SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Kwik Sew> 3059 (Polo shirts)

16 more reviews
Viewed 818 times 
Reviewed by:krinn
photo

 
 
About krinnstar
NJ USA
Member since: 7/9/06
Reviews written: 28
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 11 people
patterns reviewed: 28
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/21/07 7:54 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 12 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
13 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
AnneM said...
I really like that color combination. I wouldn't have thought of it. Great job on your top.
6/3/07 8:35 PM
jaeng said...
Must be so hard to sew placket in knit, great job!
6/1/07 10:45 AM
MelissaB in WA said...
Gorgeous top - I love the contrasting fabric for the collar and sleeve bands. I never even looked twice at this pattern, now I may just have to get this one to add to my ever growing collection. Way to go getting so much done on your SWAP! :-)
5/22/07 10:20 PM
LauraM62 said...
I really like your shirt, love the contrasting fabric! As far as the neckline goes, I caught the same with their kids polo I did. It took me a couple tries but by moving over the cut & fold lines, etc I got it more to my liking. I think it was my retentative disorder :lol: cause it bug me more then anyone else. For your buttonholes, I find using some tear-away stablizer helps, especially with knits. Keeps it from being pulled down into the machine or knotting up. (I just read this as a tip to in one my sewing mags :lol:)
5/22/07 7:53 AM
fatbaby said...
You did a wonderful job, and I too like the semi-fitted style. I don't like the boxy look or the tight fitting look so I think this pattern would be great. I bet we could make alterations to the neck area to make an array of different tops! Gotta get this one. Wanda (fatbaby)
5/22/07 7:27 AM
Larkin said...
Thanks for all the warnings about the placket and the pattern visuals. I love the two color treatment that you did. Great shirt!
5/22/07 2:39 AM
Erica B. said...
Very neat! I've never made a polo style shirt, but now, it's on my list. Thanks for a great review.
5/21/07 1:07 PM
So So said...
love the colours youhave chosen. you are fair zipping through your SWAP!
5/21/07 11:09 AM
Em's Summer said...
I do see what you mean about the collar placement. Maybe on the next one, you can mark where the collar should be by laying the top flat and marking where the collar should end on each side before you sew (after you do this, mark your pattern). The top looks great, but if you center your collar, it'll look even better! And you did a great job with the placket. It might look a little uneven, but that's probably because the collar wasn't centered. I've been looking for a placket knit top and will have to get this pattern! Thanks for this great review!
5/21/07 10:58 AM
JenSews2 said...
Very nice! I'm going to have to try this one!
5/21/07 9:46 AM
carolynw said...
Nice color combo
5/21/07 9:05 AM
JuliaS said...
This looks great! I am relatively new to knits myself and have just recently figured out the combination of techniques that works for me. I am so in love with sewing with knits now, though, so stick with it and soon you will be churning out much-loved polos. :)
5/21/07 8:53 AM
Mary Stiefer said...
The contrasting fabric really makes this shirt. Good Job. Oh - as far as sewing sleeves - many of us "sew the sleeves in flat". It really is much easier that way. It can't be done with all patterns but it works for most. Glad you found that helpful.
5/21/07 8:47 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Register

Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Register

Past Patterns 002

photo
by: KiwiWendy

Review
Marfy 2276

photo
by: devviePuu

Review
Favorite Things A Billfold Pattern

Favorite Things A Billfold Pattern

Buy Now
J Stern Designs Khaki Pants Pattern

J Stern Designs Khaki Pants Pattern

Buy Now