shannon Gifford

Details
Price: $35.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Sailor shorts Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Sailor shorts Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Salme Yoke Blouse Digital Pattern
Salme Yoke Blouse Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

No Pattern Used No Pattern used
photo
Review by Handmadeby... on 1/7/09
Read Review

Butterick 5722 Pattern ( Size 18W-20W-22W-24W )
Butterick 5722 Pattern ( Size 18W-20W-22W-24W )

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6027 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12 )
McCalls 6027 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12 )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us