SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 3867 (Misses' Dress)

54 more reviews
Viewed 1681 times 
Reviewed by:megp47
photo

 
 
About megp47star
DE USA
Member since: 5/7/07
Reviews written: 7
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 4 people
patterns reviewed: 7
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review

Best Patterns of 2007
Posted on:5/13/07 3:06 PM
Last Updated:5/13/07 3:09 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 8 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
23 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
SexiSadi said...
Nice dress! I love eyelet fabric, but for some reason i'm scared of it. I don't know why -- afraid of showing something off to the public that I really don't want seen, I guess. lol
5/13/07 3:30 PM
JBsewmonster said...
Love your dress! I have this pattern and look forward to making it. I will chose my fabric carefully after reading your review. Thank you!
5/13/07 4:00 PM
Erica B. said...
Love the dress and it looks beautiful on. I have this pattern too... I'm planning to make the top.
5/13/07 5:21 PM
cindy-lou said...
This dress looks beautiful! The eyelet is gorgeous. You can go get some navy lightweight cotton (batiste or something) and make yourself a slip pretty easily with a simple elastic-waist skirt pattern...
5/13/07 6:12 PM
Christina Sonja said...
This is so pretty! I love it. For interfacing eyelet, you can use a fabric in the same color and baste it to your fabric like it's a sew-in rather than a fusible interfacing. Navy organza would worked in this case, I think.
5/13/07 7:07 PM
BJ1400 said...
Your dress is very pretty & looks great on you. I love the navy blue eyelet too.
5/13/07 7:15 PM
MissCelie said...
Wow. This looks like something from a store. Great work.
5/13/07 9:34 PM
Sharon M said...
Beautiful dress. I like the navy eyelet - just a bit unexpected.
5/13/07 9:37 PM
LorelleD said...
Love your dress. Love your choice of fabric. Your dress looks lovely on.
5/14/07 3:00 AM
Bonnie O said...
Love the eyelet choice. Turned out great!
5/14/07 8:10 AM
Marji said...
V cute dress on. I don't think it adds as much "bulk" as you might think. BTW, it's not too late to line the skirt portion of that dress, if you become uncomfortable wearing it.
5/14/07 8:52 AM
crisford said...
This is so adorable and elegant!
5/14/07 11:28 AM
sew_swell said...
I love your dress. It's very classy. The top in this pattern was on the cover of Sew Stylish a couple of months ago. They sewed the pleats down a few inches to minimize bulk. You might try it on a muslin to see how far down you would need to sew the pleats.
5/14/07 11:31 AM
belleepoque said...
this looks fantastic on you! i love it in the navy eyelet, so fresh and chic.
5/14/07 4:27 PM
KrystalL said...
Absolutely darling! This dress is so pretty in blue eyelet. Great job!
5/15/07 8:45 AM
MelissaB in WA said...
Gorgeous dress!!!! You look fantastic and should be very proud! :-)
5/15/07 9:32 AM
SillyValley said...
thanks for the tips on eyelet! I just bought some white eyelet with navy embroidery from joann and was thinking DRESS! now I know what to be prepared for
5/17/07 4:56 PM
AnneM said...
Well, a slip will solve the modesty issue, or perhaps you can add some lining. Pretty dress. I reuined a top by using interfacing that is too heavy once. When in doubt use sew-in interfacing instead of fusible; that's available in any color you want (just buy some batiste or china silk or even use the same fabric).
5/21/07 12:17 PM
Sew4Fun said...
Nice dress. I'm not sure how I missed your original review but I'm glad I found it now.
6/1/07 8:34 PM
TanyaMT said...
Your dress is beautiful. A slip will fix any modesty issues. I'm really impressed with how nice you got the bodice fit - it is perfect on you!
7/13/07 2:17 PM
gotpeace91 said...
That looks very pretty! If you do want to line it I think a light blue would be pretty. A navy lining would make the eyelet disappear somewhat and a nude color would just make it look like there was no lining at all at first glance. Anyway it looks great on you!
3/12/08 9:05 PM
arianamaniacs said...
Great looking dress, I made the top from this pattern. If your white interfacing is showing through, trying using a navy or black marker and coloring them in. That works great for dark colors.
3/4/09 9:39 AM
Hilary said...
Very pretty! I love it in the navy eyelet (its not *too* risque, LOL!).
6/2/09 6:05 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Register

Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Register

McCall's 6247

photo
by: velosewer

Review
Simplicity 7272

photo
by: sewnaomi

Review
Petite Plus 203 Pattern

Petite Plus 203 Pattern

Buy Now
Jamie Christina Lark Paper Pattern

Jamie Christina Lark Paper Pattern

Buy Now