Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
McCall's: 5400 (MISSES' TWO- PIECE BATHING SUI) thumbsup - Type:Swimwear    printable version
Viewed 1397 times 11 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 12 people   
Reviewed by:Immelu
photo
Friend of PR
About Immelustar
KS USA
Member since: 5/6/06
Reviews written: 117
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 24 people
patterns reviewed: 115
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/13/07 8:56 PM
Last Updated:5/13/07 9:15 PM


See other patterns in this category: Activewear    
Available for sale on PR: $13.56 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $13.56  List Price: $16.95   Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Sewn Square One
Patterns for Your Style.
Web site
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
19 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
MissCelie said...
Amazing. Seriously. I'm scared to death of making a suit, but you make it look easy.
5/13/07 9:17 PM
SaraD said...
Wow! That looks awesome! You did a great job. You may have inspired me to give it a try for myself. Thanks for sharing!
5/13/07 9:57 PM
SewAriane said...
Your suit looks good! I am planning on trying to make a suit this summer.
5/13/07 10:04 PM
Luckylibbet said...
One brave woman - who did a great job on a swimsuit. Try spandexhouse.com for fabric, NAYY, great selection.
5/13/07 11:16 PM
fuzzygalore said...
Love that fabric, and the suit looks very good on you. You might want to try clear polyurethane elastic for something a bit lighter... it works fine, holds for about 10 years in my experience :-), and is easier to apply because it's much lighter. Also solves any peeking out problems.
5/14/07 4:11 AM
mochalover said...
That is a wonderful suit! You definitely are on your way of not having people guess you made something.
5/14/07 6:00 AM
Ronda Rae said...
I love it. I like the full coverage of the bottoms, too. I also need all the coverage I can get. : ) Great review!
5/14/07 7:00 AM
Kath in ON said...
Very nice! I was just looking at this pattern a week or so ago. I think I'll have to pick it up now.
5/14/07 7:40 AM
narcissaqtpie said...
you look great! The fit & fabric is really nice
5/14/07 8:32 AM
Sherril Miller said...
This swim suit style is perfect for your shape. You did a great job putting it together. Cidell, sewing swimsuits isn't hard at all.
5/14/07 10:39 AM
vrealize said...
Regarding the cutting diagram: pattern companies give you a layout that "best" fits the recommended fabric length on your pattern envelope. That said, when they have an "on fold" piece on a single layer of fabric where half is shown right side up and then mirror imaged over right side down, that creates an "on fold" cut. When you have to do the piece this way, you basically cut out the first half, flip it over and line it back up and cut the other half. However, if you have the extra fabric and everything still fits on the layout, just cut it on the fold! (:
5/14/07 11:09 AM
jhansby said...
Cute suit....and you look fab in it!! One of these days I'll get brave enough to make my own suit. Well done!!
5/14/07 5:32 PM
Immelu said...
Everyone, Thanks for the great compliments, tips and suggestions! You all are awesome. And, anyone who is hesitant to try a swimsuit should definately give it a try. If I can do it, anyone can. :)
5/14/07 6:32 PM
megp47 said...
It looks really nice on you--what a flattering cut!
5/14/07 7:43 PM
Soliel said...
Great! Thanks for the inspiration. I was trying to find elastic for swimsuits at JoAnns. Can someone help me on this? I could not find any labeled "swimsuit"...is the elastic labeled??? Thanks
5/16/07 12:52 PM
motomoda said...
This looks great! I have been told various things about 'swimsuit' elastic - some people advise using the clear elastic and it certainly avoids colour matching problems but I have found it hard to sew neatly as it seems to bunch up in a ridge when zigzagging it to the fabric. Other people say never use clear elastic but just use anything of the right width. Or you can use the rubbery stuff which may be what is used in RTW? I think it actually depends on how much wear your swimmers will get in salt or chlorine water as I suspect that the reason for specifying special elastic is because ordinary elastic might perish after some use in these situations, and that would be a dreadful thing to happen :)
5/16/07 6:37 PM
AnneM said...
Congrats on you bathing suit. They are so expensive for such little fabric, it is worth trying your own.
5/21/07 11:42 AM
MelissaB in WA said...
I just picked up this pattern and so glad to see a favorable review. I was working on a Kwik Sew one where the bottoms are a perfect fit, but the top isn't working for me since I'm too flat chested. I think this pattern might be better suited for me. Both your suits look fantastic - I'm sure your sister is so pleased with hers as much as you are with yours! :-)
7/12/07 9:01 PM
lcavagnolo said...
Thanks for the helpful review... I'm about to try this pattern as well, and hopefully my version turns out as great as yours!
3/26/08 7:26 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Online Sewing Classes
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Burda 7307 misses suit
photo
Review by HRigg on 2/20/13
Read Review

Kwik Sew 4029 Pattern
Kwik Sew 4029 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6282 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14 )
McCalls 6282 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14 )

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 4281
photo
Review by Lori V on 8/27/06
Read Review

Oliver + S Badminton Skort, Top + Dress Digital Pattern (5-12)
Oliver + S Badminton Skort, Top + Dress Digital Pattern (5-12)

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Pattern Runway Coffee Date Dress Digital Pattern
Pattern Runway Coffee Date Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $11.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Christine Jonson Boyfriend Jacket and Shell
Christine Jonson Boyfriend Jacket and Shell

Details
Price: $18.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sew Liberated Reading Pillow
Sew Liberated Reading Pillow

Details
Price: $11.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us