SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 05-2007-132 (wrap top)

Viewed 1187 times 
Reviewed by:mlt
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About mltstar
NC USA
Member since: 5/25/04
Reviews written: 50
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 25 people
patterns reviewed: 40
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/13/07 12:24 PM
Last Updated:5/13/07 12:24 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized 


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 11 people   
NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
16 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
So So said...
Quick worker! (May 2007 Burda issue just got mine)Sorry it did not work out for you. Know how you feel. This has happened to me many many times.
5/13/07 1:47 PM
squirrellypoo said...
Wow, you're fast! That's disappointing the fit was so weird - I had this one earmarked to make for my mom for a gift, but if the fitting issues are so nonstandard, I'd be insane to make it without a proper fitting session... thanks for the review.
5/13/07 3:03 PM
Marlene J said...
I'm looking at the picture you posted and I think it's cute. It doesn't look like an unfitted bag at all. Look again. You look curvy and stylish.
5/13/07 6:37 PM
OP Gal said...
Sorry it didn't work, but glad you saved yourself a lot of grief by making a muslin.
5/13/07 7:43 PM
Mel.J said...
Wow that top looks really interesting, it's a shame it didn't work out for you. What kind of fabric did you make it in?
5/13/07 9:19 PM
mlt said...
Mel, it's unbleached, cotton muslin. After making it in that, I'm not going to bother with the real cotton shirting I have.
5/13/07 10:02 PM
Joann Eidhoff said...
I sewed this one up, too. After it was finished my daughter and I thought we might need instructions about putting it on. We had slits where we didn't need them, no material where we truly would have needed some and in the end lots of laughs about a wadder. The three hours I spent sewing were balanced out by the hours we have spent laughing about the fit. Good thing our linen wasn't all that expensive.
5/15/07 1:07 PM
akimbo said...
This is disappointing, I just bought this issue off eBay, especially for this pattern (though there is a lot of cute stuff in it). Too bad it didn't work for you, but thank you for sharing your disaster! I'll have to give this pattern a good look at when the magazine arrives and try a musiln myself.
5/21/07 4:02 PM
Katharine in BXL said...
Good grief, I'm so sorry this didn't work for you! I loved this pattern so much it's the first time I ever graded down a pattern, but now I'll consider your cautionary tale. I'll have a look in a muslin if I can tack in lingerie guards to stave off the bra strap look. I was planning to wear it for teaching so that's definitely a no-no!
5/26/07 5:39 AM
WilsonZooKeeper said...
Thank you for this review. I was considering this pattern, but had concerns. Your muslin confirmed my fears. Thanks, too, for modeling your garments in your reviews!
6/1/07 11:28 AM
alex1104 said...
do you think this would have been better if made out of a softer fabric?
7/3/07 5:28 AM
mlt said...
Alex, Yes and no. The collar would be more drapy, but then it wouldn't have any body. The pattern actually calls for cotten/linen blend, so I think the muslin is fairly representative.
7/4/07 10:11 AM
dursley said...
I actually loved this top in the mag and couldn't wait to make it until I actually saw what it looked like on a "real" person. Glad I didn't buy the silk dupioni I had in mind for it. Doesn't look at all flattering for a plus sized person and yet it's designed for plus sizes only. Thanks for making the mistake for me!
8/29/07 6:39 PM
Karendee said...
I agree with an earlier reviewer; you look smashing in this top (muslin.) Just glance at your picture ( or squint your eyes) and see what a slimming effect the pattern shows. Granted, you need to shorten the arms, and do something with the showing love handles---but I really like the top on you.
1/21/08 7:45 PM
sewingdemon said...
I like it too! I'm just a beginner so I'm not sure I will attempt this, but if I did I think I would ignore their suggestion and go with a softer fabric - a stiff knit maybe? It's not working for me in the muslin but otherwise I think it's lovely on you.
11/11/08 11:46 AM
Auntchelle said...
Even tho' I've read this I think I'm still going to attempt it. My fabric is quite a bit different to yours and it will be interesting to see the variation. Wish me luck!
3/24/09 4:45 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Register

Fit the Tee to a T
Fit the Tee to a T

Register

Butterick 5497

photo
by: SewRusty

Review
DRESS LINES - A CD Book by Kenneth King

DRESS LINES - A CD Book by Kenneth King

Buy Now
Veronica Pocketbook

Veronica Pocketbook

Buy Now