SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Marfy> 9864 (Pullover blouse)

Viewed 985 times 
Reviewed by:Debra H
photo

 
 
About Debra Hstarstarstarstar
NC USA
Member since: 7/16/04
Reviews written: 194
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 213 people
patterns reviewed: 180
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/12/07 0:14 AM
Last Updated:5/12/07 0:14 AM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 15 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
14 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Debra H said...
A good question from Hongkongshopper...It would be a good design option to add buttonholes. Marfy did not mark these for buttonholes and so I guess that they left it up to the sewer to decide. I had no choice as I did not get my buttons in time to work buttonholes before the tabs were attached. Still not crazy about the ones that I ended up with, but I like her suggestion. It would at least look like there were real pockets under the tabs.
5/24/07 10:46 PM
hongkongshopper said...
Great top. Just a thought....should the buttons down on the tabs be in buttonholes so you can undo them?
5/23/07 6:43 PM
AnneM said...
Another great review. With your tips, the next person to make this will be able ti side-step the problems (stretch fabric, zipper). Interesting on the interfacing also. I don't very often test out my interfacing on scraps, but this is a reminder that it might be wise to do so. (I did just recently when using a heavier interfacing than usual; I was so proud of myself. ;) ) Rather funny that your husband had to help you take it off; at least you didn't have to cut yourself out of the top!
5/20/07 11:38 AM
Debra H said...
I had to get my husband to help me get the garment off when I realized that I could not do it myself. It was pretty funny!
5/12/07 3:40 PM
Em's Summer said...
Sorry it was a disappointment, but it looks lovely!
5/12/07 11:24 AM
Nancywin said...
Debra - you've done a beautiful job (as always) on this top. It is so disappointing when you have to struggle with a pattern. When it isn't comfortable to wear (or get off and on) it tends to sit in the closet. Hope yours will find a wonderful home.
5/12/07 10:44 AM
Linda G said...
Like everything you sew...Beautiful. Sounds like it was kind of a nightmare...though...did you have to take the seam out to get it off or was there just a struggle?
5/12/07 9:40 AM
carolynw said...
Such a beautiful looking top Debra as usual - am so sorry it won't be a favourite but can understand why. As far as ther bubbling in the interfacing - have run into the same problem with the same interfacing - cannot understand why. Eventually liberally sprayed the interfaced fabric with water and then applied a pretty hot iron and that helped a little but am still not 100% satisfied - like yours it was a cotton material so there should have been no problem.
5/12/07 9:33 AM
MissCelie said...
It *is* quite lovely looking. I'm sorry the pattern was badly designed for you.
5/12/07 9:28 AM
cathy45 said...
I'm so sorry this didn't work better for you--it's still gorgeous--as always. The colors are so wonderful & I love that bias striping. You always inspire.
5/12/07 9:28 AM
blue mooney said...
It's a very nice-looking top. Thanks for the heads-up! You may have saved someone else some agony.
5/12/07 8:06 AM
OP Gal said...
Too bad this pattern was so poorly designed. However, it looks beautiful. I especially like the blue color.
5/12/07 8:02 AM
marjenann said...
Very good looking top!! Thanks too for the super review!
5/12/07 6:49 AM
said...
It's too bad you found the pattern lacking, but your tunic is beautiful. Putting a zipper in the side is a good idea if you like your garments fitted (I do this quite often). You have inspired me to dig out my TNT princess top pattern and knock this off. Lovely colors, too.
5/12/07 5:07 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Bust Adjustments
Bust Adjustments

Register

Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Register

You Sew Girl Evening Bag Pattern

You Sew Girl Evening Bag Pattern

Buy Now
Sewing Workshop West End Top & Pants

Sewing Workshop West End Top & Pants

Buy Now
No Pattern Used grand-daughter quilt

photo
by: lvs2sew

Review