SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Mrs. Stylebook Magazine> #144 pg. 92 (Halter/Sleeved Tee)

Viewed 896 times 
Reviewed by:Kay Y
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Kay Ystarstarstarstar
ON CANADA
Member since: 11/21/04
Reviews written: 186
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 273 people
patterns reviewed: 175
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/25/07 9:36 PM
Last Updated:5/21/07 5:36 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 12 people   
See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
20 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Roxxygrl said...
What a fun and lovely looking top.
5/4/08 7:31 PM
MelissaB in WA said...
What a neat top - you are a brave lady making a Mrs. Stylebook garment. Your work paid off!
12/2/07 0:25 AM
DorothyK said...
I think this is amazing. You did a fantastic job and it looks like a great fit. I would love to see this in a solid color, to bring out all the unusual design features.
11/26/07 1:06 PM
sewsally said...
Very cute. Did you draft from your pattern Master sloper?
11/26/07 12:40 PM
ChristineBR said...
Kay, interesting to see you used PatternEditor to do this; I just copied a Simplicity twist top from drawings in order to use my PMB block. So much freedom to create extra work we have!
11/26/07 8:39 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Great job! Really like this top. You truly love an adventure.
11/26/07 5:25 AM
CarolynGM said...
What a fun and interesting project. Clever idea to use PMB for the drafting part. The top looks very stylish.
11/26/07 5:18 AM
AnneM said...
Great top; very fun in that fabric. You are very brave. I think this magazine would work well for my figure, but I don't know if I have the patience to work through it. Thank you very much for the review.
6/3/07 8:17 PM
sewinfiend said...
Great top! Also -- explaining the mechanics of using Mrs. Stylebook with your sloper is very helpful. I'm eagerly awaiting for my first issue to come in the mail. I'm ready for the challenge!
5/31/07 1:36 PM
MelissaB in WA said...
I admire you for tackling a project like this one. Your top turned out well - very up and coming in style.
5/22/07 11:32 PM
Annette1 said...
My gosh, I admire you tackling this one, considering the directions (or lack thereof). :o) You got great results to show for it, too. It really looks nice on you, and I love that fabric. Once again, I see a fabric that I would probably not have picked off the bolt, and yet I love it!
5/22/07 8:10 PM
kiddo said...
Awesome, beautiful top! The "wings" are a natural feature of kimono sleeves. You might try to take the sleeve up a little higher. The fit might be better as far as looks go but the underarm will probably get tight. At that point a gusset will be needed. Your finished garment looks fantastic!
5/22/07 12:23 PM
Levone said...
What a great top....it looks good on you. I don't think I could attempt something like this, but I love reading the reviews of these patterns.
5/22/07 2:00 AM
Liana said...
I love this top! So trendy, and yet so wearable. I think you can consider the wings a "design detail" but I can see why you might want them gone. It looks like the model has a bit of this too, on the left back. Great job with this, and isn't it fun to really start from scratch once in a while?
5/21/07 11:14 PM
Sew4Fun said...
What a challenge! Well done and great top.
5/21/07 9:48 PM
Vivienne said...
Holy moly, that is one cute top. Mrs. Stylebook is extreme sewing - definitely an adventure.
5/21/07 8:40 PM
Jan B. said...
Kay, you always accept a challenge and you always deliver fantastically. Great job!
5/21/07 8:20 PM
EastwoodFan said...
This is a similar design to an Armani Exchange shirt I bought. Love the style. You did a great job!
5/21/07 8:00 PM
CarolynGM said...
What a fun adventure to make up something like this. All of your drafting and fixing worked well -- it looks really nice on you and refreshingly different.
5/21/07 6:54 PM
breathless said...
WOW! You did a wonderful job! I give you a lot of credit for making up this pattern. I am hooked on Japanese craft books and I know how frustrating it is to be making something and not be able to understand the language. I would love to try something from Mrs. Stylebook!
5/21/07 6:40 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Altering Pants
Altering Pants

Class Details

Online Class
Fit the Tee to a T
Fit the Tee to a T

Class Details

Other N/A

photo
by: Sew Nanny

Review
Simplicity 1825

photo
by: MayenDesig...

Review
Petite Plus 151 Pattern

Petite Plus 151 Pattern

More Info
Christine Jonson Easy Coat

Christine Jonson Easy Coat

More Info