Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 2858 (Retro 40s Dress) thumbsup - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 2397 times 9 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 19 people   
Reviewed by:nicegirl
photo
About nicegirlstarstarstarstar
DC USA
Member since: 5/10/06
Reviews written: 319
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 309 people
patterns reviewed: 319
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/24/07 10:07 AM
Last Updated:5/31/07 7:58 AM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
40 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Kelly D. said...
Thanks for the complete and helpful review. I picked up this pattern when Vogues were on sale recently and am considering it for a '40's themed costume event this fall. I will be sure to select appropriate fabric! Even with the mismatch between pattern and fabric type, the dress looks fabulous on you. Enjoy!
5/24/07 11:05 AM
moss said...
What an adorable dress! I have been coveting that fabric too. Good to know what it is suitable for and what it is not. But, it looks FABULOUS !!
5/24/07 11:06 AM
suzanrossi said...
"Boobular"?? Love it. Your dress looks fantastic on you
5/24/07 12:17 PM
MissCelie said...
"I'll wear anything" that's great.
5/24/07 12:49 PM
Christina Sonja said...
Love the print and the piped sleeves.
5/24/07 1:05 PM
didda said...
that is cute on you. i like this pattern, but like some other vintage vogue patterns, i only like the bodice. i used this one to make a top, just left off the skirt part and made a facing for the bottom. i did have to weight the point in front to make it lay down flat.
5/24/07 1:24 PM
bunz said...
"On you, it looks great! :-0
5/24/07 1:54 PM
EastwoodFan said...
Really cute! I love the style & the fabric. I have occasionally used the wrong fabric on a pattern. You sure made it work though. It's great you know how to make alterations. Design on!
5/24/07 8:53 PM
Karen6790 said...
Helpful as usual, Trena. I almost bought this one last time Vogue had a sale, I just wasn't sure the ruching wouldn't make me look waistless. Might have to risk it, though - this is a cute dress, and I'm think I have a good fabric stashed away somewhere.
5/24/07 9:56 PM
Annette1 said...
Ha! "Luckily, I'll wear anything ..." I love it! And also the "dropped crotch" comment. :o))) Well, I THINK it looks GREAT on you, and the print easily hides any mishaps. I've made LOTS of stuff with "unsuitable" fabric; sometimes it works out great (with enough tweaking), and sometimes not, but who cares? I've got enough fabric in the ol' stash to make a few mistakes. I can't wait to see the one you make out of your Fabric Mart fabric!
5/25/07 0:59 AM
Marji said...
Call it a learning experience...we all have to go through it at some point - trying to force a fabric into something that it just isn't meant to be. The print is cute - but... you know, I could also see this in a jersey. It's not on suggested fabrics because there weren't any available when this pattern was drafted, but can't you see it? Love the pin at CF. Still, your sense of style and your willingness to tackle anything is fabulous and results in some great garments. I think you have the most "fun" closet of anyone on PR.
5/25/07 9:02 AM
Heatherrique said...
Wow, what an electrifying dress, NiceGirl! Despite your choice of fabric, as somebody on American Idol would say, you made it your own and better than the original or cover version!
5/25/07 3:16 PM
nicegirl said...
Thanks so much for your encouragement, everyone! Marji, I'm working on the FM silk one right now. Just taking a break to check my email. Look for a picture coming to a review near you soon!
5/25/07 4:41 PM
Mary Stiefer said...
I always enjoy your reviews and your fun poses. I like this - of course, your slim body helps make it look great too. What great retro looking fabric. The shoes are cool too
5/26/07 10:36 AM
JuliaS said...
Here's to Greek shipping heirs! I LOVE this version; that fabric looks absolutely delicious and your dress is way cute.
5/31/07 8:05 AM
Sic said...
Great alterations - the dress looks gorgeous!
5/31/07 8:05 AM
Sew4Fun said...
Paris Hilton has nothing on you in that dress! I'm sure the Greek shipping heirs will be lining up. :)
5/31/07 8:42 AM
Bonnie O said...
I love both versions of this dress. It's too bad that orange print is a heavy twill because it is simply adorable for a dress. Kiss kiss kiss to the Greek heirs for me!
5/31/07 10:34 AM
Soliel said...
Always enjoy your reviews. Thanks for showing us what happens when one is a rebel!
5/31/07 10:48 AM
Sharon M said...
Both versions are great, but I especially like this one. They'll be falling over themselves to get close to you when you're wearing this in Greece.
5/31/07 10:49 AM
Tez said...
The silk print is such a great choice. So pretty!
5/31/07 11:20 AM
rosannec said...
Your going to Greece in Sept; I'm going to greece in sept. You love this fabric; I love this fabric. You love your dress; I love your dress. Too bad that's where the similarities end or else I'd be really freaked out, but that doesn't mean we can't be friends? Maybe friends enough that I can borrow it when you're not wearing it?? What? I'm too tall you say? Drat!
5/31/07 11:46 AM
moss said...
GORGEOUS! You look HAWWT.. Stavros and Paris (boy) better hold on to their hearts! I'm sure there is an Onassis somewhere waiting for you. :) When you land your heir you must invite all of us to the wedding. And send a jet.
5/31/07 11:59 AM
Erica B. said...
What a pretty dress! I love the vintage styling.
5/31/07 12:00 PM
HawkeMorningStar7 said...
Fabulous dress. Hae a great time in Greece and may your dreams come true !
5/31/07 12:10 PM
nicegirl said...
Thank you for the compliments, everyone! I wore the orange version yesterday and everyone at work liked it, even if the skirt did feel a little like pannieres. RosanneC--you're going to Greece too? I wonder if we'll be in the same place at the same time? We should try to meet up.
5/31/07 12:11 PM
snowflake girl said...
very nice, have a great timein greece, you should turn some heads
5/31/07 2:07 PM
twistedangel said...
Beautiful. I love the little "touches"... they make a world of difference.
5/31/07 2:38 PM
cindy-lou said...
What an *awesome* review. What an *AWESOME* dress!! These two dresses illustrate how 'very good' becomes 'perfect' with a lot of work, and are proof of what people with skill can do with practice and self-analysis. In English: You Rock! (oh-- and so does your fabric choice-- I've been eyeing it...) ;)
5/31/07 3:22 PM
rosannec said...
I'll be in Crete and Thessaloniki at the end of Sept to the beginning of Oct...You?
5/31/07 3:41 PM
nicegirl said...
Oh, we'll miss each other in Greece. I leave on my birthday (August 31) and am gone for two weeks. I can't wait! Cindy-Lou--I think this would look very cute on you.
5/31/07 4:08 PM
Heatherrique said...
NiceGirl....How about a new moniker....RAD GIRL! Stunning fabric, outstanding fit, and an attractive and trendsetting model! Your reviews are fun, informative, INSPIRING and ADDICTIVE! Back to American Idol. As Simon Cowell would say, now that he has an interest in what the contestants are wearing in addition to their vocals, "You are a fashion designer 'master class'! "
5/31/07 7:46 PM
Schnauzer said...
I'm with everyone else on this one!........beautiful dress,beautiful model!
5/31/07 7:56 PM
Marji said...
Awesome in this silk. Love the fabric, and the pattern just sings in it.
5/31/07 8:24 PM
CarolynGM said...
Your changes to the new dress make it spectacular.
5/31/07 8:32 PM
EveS said...
Spectacular dress in a spectacular fabric!!! I just love it! I aspire to be as imaginative (and quick!!) as you! Great review as always!
5/31/07 8:45 PM
Karen6790 said...
The Greek shipping heirs will be dropping like flies if you wear that dress. I liked the first one, but this is fabulous.
5/31/07 10:30 PM
crisford said...
Fab, fab, fabulous and just gorgeous on you!
6/1/07 10:40 AM
Dr. Alice said...
Spectacular fabric for a great dress! You look awesome!
6/2/07 8:02 PM
Squeeful said...
The skirt center front is probably cut as two rather than on the fold for three possible and not dissimilar reasons. Reason one is that fabric widths were narrower, often 36-39 inches. Reason two is that by 1944 fabric rationing had hit the US and women were making new dresses out of scavenged fabric when and where they could. A common source of unrationed fabric was flour sacks. As flour had to be shipped and sold in cloth sacks, flour companies quickly caught on that women would reuse the sacks for clothes so they competed by printing their sacks with pretty, fashionable prints. Reason three is economy and war-era law. Clothes that could be cut from a minimum of yardage with little waste was required. A skirt cut from three smaller pieces wastes less than one cut from two large ones.
3/18/13 8:23 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Online Sewing Classes
Altering Pants
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Pants

Kwik Sew 2849
photo
Review by JKimes on 12/14/10
Read Review

Simplicity 3878 Pattern ( Size 4-6-8-10-12 )
Simplicity 3878 Pattern ( Size 4-6-8-10-12 )

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

New Look 6296 Pattern ( Size 3-4-5-6-7-8-10-12-14 )
New Look 6296 Pattern ( Size 3-4-5-6-7-8-10-12-14 )

Details
Price: $3.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCall's 6668
photo
Review by beanchor on 5/19/13
Read Review

Oliver + S Art Museum Vest + Trousers Digital Pattern (5-12)
Oliver + S Art Museum Vest + Trousers Digital Pattern (5-12)

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Flip Flops Digital Pattern ( Size 0 mo -18 mo )
Peek-A Boo Flip Flops Digital Pattern ( Size 0 mo -18 mo )

Details
Price: $3.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Favorite Things Ballet Slippers Pattern
Favorite Things Ballet Slippers Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Islander Sewing Systems Men's Classic Dress Shirt Pattern
Islander Sewing Systems Men's Classic Dress Shirt Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us