SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 3867 (Misses' Dress)

54 more reviews
Viewed 1681 times 
Reviewed by:megp47
photo

 
 
About megp47star
DE USA
Member since: 5/7/07
Reviews written: 7
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 4 people
patterns reviewed: 7
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review

Best Patterns of 2007
Posted on:5/13/07 3:06 PM
Last Updated:5/13/07 3:09 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 8 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Deals!

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
23 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Hilary said...
Very pretty! I love it in the navy eyelet (its not *too* risque, LOL!).
6/2/09 6:05 PM
arianamaniacs said...
Great looking dress, I made the top from this pattern. If your white interfacing is showing through, trying using a navy or black marker and coloring them in. That works great for dark colors.
3/4/09 9:39 AM
gotpeace91 said...
That looks very pretty! If you do want to line it I think a light blue would be pretty. A navy lining would make the eyelet disappear somewhat and a nude color would just make it look like there was no lining at all at first glance. Anyway it looks great on you!
3/12/08 9:05 PM
TanyaMT said...
Your dress is beautiful. A slip will fix any modesty issues. I'm really impressed with how nice you got the bodice fit - it is perfect on you!
7/13/07 2:17 PM
Sew4Fun said...
Nice dress. I'm not sure how I missed your original review but I'm glad I found it now.
6/1/07 8:34 PM
AnneM said...
Well, a slip will solve the modesty issue, or perhaps you can add some lining. Pretty dress. I reuined a top by using interfacing that is too heavy once. When in doubt use sew-in interfacing instead of fusible; that's available in any color you want (just buy some batiste or china silk or even use the same fabric).
5/21/07 12:17 PM
SillyValley said...
thanks for the tips on eyelet! I just bought some white eyelet with navy embroidery from joann and was thinking DRESS! now I know what to be prepared for
5/17/07 4:56 PM
MelissaB in WA said...
Gorgeous dress!!!! You look fantastic and should be very proud! :-)
5/15/07 9:32 AM
KrystalL said...
Absolutely darling! This dress is so pretty in blue eyelet. Great job!
5/15/07 8:45 AM
belleepoque said...
this looks fantastic on you! i love it in the navy eyelet, so fresh and chic.
5/14/07 4:27 PM
sew_swell said...
I love your dress. It's very classy. The top in this pattern was on the cover of Sew Stylish a couple of months ago. They sewed the pleats down a few inches to minimize bulk. You might try it on a muslin to see how far down you would need to sew the pleats.
5/14/07 11:31 AM
crisford said...
This is so adorable and elegant!
5/14/07 11:28 AM
Marji said...
V cute dress on. I don't think it adds as much "bulk" as you might think. BTW, it's not too late to line the skirt portion of that dress, if you become uncomfortable wearing it.
5/14/07 8:52 AM
Bonnie O said...
Love the eyelet choice. Turned out great!
5/14/07 8:10 AM
LorelleD said...
Love your dress. Love your choice of fabric. Your dress looks lovely on.
5/14/07 3:00 AM
Sharon M said...
Beautiful dress. I like the navy eyelet - just a bit unexpected.
5/13/07 9:37 PM
MissCelie said...
Wow. This looks like something from a store. Great work.
5/13/07 9:34 PM
BJ1400 said...
Your dress is very pretty & looks great on you. I love the navy blue eyelet too.
5/13/07 7:15 PM
Christina Sonja said...
This is so pretty! I love it. For interfacing eyelet, you can use a fabric in the same color and baste it to your fabric like it's a sew-in rather than a fusible interfacing. Navy organza would worked in this case, I think.
5/13/07 7:07 PM
cindy-lou said...
This dress looks beautiful! The eyelet is gorgeous. You can go get some navy lightweight cotton (batiste or something) and make yourself a slip pretty easily with a simple elastic-waist skirt pattern...
5/13/07 6:12 PM
Erica B. said...
Love the dress and it looks beautiful on. I have this pattern too... I'm planning to make the top.
5/13/07 5:21 PM
JBsewmonster said...
Love your dress! I have this pattern and look forward to making it. I will chose my fabric carefully after reading your review. Thank you!
5/13/07 4:00 PM
SexiSadi said...
Nice dress! I love eyelet fabric, but for some reason i'm scared of it. I don't know why -- afraid of showing something off to the public that I really don't want seen, I guess. lol
5/13/07 3:30 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Class Details

Online Class
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Class Details

Vogue Patterns 1283

photo
by: Naehfreund...

Review
Sew Liberated Esme Top Pattern

Sew Liberated Esme Top Pattern

More Info
Sewing Workshop Deja Vu Wrap Pattern

Sewing Workshop Deja Vu Wrap Pattern

More Info
McCall's 5006

photo
by: lexi11

Review