SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Mrs. Stylebook Magazine> #144 pg. 92 (Halter/Sleeved Tee)

Viewed 896 times 
Reviewed by:Kay Y
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Kay Ystarstarstarstar
ON CANADA
Member since: 11/21/04
Reviews written: 186
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 272 people
patterns reviewed: 175
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/25/07 9:36 PM
Last Updated:5/21/07 5:36 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 12 people   
NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
20 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
breathless said...
WOW! You did a wonderful job! I give you a lot of credit for making up this pattern. I am hooked on Japanese craft books and I know how frustrating it is to be making something and not be able to understand the language. I would love to try something from Mrs. Stylebook!
5/21/07 6:40 PM
CarolynGM said...
What a fun adventure to make up something like this. All of your drafting and fixing worked well -- it looks really nice on you and refreshingly different.
5/21/07 6:54 PM
EastwoodFan said...
This is a similar design to an Armani Exchange shirt I bought. Love the style. You did a great job!
5/21/07 8:00 PM
Jan B. said...
Kay, you always accept a challenge and you always deliver fantastically. Great job!
5/21/07 8:20 PM
Vivienne said...
Holy moly, that is one cute top. Mrs. Stylebook is extreme sewing - definitely an adventure.
5/21/07 8:40 PM
Sew4Fun said...
What a challenge! Well done and great top.
5/21/07 9:48 PM
Liana said...
I love this top! So trendy, and yet so wearable. I think you can consider the wings a "design detail" but I can see why you might want them gone. It looks like the model has a bit of this too, on the left back. Great job with this, and isn't it fun to really start from scratch once in a while?
5/21/07 11:14 PM
Levone said...
What a great top....it looks good on you. I don't think I could attempt something like this, but I love reading the reviews of these patterns.
5/22/07 2:00 AM
kiddo said...
Awesome, beautiful top! The "wings" are a natural feature of kimono sleeves. You might try to take the sleeve up a little higher. The fit might be better as far as looks go but the underarm will probably get tight. At that point a gusset will be needed. Your finished garment looks fantastic!
5/22/07 12:23 PM
Annette1 said...
My gosh, I admire you tackling this one, considering the directions (or lack thereof). :o) You got great results to show for it, too. It really looks nice on you, and I love that fabric. Once again, I see a fabric that I would probably not have picked off the bolt, and yet I love it!
5/22/07 8:10 PM
MelissaB in WA said...
I admire you for tackling a project like this one. Your top turned out well - very up and coming in style.
5/22/07 11:32 PM
sewinfiend said...
Great top! Also -- explaining the mechanics of using Mrs. Stylebook with your sloper is very helpful. I'm eagerly awaiting for my first issue to come in the mail. I'm ready for the challenge!
5/31/07 1:36 PM
AnneM said...
Great top; very fun in that fabric. You are very brave. I think this magazine would work well for my figure, but I don't know if I have the patience to work through it. Thank you very much for the review.
6/3/07 8:17 PM
CarolynGM said...
What a fun and interesting project. Clever idea to use PMB for the drafting part. The top looks very stylish.
11/26/07 5:18 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Great job! Really like this top. You truly love an adventure.
11/26/07 5:25 AM
ChristineBR said...
Kay, interesting to see you used PatternEditor to do this; I just copied a Simplicity twist top from drawings in order to use my PMB block. So much freedom to create extra work we have!
11/26/07 8:39 AM
sewsally said...
Very cute. Did you draft from your pattern Master sloper?
11/26/07 12:40 PM
DorothyK said...
I think this is amazing. You did a fantastic job and it looks like a great fit. I would love to see this in a solid color, to bring out all the unusual design features.
11/26/07 1:06 PM
MelissaB in WA said...
What a neat top - you are a brave lady making a Mrs. Stylebook garment. Your work paid off!
12/2/07 0:25 AM
Roxxygrl said...
What a fun and lovely looking top.
5/4/08 7:31 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Register

10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Register

Self Drafted Pattern 234865-1003

photo
by: pegsewer

Review
Sew Chic Contance Dress Pattern (ln8404)

Sew Chic Contance Dress Pattern (ln8404)

Buy Now
Sew Chic Clara Bow Apron Pattern (ln102)

Sew Chic Clara Bow Apron Pattern (ln102)

Buy Now