SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> No Pattern Used> Martha Stewart (Elegant & Easy Dress)

Viewed 858 times 
Reviewed by:narcissaqtpie
photo

 
 
About narcissaqtpiestarstarstarstar
MD USA
Member since: 1/15/05
Reviews written: 151
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 39 people
patterns reviewed: 137
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/24/07 8:44 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 4 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
14 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
MissCelie said...
It just can't be that easy!
5/24/07 9:38 PM
Leora said...
Clever! I'm off to visit your blog to see more.
5/25/07 0:56 AM
moss said...
That's cool.. how do you add the ties? I think Martha's instructions are a little incomplete. Anyway, your dress is hot. :)
5/25/07 7:26 AM
narcissaqtpie said...
Hey thanks! For the ties String the cording through the "rod pocket" (think curtains) at the top of the front and back pieces.... come to think of it you could make this dress from a pair of curtains in less than 30 minutes! cool
5/25/07 7:56 AM
pt6356 said...
too cute! I think this could be an easy swimsuit cover-up.
5/25/07 8:00 AM
mochalover said...
Your dress is perfect. I am off work today I may have to copy!!!
5/25/07 9:49 AM
Re Becca said...
That is way too cute. and how easy is that, especially for Martha. You don't even hve to spend the money on a pattern. I love this.
5/25/07 11:33 AM
giblet said...
it looks great! thanks for sharing, I'll be making one for my daughter today...the rain will keep us inside wishing we were out..this will be fun for her to wear when we get out there!
5/25/07 1:46 PM
Patzee said...
Huh. So why is that I've been collecting all these sewing books and learning all these fitting techniques! Thanks for a reminder to KISS.
5/25/07 1:51 PM
hongkongshopper said...
This looks lovely on you!
5/25/07 6:04 PM
Leslie in NZ said...
Very cute!! When I was little, my mom used to make my beach cover ups with towels using this technique. She would match the bottom end of 2 towels, sew side seams starting a few inches from bottom. Sew up to bottom of arm hole. Sew casing to inside of each towel at neck or top of shoulder height, flip excess to outside or cut and use for casing. Thread casing with heavy twine or whatever, Voila!! beach cover up. Thanks for the memories.
5/26/07 2:27 AM
sarahb said...
so cute, I'd like to try it--how many inches from the top did you leave for your arm holes when you sewed your two rectangles together?
5/28/07 6:18 PM
sarahb said...
so cute, I'd like to try it--how many inches from the top did you leave for your arm holes when you sewed your two rectangles together?
5/28/07 10:15 PM
narcissaqtpie said...
sarahbI followed the instructions and left 8 or 9 inches open on the sides. I think if you have a large bust you might need more.
5/30/07 11:41 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Altering Pants
Altering Pants

Register

Fit the Tee to a T
Fit the Tee to a T

Register

Kwik Sew 3752

photo
by: twotoast

Review
Advance Pattern Company 8436

photo
by: Graca

Review
You Sew Girl Laptop Bag Pattern

You Sew Girl Laptop Bag Pattern

Buy Now
Paradiso Designs Be Green Market Bag Pattern

Paradiso Designs Be Green Market Bag Pattern

Buy Now