Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Mrs. Stylebook Magazine: #144 pg. 92 (Halter/Sleeved Tee) - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 896 times
Review rated Very Helpful by 12 people   
Reviewed by:Kay Y
photo
Friend of PR
About Kay Ystarstarstarstar
ON CANADA
Member since: 11/21/04
Reviews written: 183
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 263 people
patterns reviewed: 172
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/25/07 9:36 PM
Last Updated:5/21/07 5:36 PM


NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
20 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
breathless said...
WOW! You did a wonderful job! I give you a lot of credit for making up this pattern. I am hooked on Japanese craft books and I know how frustrating it is to be making something and not be able to understand the language. I would love to try something from Mrs. Stylebook!
5/21/07 6:40 PM
CarolynGM said...
What a fun adventure to make up something like this. All of your drafting and fixing worked well -- it looks really nice on you and refreshingly different.
5/21/07 6:54 PM
EastwoodFan said...
This is a similar design to an Armani Exchange shirt I bought. Love the style. You did a great job!
5/21/07 8:00 PM
Jan B. said...
Kay, you always accept a challenge and you always deliver fantastically. Great job!
5/21/07 8:20 PM
Vivienne said...
Holy moly, that is one cute top. Mrs. Stylebook is extreme sewing - definitely an adventure.
5/21/07 8:40 PM
Sew4Fun said...
What a challenge! Well done and great top.
5/21/07 9:48 PM
Liana said...
I love this top! So trendy, and yet so wearable. I think you can consider the wings a "design detail" but I can see why you might want them gone. It looks like the model has a bit of this too, on the left back. Great job with this, and isn't it fun to really start from scratch once in a while?
5/21/07 11:14 PM
Levone said...
What a great top....it looks good on you. I don't think I could attempt something like this, but I love reading the reviews of these patterns.
5/22/07 2:00 AM
kiddo said...
Awesome, beautiful top! The "wings" are a natural feature of kimono sleeves. You might try to take the sleeve up a little higher. The fit might be better as far as looks go but the underarm will probably get tight. At that point a gusset will be needed. Your finished garment looks fantastic!
5/22/07 12:23 PM
Annette1 said...
My gosh, I admire you tackling this one, considering the directions (or lack thereof). :o) You got great results to show for it, too. It really looks nice on you, and I love that fabric. Once again, I see a fabric that I would probably not have picked off the bolt, and yet I love it!
5/22/07 8:10 PM
MelissaB in WA said...
I admire you for tackling a project like this one. Your top turned out well - very up and coming in style.
5/22/07 11:32 PM
sewinfiend said...
Great top! Also -- explaining the mechanics of using Mrs. Stylebook with your sloper is very helpful. I'm eagerly awaiting for my first issue to come in the mail. I'm ready for the challenge!
5/31/07 1:36 PM
AnneM said...
Great top; very fun in that fabric. You are very brave. I think this magazine would work well for my figure, but I don't know if I have the patience to work through it. Thank you very much for the review.
6/3/07 8:17 PM
CarolynGM said...
What a fun and interesting project. Clever idea to use PMB for the drafting part. The top looks very stylish.
11/26/07 5:18 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Great job! Really like this top. You truly love an adventure.
11/26/07 5:25 AM
ChristineBR said...
Kay, interesting to see you used PatternEditor to do this; I just copied a Simplicity twist top from drawings in order to use my PMB block. So much freedom to create extra work we have!
11/26/07 8:39 AM
sewsally said...
Very cute. Did you draft from your pattern Master sloper?
11/26/07 12:40 PM
DorothyK said...
I think this is amazing. You did a fantastic job and it looks like a great fit. I would love to see this in a solid color, to bring out all the unusual design features.
11/26/07 1:06 PM
MelissaB in WA said...
What a neat top - you are a brave lady making a Mrs. Stylebook garment. Your work paid off!
12/2/07 0:25 AM
Roxxygrl said...
What a fun and lovely looking top.
5/4/08 7:31 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Altering Jackets
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Jackets

Online Sewing Classes
Create a Jacket Muslin
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Create a Jacket Muslin

Simplicity 4668 Bag
photo
Review by Allisonsew... on 5/15/05
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Oxford Cap Digital Pattern ( Size newborn - child )
Peek-A Boo Oxford Cap Digital Pattern ( Size newborn - child )

Details
Price: $4.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Lil-Adventurer Backpack Digital Pattern ( Size one size )
Peek-A Boo Lil-Adventurer Backpack Digital Pattern ( Size one size )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

New Look 6357
photo
Review by lovenicky on 8/21/10
Read Review

Petite Plus 504 Pattern
Petite Plus 504 Pattern

Details
Price: $21.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Jamie Christina Abbey Coat Pattern (JC314AC)
Jamie Christina Abbey Coat Pattern (JC314AC)

Details
Price: $14.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 3874 Pattern
Kwik Sew 3874 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 8993 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )
Vogue 8993 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )

Details
Price: $22.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us