SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 3867 (Misses' Dress)

54 more reviews
Viewed 1681 times 
Reviewed by:megp47
photo

 
 
About megp47star
DE USA
Member since: 5/7/07
Reviews written: 7
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 4 people
patterns reviewed: 7
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review

Best Patterns of 2007
Posted on:5/13/07 3:06 PM
Last Updated:5/13/07 3:09 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 8 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
23 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
SexiSadi said...
Nice dress! I love eyelet fabric, but for some reason i'm scared of it. I don't know why -- afraid of showing something off to the public that I really don't want seen, I guess. lol
5/13/07 3:30 PM
JBsewmonster said...
Love your dress! I have this pattern and look forward to making it. I will chose my fabric carefully after reading your review. Thank you!
5/13/07 4:00 PM
Erica B. said...
Love the dress and it looks beautiful on. I have this pattern too... I'm planning to make the top.
5/13/07 5:21 PM
cindy-lou said...
This dress looks beautiful! The eyelet is gorgeous. You can go get some navy lightweight cotton (batiste or something) and make yourself a slip pretty easily with a simple elastic-waist skirt pattern...
5/13/07 6:12 PM
Christina Sonja said...
This is so pretty! I love it. For interfacing eyelet, you can use a fabric in the same color and baste it to your fabric like it's a sew-in rather than a fusible interfacing. Navy organza would worked in this case, I think.
5/13/07 7:07 PM
BJ1400 said...
Your dress is very pretty & looks great on you. I love the navy blue eyelet too.
5/13/07 7:15 PM
MissCelie said...
Wow. This looks like something from a store. Great work.
5/13/07 9:34 PM
Sharon M said...
Beautiful dress. I like the navy eyelet - just a bit unexpected.
5/13/07 9:37 PM
LorelleD said...
Love your dress. Love your choice of fabric. Your dress looks lovely on.
5/14/07 3:00 AM
Bonnie O said...
Love the eyelet choice. Turned out great!
5/14/07 8:10 AM
Marji said...
V cute dress on. I don't think it adds as much "bulk" as you might think. BTW, it's not too late to line the skirt portion of that dress, if you become uncomfortable wearing it.
5/14/07 8:52 AM
crisford said...
This is so adorable and elegant!
5/14/07 11:28 AM
sew_swell said...
I love your dress. It's very classy. The top in this pattern was on the cover of Sew Stylish a couple of months ago. They sewed the pleats down a few inches to minimize bulk. You might try it on a muslin to see how far down you would need to sew the pleats.
5/14/07 11:31 AM
belleepoque said...
this looks fantastic on you! i love it in the navy eyelet, so fresh and chic.
5/14/07 4:27 PM
KrystalL said...
Absolutely darling! This dress is so pretty in blue eyelet. Great job!
5/15/07 8:45 AM
MelissaB in WA said...
Gorgeous dress!!!! You look fantastic and should be very proud! :-)
5/15/07 9:32 AM
SillyValley said...
thanks for the tips on eyelet! I just bought some white eyelet with navy embroidery from joann and was thinking DRESS! now I know what to be prepared for
5/17/07 4:56 PM
AnneM said...
Well, a slip will solve the modesty issue, or perhaps you can add some lining. Pretty dress. I reuined a top by using interfacing that is too heavy once. When in doubt use sew-in interfacing instead of fusible; that's available in any color you want (just buy some batiste or china silk or even use the same fabric).
5/21/07 12:17 PM
Sew4Fun said...
Nice dress. I'm not sure how I missed your original review but I'm glad I found it now.
6/1/07 8:34 PM
TanyaMT said...
Your dress is beautiful. A slip will fix any modesty issues. I'm really impressed with how nice you got the bodice fit - it is perfect on you!
7/13/07 2:17 PM
gotpeace91 said...
That looks very pretty! If you do want to line it I think a light blue would be pretty. A navy lining would make the eyelet disappear somewhat and a nude color would just make it look like there was no lining at all at first glance. Anyway it looks great on you!
3/12/08 9:05 PM
arianamaniacs said...
Great looking dress, I made the top from this pattern. If your white interfacing is showing through, trying using a navy or black marker and coloring them in. That works great for dark colors.
3/4/09 9:39 AM
Hilary said...
Very pretty! I love it in the navy eyelet (its not *too* risque, LOL!).
6/2/09 6:05 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Register

Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Register

BurdaStyle Magazine 04-2010-114

photo
by: Maree P

Review
Burda 8090

photo
by: style insp...

Review
You Sew Girl 200mm Purse Frame Purse Pattern

You Sew Girl 200mm Purse Frame Purse Pattern

Buy Now
Sew Liberated Esme Top Pattern

Sew Liberated Esme Top Pattern

Buy Now